Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Dull Moment with Paisley at Christmas
Prime Cuts: Penguin, James Penguin, Santa Looked A lot Like Daddy, I'll Be Home for Christmas

Santa's secret spies, confronting Christmas addictive withdrawals, and daddy playing dress-ups: these are sacred totems associated with the yuletide for Brad Paisley. While many a Christmas CD offers punctilious readings of traditional carols stuck in a mire of...
Published on October 13, 2006 by Timothy Yap

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars brad paisley christmas
Nothing wrong with the product itself. I just didn't care for his music.
personal preference I guess. Thanks for asking.
Published 19 months ago by Lady L


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Dull Moment with Paisley at Christmas, October 13, 2006
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
Prime Cuts: Penguin, James Penguin, Santa Looked A lot Like Daddy, I'll Be Home for Christmas

Santa's secret spies, confronting Christmas addictive withdrawals, and daddy playing dress-ups: these are sacred totems associated with the yuletide for Brad Paisley. While many a Christmas CD offers punctilious readings of traditional carols stuck in a mire of saccharine sentimentality, Paisley's debut holiday effort shows personality. Ingenuity and his ingrained humor get the upper hand as this country superstar revels in the frolicsome candor of the festive season. However, not all is frivolous fun, on certain tracks Paisley does essay the lofty message of Christmas and its sentiments via some of most timely formidable carols of yore performed with a romantic valor and thoughtful impeccability. Though this is a seasonal detour, stylistically "A Brad Paisley Christmas" does not sidestep too far away from Paisley's typical country outings. Just as his albums has never been monolithic; a bit of everything represented on this CD: from romantic lush ballads, to spitfire honk tonk to revved up rock to an instrumental as well as a few nods to Paisley's comical side.

The more interesting tracks here are the originals, of which there are four. Paisley ups the ante on his narrative skills on the jovial narrative about Santa's secret spy that goes by the moniker "Penguin, James Penguin." Told with a tickle of cheekiness, "Penguin, James Penguin" ought to add Christmas cheer to kids as well as bring a seasonal smile to adults. Much less colorful is the laconic "364 Days to Go" a wry cynical bluesy-ballad about the obsessive entanglements of the holidays. Sharing the microphone again with the Paisley-created the Kung Pao Buckaroos -- otherwise known as Little Jimmy Dickens, George Jones, and Bill Anderson -"Kung Pao Holidays" is a satire of the notion of "political correctness" basked by a comedic sonic veneer. On a much sober and traditional tenor, "Born on Christmas Day" features Paisley when he was 13 years old trading verses with himself (towards the end) on a self-penned Southern-Gospel-like ballad detailing the story of Christ's birth.

Even when Paisley delves into the traditional canon of yuletide favorites, he is not content to offer a straight reading. Listen especially to the lyrical changes to "Santa Looked A Lot like Daddy" for his personal augmentation that brings out another humorous dimension. While on "I'll Be Home For Christmas," co-producer Frank Rogers and Paisley himself, went all the way to provide a dreamy string-laden backing, thus creating one of the most romantic renditions since Tony Bennett's rendition. On the other hand, the reverent singing of "Silent Night" is a tad on the dull side. This is only redeemed by "Away in a Manger" which receives a revved up honky tonk treatment. Though guitar accolades may find much to celebrate over the instrumental "Jingle Bells," it does nothing to the musically illiterate.

As far as Christmas CDs go, "Brad Paisley's Christmas" strikes a balance between the season's sacred as well as its more jovial side. Yet most winsome is that Paisley's at home in both turfs. Whether he delves into the spiritual message of the importance of Christ's birth or just cracking jokes with the Kung Pao Buckaroos over appropriate language in holiday tunes, Paisley sounds at ease. If there's a pickle to pick, it's that the album has too few tracks. Nevertheless, with Paisley displaying his colorful personality throughout the CD, there's not a dull moment during Brad Paisley's Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Paisley Christmas, October 11, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Brad since 2004 and I have eagerly awaited a Christmas album. Well after 7 years of being on the scene, here it is and I believe it was well worth the wait.

