Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her  Fine Art Deals Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Shop Now BGG

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars94
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$10.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2012
I bought this book for my son's second birthday. We read it several times a day, every day for over a month. The pictures are engaging. The story is simple, yet very endearing. It is a great book to read to young children for 2 very important reasons. First, there is ample opportunity to use fun voices: robot voice, little boy voice and crazy inventor voice. Second, the book is just the right length. None of the pages have too many words on them and the whole thing is over in around five minutes. This means it's okay to read it again (and again) without bedtime or naptime taking too long. I would recommend this book to any family with young children.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on April 12, 2012
Please look inside this book on Amazon and you too will fall in love with this book. It is great for young children age 2 to 8. Not a busy read and pictures are great too. Original story in my opinion. It is a story about a boy who meet bot. They become friends and take care of each other. Boy help Bot when he is turn off, and Bot helps boy when he is sleeping in a process they learn how they are little different. With great story and illusration and awesome color combination any kid would love to read this over and over again. My six and four years old (a boy and a girl) love to read this book. They can't seem to put this book down since I bought it. Ame Dyckman did a wonderful job with original story line and Dan Yaccarino did a awesome job with illustration. Put them together and you get a BOY + BOT! We can't wait to see more stories about BOY AND BOT from Ame and Dan. It soon will become classic!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 16, 2012
Boy + Bot is wonderful!
Take a boy and a robot, construct a friendship, add a little misunderstanding, tighten up with the help of the inventor, and voila - Ame Dyckman has built the perfect picture book.
Funny and sweet, you'll want to read this book again and again.
Every child will wish for a friend like Bot!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 5, 2012
This story is short. It's not really a good value for reading by parents of children older than 3. That said... my son (age 4.25) is starting to sound out words, and this book has an excellent length and complexity level for HIM to read. Robots have been a constant favorite since he was tiny - of course this is a big hit!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 4, 2012
This is a funny little story about the innate differences between people and robots. I think robots are just something little boys are naturally drawn to, like trucks and dirt. It's hard wired into their brains to like metal and electronics, so the idea of a robot best friend is most definitely appealing.

A boy was busy gathering pinecones when a robot casually approaches him with a pinecone for his collection. Boy meet Bot. They play together for the rest of the day. In the midst of a roll down a hill, a rock bumps the off switch on Bot, and he is immobilized. The boy is confused and concerned; why is his friend suddenly not moving or talking? He wrangles his new friend into the wagon and takes him home. He does all the things his mom does when he is sick: feeds him applesauce, reads him a story, and tucks him in.

When the boy's parents check in on him, the door bumps Bot's power switch. He whirrs to life, but finds the boy completely immobile. Now Bot is confused and concerned. He takes the boy home, gives him oil and thumbs through an instruction manual. Bot is just preparing to install a new battery when the Inventor walks in. The Inventor explains the differences between boys and robot, then drives the little boy home. From then on, they remained fast friends.

Obviously, this is a cute little fantasy book. If the interactive robot didn't clue you in, the Inventor's sidekick is a gigantic lightbulb with one eye and four legs. It's cute how the boy and the bot are from such different worlds, but instinctively know to be concerned about the other.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 11, 2012
In Boy + Bot, two new and very different friends don't understand at first how they need different things. Bot needs oil while Boy does not; Boy needs to sleep while Bot does not. The illustrations in this book are simple and clean. Perhaps they are slightly too simple for older children who have grown to appreciate details and looking for little special things in pictures. However, preschooler and babies will like the big, colorful artwork.

As a story time book, this picture book works well when reading to a group of preschoolers. It's a good size book, which makes it way more interesting for kids, since they can see the pictures easily. Also, the simple illustrations are really good if you're reading to a very young crowd; they're not interested in the details, they're just interested in the funny pictures and bright colors. I found that it was a lot of fun to give Bot a robotic voice and give the scientist a funny accent, too. The kids at the story time I was reading at thought that was hilarious, and they liked trying to talk like Bot.

Both boys and girls will probably like this book, but boys might be more interested in it because a little boy is the main character. However, any young kid with a love for robots will probably think this book is nifty. It's not a must-have for a pre-school collection, but it is a nice addition if you need or would like something about robots.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 15, 2013
Dyckman, A. (2012). Boy and bot. Yaccarino, D. New York, NY: Random House Children's Books.

Genre: Children's Picture Storybook

Dyckman shares a story of two unlikely friends: a young boy and a bot. Their friendship begins when boy finds bot out in the woods and brings him home. They have all kinds of fun--until bot stops working. Boy takes on the role of "mother hen" and tries to cure his sick (reading stories, applesauce) bot but nothing works. A disappointed boy falls asleep. When bot regains power and wakes to a seemingly broken boy, he performs his bot version of home remedies (reading instructions, oil) but nothing works. So, bot decides to take boy to his home. What will bot's inventor do? Read to find out!

My wild thing's review: "Funny. I liked it when the bot put oil in his ear. (Laughs). I also liked the applesauce on bot's face. It has good details and organization. And it has a funny voice. And I liked it when the boy tucked the bot into bed. I liked the good coloring that goes with the words. And the author has good writing. The pictures were written good too."

My response: I concur with my son but would also point out the significant role of the inventor. Parents will appreciate his contribution to the story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 14, 2012
I purchased this for a co-worker's little boy and he loved it! Of course he had to hear it again and again, so if he's delighted then I am too. Nice book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 10, 2013
Ok, so his first word was "o-bot" but man does he love this book. Bright illustrations and a nice story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 23, 2013
Like another reviewer, I felt compelled to leave a review after reading the one 3-star review for this book. It really is a superbly constructed story, the message is positive, and the illustrations are a perfect match to the story. My daughter is 3 and has enjoyed this book since last year when she was 2, and I can tell it will be long-lasting. I am very choosy with her books, and try to find strong female characters, but the fact that the character is a boy does not in my opinion detract from the story and its message at all. Yes, I would love if the character were a girl or genderless, but in my opinion that's not a reason to criticize this otherwise wonderful book! Very highly recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Robots, Robots Everywhere! (Little Golden Book)
Robots, Robots Everywhere! (Little Golden Book) by Sue Fliess (Hardcover - August 6, 2013)

Carson Dellosa Robots Prize Pack Stickers (168063)
Carson Dellosa Robots Prize Pack Stickers (168063) by Carson-Dellosa Publishing (Misc. Supplies - June 3, 2013)

Clink by Kelly DiPucchio (Hardcover - April 5, 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.