Start reading Boundless (The Venture Books) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Boundless (The Venture Books) [Kindle Edition]

R.H. Russell
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: $3.10 What's this?
Kindle Price: $2.99
You Save: $0.11 (4%)

The Bone Clocks
David Mitchell's hypnotic new novel crackles with invention and sheer storytelling pleasure. Learn more

Book Description

Sixteen-year-old Venture Delving always believed he was meant to be a champion fighter, in spite of his status as a bondsman. But Venture’s confidence is shaken by an unexpected challenge from his old friend and rival, Lance. On the road with his trainer, Earnest Goodview, and the reigning Champion of All Richland, Dasher Starson, Venture has already been struggling to adjust to his double life—up-and-coming fighter, and bonded servant to wealthy entrepreneur Grant Fieldstone. Now, Spurned by Grant Fieldstone’s daughter Jade, and rattled by his failure on the mat, a deadly encounter has Venture questioning everything. Soon he’ll return to Twin Rivers, just in time for Jade’s sixteenth birthday—the day every eligible bachelor in Springriver County has been waiting for. Amidst the rumors that Jade’s been waiting for this day—and for another man to have his chance to court her—will Venture be able to serve Jade and her father? With his dream of marrying Jade coming undone, will his equally impossible dream of becoming Champion of All Richland survive?

Boundless is a novelette, and is part of the Venture series. It takes place during some of the time that lapses in the novel, Venture Unleashed. You might enjoy reading Venture Untamed, the first novel in the series, and then Venture Unleashed first.

About the Venture Books:
Venture Delving is a bonded servant, a member of the lowest class in the world. Already fatherless, when he loses his mother, he veers from energetic to out of control. But when Venture's rage saves the life of Jade, his best friend and his master's daughter, Venture finds himself in the last place he ever expected—a center renowned for training young boys to be professional fighters.
When Venture realizes he's fallen in love with Jade, he knows that the only way he'll ever have her, the only way he'll ever be free to live the life he's meant to live, is to defy convention, common sense, the trust of those he cares about most—and sometimes the law—and become the best fighter in the world, the Champion of All Richland. Venture must battle not only rival fighters, but the ghosts of his past and the members of a privileged warrior class who’d rather see him die than live his dream.
Age 13 and up.

Product Details

  • File Size: 212 KB
  • Print Length: 54 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Morning Gate Press (March 20, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #331,335 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Read first book in series first April 8, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
While I gave this short story 4 stars because the writing is good and the story entertaining, showing a little of Venture's ( a bound servant) training and his feelings about and interaction with Jade, the daughter of his master. There is a word of warning. If the reader hasn't read Venture: Untamed and found out more about the characters , the reader will be left with the feeling of What the heck have I just read and why did I read it? If the reader has read the first book then this is a good, quick read filling in a bit of the missing time between Venture: Untamed and Venture: Unleashed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More from "The Ventrue Books" series September 4, 2012
By Natalie
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Boundless is by RH Russell a novelette in The Venture Books series. It is about 16 year old Venture Delving a bondsman who wants to be a champion fighter. Venture is having problems dealing with his double life as an up and coming fighter and a bondsman to Grant Fieldstone. To complicate matters, Venture is in love with his masters daughter, Jade. Jade is now at the courting age and Venture fears he will lose her forever!
Adding these problems Venture has an unexpected challenge from his friend and rival Lance. Venture also has a deadly encounter that makes him question his whole life.

Boundless has excellent action packed fighting scenes. Just like all the other books in the Venture Series. You feel like you are on the mat with the fighters and you feel every punch and take down. This book makes you think about the class system and makes you question it. The characters are realistic and the situations they are in are realistic. You really want to route for Venture and hope he gets what he wants in life.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

R.H. Russell has been on the mat with talented young fighters since 1993. Their ambitions, struggles, and triumphs inspired her to write the Venture books. She hopes to share the fascinating world of fighters with readers in a unique way--a way anyone can identify with, because she truly believes there's a fighter in all of us.

She's having a great time letting Venture and his friends loose to play on the page, writing about brawls and big dreams, betrayal and camaraderie, and of course, Venture and Jade's forbidden love.

The author also writes the Unicorns of the Mist series as R.R. Russell. Wonder Light (Sourcebooks 2013), the first of these novels for young readers, is out now. Look for The Unicorn Thief in 2014!

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category