1. Winter Wonderland- 8/10 This is song is NOT my favorite Christmas song and that is the only reason I give it an 8. Brad's voice superb and any country music fan with information about the Opry members will love the Jim Ed Brown line that is thrown in there

2. Santa Looked a Lot Like Daddy- 10/10 In this Buck Owens' cover, Brad shines. I have only heard the original a few times, but this version makes me think of Buck and of Brad and Buck's relationship.

3. I'll Be Home for Christmas-10/10 Brad's voice gave me chills. His voice is definitely at its best here. It's an amazing version of the this song, and even if you hate this song, you'll be sure to enjoy Brad's version.

4. Away in a Manger-9/10 When I heard the electric guitar at the beginning, I thought "Oh no...please no..." because I've had this song ruined before by another country artist. Luckily, the electric guitar fades away by the time Brad starts singing. The electric guitar does persist throughout, but it is not overally powerful and complements Brad's singing rather than detracting from it.

5. Penguin, James Penguin- 10/10 Brad Paisley and Frank Rogers penned this instant child favorite. Any adult will enjoy as well. It tells of a secret agent bird. The story line is reminiscent of Rudolph, but not too much. It definitely has some great lines in it.

6. 364 Days to Go-8/10 I have this song on an exclusive Target cd released last year (and in 2001) as well as this cd. In the Target cd, the song seems different than this version. The beginning is different and the kid's voice at the end is also different. I prefer the Target version over this version. The song is still definitely worth a listen, and to those who don't have the Target cd, the differences won't bother you at all.

7. Jingle Bells [Instrumental]- 10/10 Brad has always included an instrumental on his albums and this album is no different. This instrumental reminds me of Nervous Breakdown off of "Who Needs Pictures". So if you're sick of normal Jingle Bells, give this one a listen. It even has the "Hey!"'s.

8. Silent Night-10/10 For this one, it is mainly Brad and the acoustic guitar. I was hoping for that and Brad didn't disappoint. The song is absolutely remarkable.

9. Born on Christmas Day-11/10. This is by far the best song on the album for any Brad fan. Born on Christmas Day was the first song Brad ever wrote. He penned it as a 12 year old. The song starts out with a recording from when he was 13 making is Jamboree debut. His voice as a 13 year old is amazing. After the first chorus, it goes to Brad today as a 33 year old. Towards the end, it goes to both the 13 year old version and the 33 year old version as a duet. The song is stunning and after wanting to hear this song for so long, I cried like a baby the first time I heard it. It is truely remarkable writing for anyone, especially a 12 year old boy!

10. Silver Bells- 7/10 I don't agree with the placement of this song. Brad's voice is great, but where the song is just makes me not really listen to it. So if you're listening to this cd, listen to this song BEFORE you listen to Born on Christmas Day; otherwise you too won't be too impressed by it.

11. Kung Pao Buckaroo Holiday- 10/10 For a third time, The Kung Pao's are getting together. This one is for a completely non-offensive polictically correct holiday. This is a funny track, but it made me sad because there is so much truth to it. So it was weird, laughing and feeling somewhat sad at the same time. But really, it is quite good.

Overall this album I say gets 9.8 stars out of 10. It was great and it made me wish that this cd was like Time Well Wasted track wise. I hope one day Brad will record another Christmas cd because this one was absolutely amazing! So definitely go pick up this album. The songs are superb and hey, I have fun listening to them even in October!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another awesome Brad Paisley CD, December 1, 2006
By 
Thomas Jefferson (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
I'll admit, I'm a big fan of Brad Paisley. But I'll try to keep my review unbiased...

Brad has done a fantastic job of blending country with Christmas music. All the tracks are pleasant to listen to. Brad's vocal and guitar skills are again proven unmatched by any other. As with other Brad Paisley CDs, you will also find a Kung Pao Buckaroo track, which is hilarious. Again, as always you will find an instrumental track, incidentally the Jingle Bell.

You will also find a track featuring a song from Brad's childhood, Born on Christmas Day. I disagree with the other reviewer, Mr. Branchini, who calls the inclusion of the track "self-indulgent." After all, this is a Christmas album, and this is a song young Brad Paisley himself wrote about Christmas. This is one of my favorite tracks. But then again, every track on this album is a favorite.

