Customer Reviews


2,580 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,034)
4 star:
 (694)
3 star:
 (476)
2 star:
 (256)
1 star:
 (120)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legacy continues!
I confess I am addicted to this series of movies, but this one is quite different as it delves into the science behind the agents in the 'Program'. Don't expect Jeremy Renner to replace Matt Damon, as this is not the intent. Renner is quite a good actor in his own right, and has risen in the ranks of action stars recently, most notably as 'Hawkeye' in the Avengers. The...
Published on December 15, 2012 by redwings90

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Travesty
This film is a travesty to the trilogy created before it and especially to the books written by Ludlum and Lustbader. If you are attracted to this title because it says Bourne, don't bother watching. On the other hand, if you like movies with one really long, pointless chase scene, this movie is definitely for you.
Published 20 months ago by jeffjeff51


‹ Previous | 1 2258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

101 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legacy continues!, December 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
I confess I am addicted to this series of movies, but this one is quite different as it delves into the science behind the agents in the 'Program'. Don't expect Jeremy Renner to replace Matt Damon, as this is not the intent. Renner is quite a good actor in his own right, and has risen in the ranks of action stars recently, most notably as 'Hawkeye' in the Avengers. The Bourne Legacy starts slow, but picks up tempo quite quickly as it intertwines with the plot of the Bourne Ultimatum. There is a great supporting cast including Edward Norton and Rachel Weisz. The car chase is replaced by motorcycles, but in all a great follow up to the previous three movies. If you liked them, this will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


166 of 189 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie in search of a director, August 11, 2012
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
Other reviewers have already recounted much of the plot. So, I'll skip that and go to a critique of the production itself.

I gave this an overall rating of four stars because I found the movie to be interesting, engaging, with a good story and some really good action scenes. I found that I cared about the primary characters - Renner and Weisz. This tells me that the characters were fairly well developed and interesting

Renner's character, Aaron Cross, would have been more compelling if more of his backstory came out sooner, and if his pathetic origin were presented differently. I think Weisz' character could have used more backstory too - all I know about her is that she's an attractive scientist with a top secret clearance.

The story is really good. But this movie could have been a classic if the plot were tightened up and presented differently - too much dialogue where 'showing' instead of 'talking' would have got it across to the viewer better - this is especially true during the first part of the film.

The camera work was excellent. With more experience, I think Gilroy's skills in this area will improve to a level near Greengrass' excellent abilities. Also, there's lots of good acting in this movie.

On Rotten Tomatoes, the critics are currently tabulating at 51% positive, while the audience is at 70%. I think the critics (overall) are getting it wrong - primarily, I think, because they're comparing it to the high standards set by the previous Bourne movies.

This is a high-quality production that tells a good story. In addition, I felt an emotional connection with the main characrters - I cared about them. For these reasons, I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clue for the 5th Bourne movie?, September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (DVD)
When the doctor (talented Academy Award winner Rachel Weisz) puts Aaron Cross (equally-excellent 2-time Academy Award nominee Jeremy Renner) "under" in order to perform medical tests on him, she asks him to count backwards from 100. Probably very few people realized that he said, "You are beautiful...ninety-nine...ninety-eight...ninety-seven...." IN RUSSIAN. When non-native speakers of a language have to "think arithmetic," they almost always revert to their native language. Hmm... Perhaps there is more to Aaron Cross than meets the eye???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the Bourne franchise, July 17, 2012
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
The Bourne Legacy does not feature Matt Damon's character, Jason Bourne. Instead a new agent, Aaron Cross played by Jeremy Renner, is introduced. Aaron Cross is similar to Jason Bourne in many ways and there are hints that he is a genetically improved version of the agents that Treadstone created. Rachel Weisz plays Cross' romantic interest, Edward Norton plays the main antagonist, and Joan Allen, David Strathairn, Albert Finney, and Scott Glenn return as Landy, Vosen, Hirsch and Kramer, respectively, all from previous Bourne installments.

The movie also attempts to tie in the previous Bourne movies and their plots into this installment. Most interesting about this movie is that it builds on what we have learned in the last three movies, but promises that Jason Bourne was just the beginning and that the conspiracy is much larger than just the Treadstone project.

After Treadstone was revealed by Bourne and Landy at the end of the third movie the CIA and top government officials attempt to erase all traces of Operation Outcome which includes disposing of Aaron Cross. Operation Outcome is similar to Treadstone in that it creates assassins but the main difference is that the Outcome agents are 'created' with the use of genetic modification. The central plot of the movie revolves around Renner's character, Aaron Cross, as he attempts to find more pills to sustain his super strength, intellect and ability, while dodging men sent to eliminate him and other Outcome agents.

