Customer Reviews


285 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boston Greatest Hits 2.0
Before my review I want to answer a question that comes up a lot about greatest hits albums:

In the days of Digital Downloads why do people buy greatest hits?

Here are some of the reasons why I still like Greatest Hits packages: 1) The best songs remastered; 2) A great way to thin out my collection by replacing albums I may have liked just one or two...
Published on January 27, 2009 by Joshua Banker

versus
28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Higher Power, Lower Expectations.
I've been a Boston fan for 23 years. It's too bad that it took them so long to come out with a Greatest Hits album. The album is fine, but I personally think they missed quite a few classic cuts such as "Hitch A Ride", "Let Me Take You Home Tonight", "Can'tcha Say/Still In Love" and "We're Ready". Their fourth effort,"Walk...
Published on April 30, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boston Greatest Hits 2.0, January 27, 2009
This review is from: Boston Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Before my review I want to answer a question that comes up a lot about greatest hits albums:

In the days of Digital Downloads why do people buy greatest hits?

Here are some of the reasons why I still like Greatest Hits packages: 1) The best songs remastered; 2) A great way to thin out my collection by replacing albums I may have liked just one or two songs from anyway; 3) The liner notes; 4) In the days of shuffling music on iTunes it is nice to have the volume at the level of most modern CDs; 5) The compulsion to buy something "new" from a favorite band.

I think Boston's Greatest Hits fits all of those reasons I listed above. For those of you who may not know, the leader of this band Tom Scholz recently remastered his first two albums and now he went back and remastered this Greatest HIts that was originally released in 1997. Also included are great liner notes and it's fun to read his commentary of the tracks he selected. The remastering does sound pretty good but it is just a subtle difference considering these tracks were already remastered in 1997.

The track list from this set is a little different from the original list. Some of the tracks were dropped and replaced by other tracks that more accurately represent Boston's history. The tracks added to this set are "I Had A Good Time" form Boston's last album "Corporate America" and this song is by far the only real classic Boston track from that album and is a very welcome addition. The other added track is from the "Walk On" album, "I Need Your Love". Though it doesn't feature Boston's long time lead vocalist, Brad Delp, it has a classic Boston sound and really keeps this set rockin'. Another change is none of the songs bleed into each other. On the original version "Don't Look Back" faded into "Cool The Engines". Now both of these tracks stand on their own.

With any greatest hits album there will always be a fan favorite or two missing. For me there are two that I really wish were included, "Livin' For You" and "We're Ready". "We're Ready" was a top 10 billboard hit so it would have been great to see it remastered and on this set. "Livin' For You" was on the original greatest hits and to me I think it is a great power ballad that if it was recorded in the 80s would have been a pretty big hit. I can understand why it was removed since it is a slow song. Replacing it with the upbeat "I Need Your Love" was a good move. With that said, what is included are some truly classic songs and it is easy to forget what is missing and enjoy what's there.