Great job, Brad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have for your Christmas music collection!, October 16, 2006
By 
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
My house rule of "No Christmas Music Will Be Played January Through November" has been broken - by me. In fact, since I bought this CD last week, the Rule has been broken over and over because I cant stop listening to it! This CD is a no-brainer for any BP fan, for "Born on Christmas Day" alone, but also listeners unfamiliar with Paisley's music will thoroughly enjoy it. "Kung Pau Buckaroo Holiday" will make even those most politically correct smile, and "Penguin, James Penguin" is an instant children's Christmas classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Christmas/Country Albums Ever!!, October 17, 2009
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
I absolutely love Brad Paisley and I love what he has done with these great xmas songs!!He's given these old favorites a country make over while still keeping the spirit of Christmas.
He includes an excellent version of Buck Owens classic Santa Looked A Lot Like Daddy-this will get your feet tapping!And the most amazing version of Away In A Manger I have ever heard-between Brads voice and electric guitar plus the fantastic fiddle arrangement you will just fall in love with this one.There's a great chilled out version of I'll Be Home For Christmas and Winter Wonderland.Brad also includes 3 new songs that he wrote for this cd,the standout one been Born On Christmas Day which he wrote at just 13.The song begins with Brad at 13 singing the song with just his acoustic guitar then transforms into the Brad of today,it really showcases just what an amazing voice he really has!!
He finishes up the album with the classic Silver Bells and the truly hilarious Kung Pao Buckaroo Holiday with the infamous Kung Pao Buckaroos(Bill Anderson,George Jones and Little Jimmy Dickens)The perfect way to end this brilliant festive album.
This will be a xmas album that you will enjoy for years to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brad Paisley makes me smile, February 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas and was so please that it arrived so quickly AND was just what she wanted. I have to admit, I love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Thought For Christmas, October 23, 2006
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
Finally Somebody Has The Balls To Say Merry Christmas, Thank You Brad Paisley. Kung Pao Holiday Is Great CHRISTMAS Song, Yes I Said CHRISTMAS.

When Everybody Else Is Worried About Being P.C.They Say Happy Holiday.

Brad Show Us How Stupid This Sounds. This Album Is Full Of Great Christmas Stuff That Will Be Heard Around My House This Year And Years To Come.

The Name Of The CD Is CHRISTMAS, So Don't Be Afraid Of Offending Anyone, JUST SAY MERRY CHRISTMAS. Because It Is Christmas Day Not Holiday Day.

Way To Go Brad - You Are The Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brad Paisley: A Brad Paisley Christmas, January 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
His Christmas CD is wonderful! Lots of great fun songs, some traditional, some not so traditional! It definitely has a country feel to it, even the traditional songs have a western feel to them. One particularly neat addition to the cd is a song called "Born on Christmas Day" which was written and performed by Brad when he was just 13 years old! You get to hear him sing parts of it when he is 13 just years old, parts when he is now an adult, and then sort of duet the song together as well towards the end! It's a very deep song as well for a child to have written. Something tells me Brad was what some people may have referred to as an "old soul." Overall its a wonderful CD, just like his others, and I would highly recommend adding it to your collection of Christmas and Brad Paisley CDS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COUNTRY CHRISTMAS, November 7, 2006
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed the quality and message of this Christmas music from Brad and plan to share this album as an early CHRISTmas present with my family with children. Best Christmas album i now have (about 100 Christmas CD's in my iTunes Library).

Best instrumental Jingle Bells ever!

Be ready to sing with the birds that is the NEW Christmas Penguin, James Penguin!

Last but not least is the heart of a young man expressed in his original Christmas song... Born On Christmas Day...hope your tears are those of joy as you reflect on the message.

Are you ready for Christmas???...treat yourself and those you love to this musical feast....if you're not ready, buy this album and get started....NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brad Paisley - wonderful, as always!, November 30, 2006
This review is from: Brad Paisley Christmas (Audio CD)
This is a great Christmas album by Brad Paisley. It is complete with traditional hymns and new songs written by Paisley. "Born on Christmas Day" is a song that Paisley wrote and performed when he was 13 years old, The song on the CD has the original recording (when he was 13) and a recording of Paisley singing it now. Very touching - it gave me goosebumps! There is also a silly song at the end of the record about being politically correct when talking about Christmas. It is meant to be over-the-top sarcastic, not to be taken literally. I found it very enjoyable! I HIGHLY recommend this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Brad Paisley Christmas
Brad Paisley Christmas by Brad Paisley (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.