The movie itself started very slowly while they attempted to tie in everything from the last Bourne movie into this. New scenes were inserted into Bourne film #3 to explain why the CIA was attempting to eliminate Project Outcome and then moves towards silencing Landy. While it is much slower paced than the last Bourne film, the action scenes that were shown were amazing! The rooftop chase was my favorite, and the ending seems much more carefree than the last three Bourne movies. They also introduce LARX, another program where agents were genetically improved, and one of their agents goes after Cross. Without any ties to Treadstone or Outcome, LARX seems to be given a free pass. I wish more of that was explored or that the antagonist was harder to eliminate. Hopefully there will be more to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Movie, December 25, 2012
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
This movie was surprisingly good after it got some pretty bad reviews. With a 51% rating on Rotten Tomatoes, I expected it to be a disappointment but this movie was engaging, action-packed, and very similar to the other Bourne movies. Its not a carbon copy of the 3 previous Bourne movies, but it still has incorporated the aspects of them and had it's own little twists. Great movie. I definatly recommend it. I'm a Bourne movie fan myself and this movie is another great installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Travesty, July 7, 2013
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (DVD)
This film is a travesty to the trilogy created before it and especially to the books written by Ludlum and Lustbader. If you are attracted to this title because it says Bourne, don't bother watching. On the other hand, if you like movies with one really long, pointless chase scene, this movie is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Breed of Bourne, August 10, 2012
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
The Bourne Legacy explodes with all the typical screen-writing panache, exotic locations, explosive action sequences, hand-to-hand combat, and car chases that we've lovingly come to expect from any movie in the Bourne franchise, and it was so awesome to finally get to experience one of these movies again after Gilroy's 5-year hiatus from writing the Bourne movies. This film fleshes out the Treadstone/Blackbriar/Outcome programs universe, but also offers so much that is completely new to the franchise and doesn't feel in ANY way to be a repeat or rehash of the previous movies. I continuously marveled at everything from the shooting locations (the Canadian Rockies to the tropics of the Philippines), the stunning acting talent, (Weisz and Renner never disappoint!), and a new story that instilled far more empathy for the characters than the other Bourne movies. This is a must see! Strong argumentation could be made to reinforce this film as the best in the franchise. One of four films I've seen this year that was actually worth the cash paid out. Will I pay to see it again? Absolutely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big surprise!!, April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (DVD)
I, as I'm sure a lot of people were, was skeptical about this movie living up to the previous Bourne series. I was so happily wrong!!! Just watched it for the second time and enjoyed it as much as the first time. I loved Jeremy Renner's performance in "The Hurt Locker", but he out did himself in "The Bourne Legacy" as the very human Aaron Cross. Renner made the character totally believable and empathetic. His physical performance was great and his emotional performance convinces us of his good heart and character. Rachel Weiz gives a great performance, as well, as an in-the-dark doctor who works in the lab that monitors and tests the effects of physical and cognitive enhancement chemicals on agents. The story is interesting and the action is thrilling. I was engaged from beginning to end. I highly recommend this really great sequel to the popular Bourne movies. Just read that it has been announced that "The Bourne Betrayal" will be coming out in 2015!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Operation Gall Stone, January 2, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Bourne Legacy (DVD)
Sequels always invite comparisons especially when they change main characters. Also the only thing "Bourne" about this film is the legacy part. Bourne's out of the picture (sorry), and is replaced by his legacy, Aaron Cross (played by Jeremy Renner). Actors from past Bourne movies include Joan Allen, David Strathairn, and Albert Finney. Ed Norton, Stacy Keach and Rachel Weisz are added to the credits.

This is a movie you have to watch very closely. One bathroom break or trip to the refrigerator and you're done. You will not figure this out if you fast for a month and seek the answer in a vision. I finally pick up an idea of what the movie is about with Ed Norton's character who is trying to contain a Tread stone-like descendant operation, Operation Outcome that he is afraid will get out of control with scandalous outcomes. (Sorry again). The only way to do that is to kill the next generation of agents who are chemically engineered to perform significant feats of prowess and bravery. Rachel Weisz, stunning as ever, is Doctor Marta Shearing, or Doctor Death, as I like to call her. She administers dose and drug to the agents, and almost becomes a victim of the program when one scientist targets other scientists, killing everyone but her. The CIA sends another team pretending to be concerned caregivers to help her kill herself.

Enter Aaron Cross who comes out of nowhere and we see the first real hand-to-hand combat action that is even more awesome as they increase camera speed until you can't even follow the blows and blocks anymore. Cross and Shearing join forces to discover why they have been targeted for elimination. The trail takes them to Manila with the Police and an assassin rounding out a great chase scene that begins on foot and ends up in motorcycles.

The beginning of the movie is slow before going bipolar with a pace and script that is hard to follow. Flashbacks to previous Bourne movies and characters try to tie in the past (Bourne) to what's going on today (his legacy). If you haven't seen previous Bourne adventures, it can obfuscate as easily as clarify. The best part for me was the mortal combat, the wolves, the sound during chases, and the part in Alaska. The worse part for was the plot, the story, the script, the pace, and the part in Alaska.

You may have to watch this twice before you understand it, and three times before you like it.

For me, this was Operation Gall Stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars er... run that by me again..., January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well, it's just not really about anything is it. Most of the movie is taken up with Ed Norton trying to explain to everyone they could persuade to come back from the original movies, why they had to kill the operatives. They all looked bemused, as they might, I certainly was. So, its better to wreak havoc and carnage with news crews and emergency services everywhere than allow people to - this is where I got really confused - see a video clip on YouTube of two old men drinking wine (which, even more bewilderingly, they already would have as its... duh! ...on YouTube)? If you "did" recognized these guys and joined the dots then you would already be in the know right? Who knows? Who cares? Anyway, Jeremy Renner runs away, and that pretty much sums it up. Was it just me or did anyone else think it turned into Terminator II at one (brief) point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Bourne Legacy (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet)
$19.98 $10.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.