Though I am more likely to play their original debut album, when I am interested in listening to Boston's 30 plus year history this is a great enjoyable sampler. With only one slow song it is a perfect road trip album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven, Yet Still Rocks, February 8, 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Boston (Audio CD)
A compilation of greatest hits should be just that: greatest hits. Having stated that, now I'll contradict myself by thanking Boston for including "Higher Power" (both tracks)and an energized, well vibed "Star Spangled Banner/4th of July Reprise" on this CD. Both cuts are soothing nirvana for those of us who appreciate clean, powerful guitar rifts.
BOSTON - GREATEST HITS contains several of the band's most memorable hits, including "More Than A Feeling," "Don't Look Back," "Amanda," and several others. I'll respectfully disagree with another reviewer who lamented the inclusion of "Rock & Roll Band" on this album; to the contrary, this is one of the band's signature songs in terms of style, instrumentation, and energy. What I don't get is the inclusion of tracks that fall remarkably short when compared to the rest of the music on the CD--singles like "A Man I'll Never Be" and "Tell Me," the very first song.
Overall, BOSTON - GREATEST HITS will placate and please the band's legions of fans, but this must be said: if you really want to listen to Boston's "greatest hits," look no farther than the group's debut album, aptly titled "Boston."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Higher Power, Lower Expectations., April 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Boston (Audio CD)
I've been a Boston fan for 23 years. It's too bad that it took them so long to come out with a Greatest Hits album. The album is fine, but I personally think they missed quite a few classic cuts such as "Hitch A Ride", "Let Me Take You Home Tonight", "Can'tcha Say/Still In Love" and "We're Ready". Their fourth effort,"Walk On" didn't impress me much, which explains why G.H. contains only one song from that album "Livin' Without You". It's great to here Brad Delp's harmonious voice on "Higher Power".Fran Cosmo and David Sikes have good voices, but could never compare to Brad's. Tom Scholz has a creative twist on "The Star Spangled Banner/4th Of July Reprise". Little disappointed,but long live Boston!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Greats, April 23, 2001
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Boston (Audio CD)
Boston's Greatest Hits collects all the band's best and it is a tremendous group of songs. "More Than A Feeling", "Don't Look Back", "Long Time", "Cool The Engines", "Amanda" and the rest are FM rock radio staples and classic all. The new songs don't add anything to the mix (although the "Star Spangled Banner" is interesting), but the rest is pure cream. since the band only has four studio albums, I would suggest for a few extra bucks you buy their first three, Boston, Don't Look Back & Third stage (Their fourth, Walk On is not needed) and you will get the full scope of their guitar pyrotechnics and vocal histrionics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better, March 26, 2009
This review is from: Boston Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A good compilation, with all the Boston songs that most people would know. But as a major fan, it would have been nice to fill the extra 10+ minutes of the CD with another song or two. I'm still not sure why the #9 hit "We're Ready" from the Third Stage album was left off, unless Sony didn't want to pay MCA the rights to use it. It would have been nice to include "Hitch A Ride" from the debut, too, but I guess they couldn't have TOO many songs from the debut, else there'd be no reason for people to buy it! I also would have hoped that the re-release would have had a new cover, as I don't care much for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the Boston most will need... with a flaw or two., June 25, 2000
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Boston (Audio CD)
Being a Boston fan from day one must have been very tough on the devoted. Tom Sholtz, guitarst, keyboardist, and a meticulous studio wizard that makes Mutt Lange recordings sound like Nirvana, worked at a snail's pace, taking almost 3 years to record their follow-up to their mega-hit debut, and calling that 'rushed'. It took 6 years each for the next two albums to be recorded and released, and by that time, Boston was basically Sholtz's solo project.
Through it all, as this cohesive collection shows, the sound remains the same, layered, harmonized, smooth, crisp. Best of Boston collects 5 songs from their debut, a few more each from Don't look Back and Third Stage, and one from the underrated '94 release, Walk On. It flows like a good album should, with some songs going right into the next just as they did on the original albums. Very few things are missing except notably, Hitch a Ride, but that would have placed too much reliance on their debut. Another song from Third Stage and Walk On would've also been nice, they're underrepresented here.
The new songs are considerably more problematic. Higher Power is a great song, bringing back original vocalist Brad Delp back into the mix, but two versions of it are unneccesary. The Sholtz-sung Tell Me is very weak, meandering, and uninteresting, and The Star Spangled Banner? What? Didn't Hendrix already do this? It should've been left in the history books. Removing the SSB and the second Higher Power would've cleared way for a couple more late-period songs that deserved it.
This collection serves as a fine introduction to Boston. None of the songs are edited as they sometimes are for radio play (especially Long Time, which is one of their best songs), and it chronicles the studio wizardry of Sholtz and the soaring vocals of Brad Delp (and the others) flawlessley. For the man who has to have everything, the new tracks are little enticement, except Higher Power. Buy this, then move on to buying Third Stage and Walk on if you're a completist, because there's more than enough of the first two albums already here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hard Rock Band Ever !!!, December 24, 2006
By 
navyflydoc (Corpus Christi, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Boston (Audio CD)
Boston in my opinion is the greatest hard rock band ever. Boston's creator Tom Scholz is a modern day Shakespeare of Rock. The lyrics are beautiful poetry. Each song has its unique melody and composition providing an incredible emotional experience. I have listened to all four albums. The best and my favorite is Walk On. If you love hard rock mixed in with a few beautiful ballads, you have to listen to Boston. Highly recommend Greatest Hits for starter. But you will miss out so many great songs if you do not also obtain Boston's fourth album Walk ON (very underated and underappreciated by so many.) BTW, Tom Scholz has a master degree in engineering at MIT, that's why the man is a perfectionist and it shows through in the quality of Boston's music. Long live Boston !!!
Addendum: 3/28/07
Very sad to learn that Boston's Original Lead Vocalist Brad Delp who on March 9th, 2007 commited suicide. It's a huge loss for Boston fans. Brad Delp will forever be the greatest vocalist I have ever listened to. Rest in peace Bradley Delp. Your spirit lives on forever. You and Tom Scholz are my heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not good enough !, February 8, 2006
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Boston (Audio CD)
don't get me wrong this is a great album but i'm only giving it 3 stars cause it could have been better. i think the tracks "tell me", "a man i'll never be", and "livin' for you" should have been replaced by "it's easy", "hitch a ride", and "something about you". the album should have been tracked as following (to me anyways):

