Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Biblical wisdom coupled with practical advice -- valuable resource for fathers
Similar to the classic Raising a Modern-Day Knight, Molitor explores the importance of the rite of passage for boys to be transformed into men. Molitor begins the book with an historical and cross-cultural examination of how other times and places move boys into manhood which is in stark contrast to the lack of ceremony present today. The best part of the book is...
Published on June 26, 2008 by Dan Panetti

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Morally Right!
I really got this book because I saw it advertised on Kirk Cameron's website. As a Christian mom, I am always looking for biblical ways to help my son become the young man that God wants him to be. While I don't find anything wrong with what the author is trying to do, I think that his book seriously lacks the Gospel Message. There are many flaws in his interpretation of...
Published 11 months ago by T.Alvarez


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Biblical wisdom coupled with practical advice -- valuable resource for fathers, June 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Similar to the classic Raising a Modern-Day Knight, Molitor explores the importance of the rite of passage for boys to be transformed into men. Molitor begins the book with an historical and cross-cultural examination of how other times and places move boys into manhood which is in stark contrast to the lack of ceremony present today. The best part of the book is Molitor's recollection of his own son's celebration - great ideas, wonderful letters, everything you need to carry on this tradition in your own home. That was the area really lacking in Raising a Modern-Day Knight - the practical know-how, the nitty-gritty of what to do...the why is easy, the what is much more difficult - Molitor fills in that missing information with this book.

Molitor also addresses some of the more difficult situations - what about the prodigal son, how can single moms do this for their boys, can grandparents do this if their own children are unwilling, etc. The book is filled with valuable examples, biblical wisdom and practical advice from a father who is passing on his faith and legacy to the next generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destination: Manhood, February 17, 2013
This review is from: Boy's Passage Man's Journey Dvd Study (DVD)
Few things in life work out the way we want without planning. In its most basic form, a plan is straightforward: Set a goal, then determine what steps are needed to achieve that goal. Why, then, do so many families neglect to plan when it comes to raising their children?

For fathers and sons, strategic planning is especially necessary. Fathers must begin by thinking about the qualities they want to develop in their sons as they grow. Once these have been identified, a plan of action must be created for imparting these qualities. This strategy will include mentoring, intentional blessing, and a rite of passage.

Embracing the concepts learned in this set will help to advance and encourage maturity and masculinity within the next generation of males. Manhood is not simply achieved by reaching a certain age; it is planned, earned, and above all affirmed by the older males in every boy's life. Becoming a man does not just happen; it is a process a boy's passage to a man's journey.

Set includes:
5 DVD conversations with Kirk Cameron and Brian Molitor
64 page ompanion study guide by Kir and Brian
240 page comprehensive book by Brian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dad/Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, September 20, 2012
Boy's Passage, Man's Journey is a book I recommend to parents on a regular basis. There are a lot of resources for parents looking to help their boys transition to manhood, however this book rises to the top. Not only do I recommend this resource in my professional practice, I have used it with my own sons. As was stated in a previous review the book has numerous specific guides for parents to use such as a letter for a guide, how to involve other men, etc. I could share at length regarding my own experience in the value of implementing parts of this book for my boys, however that would bore you. Get the book! and make your own story with your son, grandson or young man you are mentoring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Our Society Needs More Of, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boy's Passage Man's Journey Dvd Study (DVD)
This is a mentoring tool that prepares our young boys to become solid men. This is a must have for a father with sons. I have watched all the videos and can't wait to read the book and start the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity for raising boys, June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boy's Passage Man's Journey Dvd Study (DVD)
A good step to help families develop properly. A necessity for those that are raising boys. Essential to proper development God bless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Inspirational, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son is turning 13 this year and I have purchased a few books to prepare a ceremony for him. This is a great resource and I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mold the men of tomorrow, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Boys see more of the back of their dads heads as they go out the door each day than they see of them face-to-face learning what will teach them to be confident and capable men. This author helps busy dads and their sons to make the most of their time and resources to build into boys the personal resources they will need as men, men that stand shoulder to shoulder with the real men of their generation. Why an organization that builds its program on teaching these core skills hasn't manifested itself for the boys of this nation is a question that needs addressed, especially for the boys who have no one to teach them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for all PARENTS! New Spiritual Perspective for you and your children!, August 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Help teens know when they become a man, and stop looking to the World to find out when that happens...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boy's Passage Man's Journey, August 8, 2013
This review is from: Boy's Passage Man's Journey Dvd Study (DVD)
In five engaging video conversations with a father, Brian Molitor, and actor Kirk Cameron, Brian and Kirk discuss how to create and implement a family plan, how to live it, and maintain it.
 Conversation One: The Power of a Plan
 Conversation Two: Lifelong Mentoring
 Conversation Three: Intentional Blessing
 Conversation Four: Rites of Passage
 Conversation Five: Brand New Man
Designed for fathers and sons, Boy's Passage, Man's Journey is an eye-opening message of how to deliberately and strategically transform boys into productive and godly men.
Ideal for men's small groups, men's Sunday school classes, pastors, youth pastors, grandfathers, and fathers, this is an invaluable tool. Not just for men, but also for their sons. I watched the DVDs with my two college-aged sons, and they were impressed with the friendly, easy-to-understand approach, and it has a lot of good tips for fathers and future fathers.
The study guide has a lot of biblically based questions, but not a lot of room to answer them. I'd recommend using it with a notebook.
The book that also accompanies the set includes information and invaluable help for helping boys avoid the pitfalls that come with adolescence, hope and plan for parents of rebellious sons, how to counteract hurts and disappointments, mentoring,, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Morally Right!, July 31, 2013
I really got this book because I saw it advertised on Kirk Cameron's website. As a Christian mom, I am always looking for biblical ways to help my son become the young man that God wants him to be. While I don't find anything wrong with what the author is trying to do, I think that his book seriously lacks the Gospel Message. There are many flaws in his interpretation of the Bible like calling the brother of the prodigal son "a real gem" or not asking for forgiveness for anger in our lives, but only forgiveness for those who have hurt us.
Like I said before, the message is good, we should love and invest time in our kids and also in other kids where the dads are not involved, but not to include the true biblical gospel of repentance for salvation in the formula is atrocious. What good does it do to have kids that are morally right and on their way to hell as clearly described in the authors alternate story of the prodigal son.
Overall, I don't see how anyone who truly follows the Bible' teachings isn't already raising kids who feel secure and loved by their parents and by God.
With all that said, I think that "Boy's Passage Man's Journey" has great intentions, it is morally right (but let's remember, to be morally right is does not mean to be biblically saved), but with a few alterations one can have a "boy's passage" celebration and keep doing it the way we find it in the Bible (Ephesians 6:4).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Boy's Passage Man's Journey Dvd Study
Boy's Passage Man's Journey Dvd Study by Boy's Passage Man's Journey (DVD - 2013)
$69.99 $62.99
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.