Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!
What a great book! I am making the meat dishes every weekend for the past month or so, and I haven't been disappointed yet. The "Pub Ribs" dish is simply great when paired with the Chedder Mash Potatoes dish, also found in the book. Just delicious so far! Unlike many cook books that seem to go out of their way to be overly complex, the ingredients and preparation...
Published on January 21, 2008 by David Sandoval

versus
48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Braising for Beginners
I am convinced that slow-cooked Braising methods are the best way to prepare meats that are rich and tender and layered with flavors. This book is an okay introduction to the topic if you have not worked with these kind of recipes before. But the recipes in this book are VERY BASIC. (Italian Slow and Savory by Joyce Goldstein is a far better introduction to the topic...
Published on September 4, 2007 by TomTommyC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, January 21, 2008
By 
David Sandoval (Whittier, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
What a great book! I am making the meat dishes every weekend for the past month or so, and I haven't been disappointed yet. The "Pub Ribs" dish is simply great when paired with the Chedder Mash Potatoes dish, also found in the book. Just delicious so far! Unlike many cook books that seem to go out of their way to be overly complex, the ingredients and preparation techniques are very straight-forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Braises and Stews for People Like Me, December 26, 2007
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
I have found Tori Ritchie's "Braises and Stews" to be just the book for me. I grew up in the midwest (Chicago) where braises and stews were the staple of winter cuisine.

My Irish heritage was certainly front and center in my grandmother's and mother's kitchen. And what else is easy to make for five boys (the famous Loarie Boys of the Northshore)...a slow cooked stew or braise!

Ritchie provides 74 recipes using beef, pork, fish, lamb, and poultry. She also covers the basic equipment needed, cuts of meat to buy, and the essential ingredients.

This book is really a hoot for those longing for a great stew or braise. I am now fully prepared for my brothers' next visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Braising for Beginners, September 4, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
I am convinced that slow-cooked Braising methods are the best way to prepare meats that are rich and tender and layered with flavors. This book is an okay introduction to the topic if you have not worked with these kind of recipes before. But the recipes in this book are VERY BASIC. (Italian Slow and Savory by Joyce Goldstein is a far better introduction to the topic with much more interesting recipes.) For instance, this book includes a recipe for Apricot Couscous. Boil the couscous and dried appricots, then serve it. For this I need to buy a cookbook??? Similar recipe for herbed, buttered noodles. Pretty much standard recipes for Pub Short Ribs, Chili, Osso Bucco, that sort of thing. Just okay overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook Your Way Through!, July 13, 2010
By 
R. Acampora (Franklin Square, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
This is a truly outstanding cookbook that you will enjoy "cooking your way through" rather than keeping it on the shelves for some future time that may never arrive. The recipes are easy to follow, yet they're not ordinary in any way. I have enjoyed trying one dish after another with consistently excellent results.

This book also serves as a good companion book to "All About Braising: The Art of Uncomplicated Cooking" by Molly Stevens, which is also an excellent cookbook for braising recipes and one that helps users to understand what braising is all about. I tend to use both books very often but in different circumstances. In general, I use the Molly Stevens book more for special occasions and this book more for everyday use (as the title implies), but there is considerable overlap. These recipes turn out so well that they could be prepared for the most discriminating of guests, and many of the recipes in the Molly Stevens book are fine for everyday use. Both books are excellent in showing you exactly what you need -- both in terms of equipment and cooking techniques -- to come up with amazing braised/stewed dishes that will delight your family and/or any guests who may be fortunate enough to be invited for dinner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Cookbook To Add To Your Collection, February 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
Along with the other recently purchased cookbooks (A Bird in The Oven, All About Braises, The Essentils of Roasting) this book is also explains in detail about brasing, roasting, and stewing. This book too also comes with mouth watering photos (which always helps me in making a decision on ordering a cookbook) but with a variety of recipes some more simple and basic than others. To me if you get one good recipe out of any cookbook they are always worth the money. The knowledge of knowing and understanding what you doing and why you are doing it, I really enjoy sitting down and reading and looking thru the book and can't wait to try some recipes. Its a nice addition to the cookbooks I just recently ordered!! Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking for two, November 8, 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
This is an excellent cook book if you are new to cooking with a Dutch/French oven. The recipes are mostly calculated two servings but with enough to have second helpings. That way you won't have to spend a lot on ingredients in order to try different recipes. It was a good way to get me started on using the oven, the meals are healthy and appetizing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and concise, June 29, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
For anyone interested in slow cooking using "dutch ovens" this cookbook presents easy, flavorful recipes. From the beginning chef to more advanced, all the recipes are straight-forward and easy to manage. The author's addition of how to make various side dishes and seasonings is especially useful and worth making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good cookbook, March 12, 2008
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
I've been making braises and stews for many years now and found this to be a rewarding book. While simple in approach and ingredients, the results from the recipes I've tried have all been good to very good. Under the vegetable section, the green beans with dill was especially good. Whether for the beginning, or advanced, cook I can recommend this book. For the beginner, it's a good place to start; and, for the advanced cook, these recipes can provide something to build on and "fine-tune".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, March 9, 2008
By 
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
This book is one of the few cook books that provides really practical and great receips. It covers the basic meat groups and provides good instructions and simple ingrediants. I particularly like the Lamb Shanks with white beans(WOW) and the Asian beef ribs. I bought one for our daughter and am now buying 2 for gifts for our friends.

I love my new Strub oval dutch oven pot and enjoy using this book. Buy the book and WOW your family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book!, November 22, 2008
This review is from: Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes (Hardcover)
we love this cookbook. the pictures are beautiful and the explanations are great. it gives a very good general knowledge of how to use a dutch oven to cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes
Braises and Stews: Everyday Slow-Cooked Recipes by Tori Ritchie (Hardcover - August 31, 2007)
Used & New from: $1.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.