1.) more than a feeling

2.) higher power

3.) peace of mind

4.) don't look back

5.) cool the engines

6.) amanda

7.) feelin' satisfied

8.) party

9.) foreplay / long time

10.) rock and roll band

11.) smokin'

12.) hitch a ride

13.) something about you

14.) it's easy

15.) the star spangled banner

16.) higher power (kalodner edit)

now that's a boston greatest hits album. how could they possibly forget "something about you". that's one of their greatest songs ever. if you liked or want this list of tracks i suggest buying the album "rock and roll band" and the "greatest hits album". then you can burn your own rendition of a greatest hits album. "rock and roll band" is a pretty cheap album also, so your not going to kill your wallet buying them both. i think i picked that album up at best buy for about $6.00.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars With all due respect,this 'Boston Greatest Hits' should've only had the songs sung with Brad Delp., August 1, 2006
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Boston (Audio CD)
Regardless of whatever reasons and why they wound up with a different singer on occasion,Boston will Always be Brad Delp on vocals (to me). The man is inimitable and "More Than A Feeling","Don't Look Back","Foreplay/Long Time" and "Amanda" (among others) just wouldn't have worked had anyone else so masterfully sung these songs with Tom Scholz's genius backing them. But that's subjective to some and a truth for others..

For the casual listener,this 'Greatest Hits' will do the trick (although it's not mastered well soundwise; audio drops between tracks... Could've been mastered better).

The new tracks aren't all that happening... Plus,it's odd to open up 'Greatest Hits' with David Sykes singing "Tell Me" (a bland song ever by Boston's standards). "Higher Power" is a tad better,but not by much. Actually,I have a list of songs that would work if you burned a Boston best-of on your own; providing you cull the songs from Boston's first three albums: 'Boston'(1976),'Don't Look Back' (1978) and 'Third Stage' (1986):

1.)More Than A Feeling

2.)Peace Of Mind

3.)Foreplay/Long Time

4.)Rock And Roll Band

5.)Smokin'

6.)Something About You

7.)Hitch A Ride

8.)Let Me Take You Home Tonight

(basically,all of the first album 'Boston'; 1976)

9.)Don't Look Back

10.)A Man I'll Never Be

11.)Feelin' Satisfied

(from 'Don't Look Back'; 1978)

12.)Amanda

13.)We're Ready

14.)Cool The Engines

15.)Cant'cha Say (You Believe In Me)/Still In Love

16.)Hollyann

(all from 1986's 'Third Stage')

Perhaps an extra 'Don't Look Back' song if room permits...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost a star because of music selection., May 22, 2001
By 
"valenhsu" (Seoul, GuroGu South Korea) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits: Boston (Audio CD)
You all probably know that this is missing can'tcha say. If you have no boston albums and you are thinking of getting 1 this would be it. Other than that song, the collection is very much complete. The new material on the otherhand is not so great. The star stangled banner is so unoriginal, the fireworks are just a filler and most of all the new songs are not so catchy like the rest of them. I must agree with most reviewers. Get this and third stage. My favorite songs on this album would have to be foreplay longtime and the obvious favorite More than a feeling. The biggest fault with this album would be me having to change CD's just to listen to can'tcha say! The good thing about this album is that it is almost totally filled to capacity with music unlike other Boston albums. Very much worth the money! If you already have boston's debut album and third stage that basically covers most of bostons great music! As for the walk on album some people hate it some love it but that's another review for me. Definetly not my favorite though. Anyway if you have no Boston albums this one will not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Boston Greatest Hits
Boston Greatest Hits by Boston (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.