Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Set of Hilarious Films
Okay, so right now, you're probably wondering what exactly is in this set. While Amazon might have listed it as a flashback to the 50's, this is not the TV movies of the 70's and 80's. What you get here is the films of the 90's that spoofed the series, as well as Growing Up Brady, the TV movie that showed the behind the scenes of the show everyone knows and loves from...
Published on April 2, 2011 by FrenchNewWave12

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars give me the original movies
Its a shame the real Brady Bunch movies like The Brady Girls Gets Married didn't come out like this instead of in the TV series complete box set. (even if Brady Girls not included in that set.) I'm sorry but they should call this a goofy films rather than a groovy films. While goofy worked for stuff like Get Smart it doesn't work with most of the 1960s and 1970s...
Published 7 months ago by Paul Jutras


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Set of Hilarious Films, April 2, 2011
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
Okay, so right now, you're probably wondering what exactly is in this set. While Amazon might have listed it as a flashback to the 50's, this is not the TV movies of the 70's and 80's. What you get here is the films of the 90's that spoofed the series, as well as Growing Up Brady, the TV movie that showed the behind the scenes of the show everyone knows and loves from Barry William's perspective. For those OC fans out there, the film features a young Adam Brody (pre-OC) in the role of Barry. While not the greatest movie, it's still an enjoyable view. I have been a huge fan of the first two Brady Bunch satire films, The Brady Bunch Movie and A Very Brady Sequel for a long time. True, they're kind of awful, but that's the point. They're hilarious, and they achieve all that they set out to do. The two theatrical movies are in widescreen, while The Brady Bunch in the White House and Growing Up Brady are both in fullscreen. I still haven't watched The Brady Bunch in the White House. But Gary Cole and Shelley Long reprise their roles of Mr. and Mrs. Brady, so I'm sure it's still a good time. For the price, this set is a great deal, and these films are a hoot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 are great, 1 is mediocre, the other is... not like the others., April 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
For the price, this is one amazing set. Even if the first two films were the only ones included, I would say it would definitely be worth getting. However, we get four films, which is great for fans of the original series, and the movie series spoofing it!

The first two films in the set, The Brady Bunch Movie and A Very Brady Sequel are astounding. They're truly the pinnacle of satire. Everything from direct references, to cameos, to racy innuendos are all here, and it's perfect for fans and non-fans alike. The humor is brilliant, and I can't tell you how many times I've watched these on VHS. I am happy to now own them on DVD.

The next film is a bit of a let down. It's a direct to TV sequel to the previous films, and while Shelley Long and Gary Cole return as the founding Bradys, the kids are recast. This is a huge let down for those who have seen the original two, specifically for the lack of Jennifer Elise Cox as Jan Brady, who was one of the biggest successes of the original theatricals. Overall, this one just isn't as clever or funny as the first two.

Why Growing Up Brady is in this set, I can't begin to tell you. It feels noticeably out of place amongst the satires in the set. The biopic itself is someone enjoyable, but nothing to get excited about.

All in all, other than a strange product description, this a great set to own, even just for 2 of the 4 films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't fight the tide, come along for the ride, July 25, 2011
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
This is a super cool 4-disc set of 4 of the grooviest movies ever made. Each disc includes a color silkscreen picture on it. No special features are included though and these are the exact same discs that come with the standalone releases. Discs are packaged in a lenticular slipcase (see pictures of everything I scanned, labled and posted).

Below are the 4 movies/4 discs included:

The Brady Bunch Movie (1995) feature film
rated: PG-13, 88 mins., widescreen format

A Very Brady Sequel (1996) feature film
rated: PG-13, 89 mins., widescreen format

The Brady Bunch in the White House (2002) TV movie
rated: PG-13, 88 mins., fullscreen format

Growing Up Brady (2000) TV movie
rated: PG-13, 88 mins., fullscreen format

My favorite movie from this set is "The Brady Bunch Movie" and coming in at a close second is "A Very Brady Sequel". These movies are very sharp and pure satire, no BB fan can watch them without laughing at the ludicrousness. The other 2 movies aren't as strong as the proceeding ones, but they're still excellent and at this price I can't really complain.

Like the BB Shag Carpet boxed set, this is also made in Mexico and distributed by Paramount. (Note to Paramount: please consider putting out the complete series of "The Brady Brides", as well as the 1990 "The Bradys" as I'm sure you know many fans would desperately like to watch these hilarious shows again.)

If you have any interest in "The Brady Bunch" I say get this set because chances are it will become a collector's item (not at all unlike the 1-disc "Brady Bunch Variety Hour" DVD). This is just so much fun to watch and something you can be proud to share with your friends because who doesn't love the Bradys.

Mr. Sherwood Schwartz (may he rest in peace) created "The Brady Bunch" more than 40 years ago. And since then an entire world inspired by this classic has been reinvented countless times over the decades. As a lifelong BB fan, to me, what makes "The Brady Bunch" so lasting is that it's more than just a sitcom; it's a family that transcends time and culture. We can relate to them because we grew up watching them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Brady, January 16, 2012
By 
keith (newark, OH, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
This 4 set of movies is a good value and a lot of fun to watch
I grew up watching the show so the way the movies make
light of the series is way cool
Barry Williams bio pic is a large charge for any Brady fan to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brady Bunch of Movies, January 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
Gave it for a Christmas gift and my daughter loves it. She did not know that there were so many Brady movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars give me the original movies, February 23, 2014
By 
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
Its a shame the real Brady Bunch movies like The Brady Girls Gets Married didn't come out like this instead of in the TV series complete box set. (even if Brady Girls not included in that set.) I'm sorry but they should call this a goofy films rather than a groovy films. While goofy worked for stuff like Get Smart it doesn't work with most of the 1960s and 1970s sitcoms that Hollywood been making in movies like these. I would much prefer it if the actors took their Brady character roles seriously rather than being made cheesy on purpose. The first one was bad enough but each of these movies like the Brady Sequel spoof on the show Hawaii trip just got worst with each one made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BRADY BUNCH, September 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
The Movies are entertaining and funny! They mach the 1970's sitcom for all it's worth.We had a good laugh,the extras are fine if your a hard core Brady fan.This is cheaper then buying just the two movies separate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bradys, Bradys, Bradys! Great Set of Brady Films In One Collection, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
This set originally sold for $14.95, which was so cheap! Unfortunately, it's out of print, so if you can snag a copy like I did on Amazon's Marketplace, you're in for a real treat. The first two Brady movies are wonderfully satirical and sharp. To me, they are the Brady Bunch for Adults, whereas the original TV series is great for kids. I also caught "Growing Up Brady" on TV, so I'm pleased to get this on DVD. It is a made-for-TV movie that is based on Barry Williams' book of the same name. You get to see the back story told from Barry's point of view, about the show and its cast members. I have to admit being disappointed that the original group of kids from the movies weren't used for "Brady Bunch In the White House"; even Alice was cast with a different actress. It's a cute movie, but I still prefer the first two Brady films. Overall, a nice set of Brady films that will keep you entertained for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Campy fun!, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
If you like silly, campy comedy - this is for you - especially if you grew up watching the original show. The actors picked for the movie and the sequel were outstanding. The 3rd movie (White House) not as great of a line up (kids different - Carol and Mike same) and not as good as the first 2. Still a great set of movies for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great "Bunch" Of Movies!!!, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brady Bunch of Movies (The Brady Bunch Movie / A Very Brady Sequel / Brady Bunch In The White House / Growing Up Brady) (DVD)
I grew up with Brady Family in the 70's. I thought the Brady Movie Series was a great tribute to the TV Series. I thought the whole movie cast did a great job with the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.