The Lair Of The White Worm and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Bram Stoker's Lair of the... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by worldofbooksusa
Condition: :
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Bram Stoker's Lair of the White Worm Paperback – October 10, 2002

ISBN-13: 978-0646418421 ISBN-10: 0646418424

Buy New
Price: $9.95
22 New from $4.79 14 Used from $4.07
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$9.95
$4.79 $4.07
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Bosch, An Amazon Original Series
"Bosch": an Amazon Original Series
Harry Bosch is live on screen. Based on the best-selling novels by Michael Connelly. Watch it today
$9.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Man at the Helm" by Nina Stibbe
The first novel from a remarkably gifted writer with a voice all her own, "Man at the Helm" is a hilarious and occasionally heart-breaking portrait of childhood in an unconventional family. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 120 pages
  • Publisher: Deodand Publishing (October 10, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0646418424
  • ISBN-13: 978-0646418421
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.3 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,280,298 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

This story just does not come together, but rambles along to its uninspiring conclusion.
Kurt A. Johnson
I read "Lair of the White Worm" many many years ago and this Deodand version is not the original.
Dawn Gray
Loved it and would highly recommend it to anybody that is interested in Bram Stoker's mind.
James A. Stewart

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful By Dawn Gray on February 15, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I read "Lair of the White Worm" many many years ago and this Deodand version is not the original. It has been edited. One word has been changed throughout the book, but only in specific places: The 'good guys' do not say the "N" word, they say "native." The 'bad guys' use the "N" word.

I enjoy the story, mostly because I adore Victorian fiction. I do not, however, enjoy a book that has been edited a century after the author's death in order to save the reader from words that are not acceptable any more.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Kevin A. Foresman on April 29, 2011
Format: Paperback
This is considered minor Stoker. The characterization and pacing are uneven and consistently bonkers. The writing is often cringeworthy with the exception of some sublime passages in chapters 10 and 28. Some attribute the weirdness and mediocrity of this book to Stoker writing it late in life, his brain and ideas ripened by syphilitic fever, but there doesn't seem to be any proof of this fantastic scenario. Regardless, this strange shorter work of fiction is arguably the Stoker's dark horse. While not for everyone, fans of outsider art, surrealist fiction or maximalist genre exercises will undoubtedly recognize it as a diamond in the rough. Stoker's treatment of postcolonial themes and Victorian gender tropes leaves familiar genre mainstays turned on their heads. The text is jammed with cameos from virtually all conceivable cliches that comprise Gothic and period fantasy/science fiction, but Stoker deliberately presents them as ridiculous and over the top. Some critics note that The Lair of the White Worm bears similarities to Dracula as an example of reverse colonialism that comments on the state of imperialist culture at the end of the Victorian and Edwardian eras. Analysis aside, this book is crazy fun for anyone who appreciates raw creativity without a lot of polish. Fans of H. P. Lovecraft, Stephen King and Philip K. Dick, terrible but creative writers whose imaginative ideas eclipse their technical abilities, might find The Lair of the White Worm especially worthwhile.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By GG Gawain on January 30, 2009
Format: Paperback
This is a crazy little story that transported me out of my routine. I like the way Stoker shows warm feelings between the characters then juxtaposes them with an environment of extreme violence and insanity. If not for the repose of normal people in the novella, the strangeness of the story would cause it to fall apart. This is Stoker's signature method in Dracula as well. I loved the story and think it's the authors second best novel after Dracula. This single black edition of the Lair was neat because it forced me to focus only on the story and didn't get lost in an anthology.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kurt A. Johnson TOP 1000 REVIEWER on September 22, 2014
Format: Paperback
Adam Salton, born and raised in Australia, is contacted by his granduncle in England, for the purpose of establishing a relationship between these last two members of the family. Adam travels to Richard Salton's house in Mercia, and quickly finds himself in the center of some inexplicable occurrences.

The new heir to the Caswall estate, Edgar Caswall appears to be making some sort of a mesmeric assault on a local girl. And, a local lady, Arabella March, seems to be running a game of her own, perhaps angling to become Mrs. Caswall. There is something strange about Lady March, something inexplicable and evil.

This book has elements that should make it a gripping story. Unfortunately, the tendency of the characters to move on, after a fantastic event, as if nothing unusual had happened gives the story a disjointed, surreal feel. This story just does not come together, but rambles along to its uninspiring conclusion. I do not recommend this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By lhm434 on July 5, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I would have given this book zero stars if it were possible. I don't know what Bram Stoker was thinking, but this may be one of the worst stories that I've ever read. The narrative is undeveloped, occasionally incoherent, and there are many better books from the late nineteenth/early twentieth century that tackle the same issues but with much more success. If you love Dracula, then definitely steer clear of Lair of the White Worm, as it may ruin Stoker for you.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Amazon Author Rankbeta 

(What's this?)

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Bram Stoker's Lair of the White Worm
This item: Bram Stoker's Lair of the White Worm
Price: $9.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com