Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


263 of 266 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video Review
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:07 Mins
Love this product!! I just wish I had known about it earlier :)

1. Easy to apply
2. East to use
3. Gives you much needed wide angle shots
4. Magnetic strips work well
5. Even comes with lens covers and a small bag

XOXO
Published on March 18, 2011 by BeachBrights

versus
127 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bower VLMWF Wide angle lens for Flip Ultra
Purchased this add-on wide angle lens to use in filming interior of real estate properties. The lens attachment, a steel ring that adheres to the front of the Flip Ultra lens area with self-stick adhesive, does not detract from the appearance of the camera. The lens appears to stay on well, though I haven't tried to jar the camera with the wide angle lens held on...
Published on December 20, 2010 by Tandemguy


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

263 of 266 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video Review, March 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
Length:: 1:07 Mins

Love this product!! I just wish I had known about it earlier :)

1. Easy to apply
2. East to use
3. Gives you much needed wide angle shots
4. Magnetic strips work well
5. Even comes with lens covers and a small bag

XOXO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bower VLMWF Wide angle lens for Flip Ultra, December 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
Purchased this add-on wide angle lens to use in filming interior of real estate properties. The lens attachment, a steel ring that adheres to the front of the Flip Ultra lens area with self-stick adhesive, does not detract from the appearance of the camera. The lens appears to stay on well, though I haven't tried to jar the camera with the wide angle lens held on magnetically. In "normal" use, I don't think there would be any problem with it coming off.

My greatest disappointment was with the quality of the picture when using the lens. Without the lens, the Flip Ultra (3rd generation)Flip UltraHD Video Camera - Black, 8 GB, 2 Hours (3rd Generation) NEWEST MODEL takes wonderfully sharp HD video. With the wide-angle lens, the picture seems a bit blurred, a bit like filming through a bit of haze. The picture, though encompassing a wider view, is just a bit fuzzier, not as sharp. Though for my purposes the image is not unusable, it is still disappointing to have an HD picture that isn't sharp.

If you need a wider field of view, and if a loss of sharpness isn't a huge concern, this lens will do the job. But if you are only satisfied with perfectly sharp video, you may be a little disappointed with the results using this lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


208 of 218 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improves Composition of Close and Distant Shots, February 16, 2011
By 
M. G. DuPont (Providence RI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
Length:: 4:27 Mins

Video review by [...]

The Flip camera delivers HD video at a consumer-level price, but up till now, there have been no lenses available for the Flip. Enter the Bower 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras. It attaches magnetically to the Flip, and as you'll see in this video, it really improves the composition of shots, both at close range (2 to 3 feet from your subject), and at a distance.

We're your Production Guides, and we want to teach you all you need to know to make your own videos. Please come check us out online at [...] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Necessary! A Must-Buy!, October 26, 2011
By 
L. Young "lisafx" (Clearwater, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
Length:: 1:47 Mins

If you are even thinking about getting this lens, I tell you now that it is worth every penny.

To my estimation, this is a quality lens built with the customer's needs in mind. This item comes with the .45x wide angle magnetic lens, which is crystal clear and greatly improves the amount of information the camera is able to capture. It also comes with two lens covers--one for the front of the lens and one for the back of it when not in use,--a leash which can be used to keep the lens attached to the flip camera even when not in use, a carrying pouch, and 3 adhesive rings (meaning you could share the lens between 3 cameras if you wanted to). However, the most unexpected addition to this fantastic little bundle is that the lens, which is actually composed of two lenses working together, can be unscrewed so that just the smaller of the two lenses is in use. The best part about this is that the smaller lens is itself a macro lens, which enables you to shoot objects very close to the lens in very high detail. It's absolutely amazing! So with just this lens, you can shoot even more of the objects which are far away, and you can shoot objects much closer than otherwise possible and in great detail. Really, what more could you want?

This is really such a fantastic product. The application was very easy (I used tweezers to delicately place, and then nudge, the magnetic metal ring to the perfect placement, since my fingers were too big and clumsy). I can't recommend this product enough. This one lens has turned a good video camera into the perfect video camera. According to the packaging, this fits the Ultra, Ultra HD, Mino, Mino HD, and Slide HD video cameras. I have the Mino HD and it fits perfectly.

I know that other people have mentioned that it's not the most secure setup, having the lens attach magnetically. Sure, if you jerked the camera forcefully it would fall off, but I think that the lens would be perfectly secure as long as you didn't, say, strap the camera to your helmet and film yourself skiing down a mountain or off-road dirt biking. For those extreme situations, I'd recommend taking the lens off, or at the very least making sure that the leash is attached so that, if it does fall off, it won't be lost to nature.

The video was recorded by me, and it shows all the components included and the difference between the .45x lens, the macro lens, and no lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything it claims to be, October 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
This lens is everything advertised. It just "looks" bigger in the picture. It is a wide angle, so gives you a larger scope. I would like another lens that improves the macro. I LOVE the Flip. I carry it with me all the time. This item improves an already great item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loss of picture quality, January 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
The lens is well made and attaches to the camera easily. But I was dissapointed with the picture quality. It really deteriorated when the lens was attached. It does give you a wider field of view - but in the end I decided to return the item. I bought my Flip for the HD picture and agree with another reviewer that the picture seems a bit hazy with this lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazzzzinnnggg!!!, October 31, 2010
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
The lens is absolutely amazing! Its gives you the ability to shoot a much wider shot which helps you have those images and angles you weren't able to have before. Great quality product at a great price. Nice job Bower!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised..., November 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
This lens is great and makes the Flip more useful. It is easy to install and comes with lens covers, which are nice to have. It doesn't stay on as tightly as I imagined it would (it will not stay on in a bag), but that isn't an issue. It comes with magnets for up to three cameras, so it is not an item you can purchase and use on an army of Flips (say at a school or business where you may have an army).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Lens, December 11, 2010
By 
Angel L. Ayala "Angel" (SANTA RITA, GUAM, GU, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
Lens completes the Flip UltraHD. Should have come as an accessory. Only downside is it's only held on by a small magnetic strip. Shifts around a little and can fall off, depending what you are using the Camera for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good but wish it stayed on better, December 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bower VLMWF 0.45x Wide Angle Magnetic Lens for Flip Cameras -Black (Electronics)
I really like it only problem I have is the magnet to keep it on the flip can be a little stronger!! Happy with it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.