Customer Reviews


1,340 Reviews
5 star:
 (958)
4 star:
 (216)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (79)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


445 of 460 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Hospitals Use It, You Know It's Reliable & Accurate
We recently purchased this ear thermometer after reading a number of positive reviews online. The cost initially gave us pause, but since this product will be primarily used on our small children quality, accuracy and reliability were important considerations and outweighed the cost factor. Our last two ear thermometers were unreliable and didn't last long. We've used...
Published on August 24, 2009 by My $.03

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You have a fever.. No. Wait. You don't.
I have had this thermometer replaced by the company and it's still having the same issue (This was just delivered this past week and is BRAND new!). It's obviously not as "unusual" a problem as they lead me to believe considering the reviews. Perhaps the 5 star reviews just take the temperature once and believe it. However, having a temperature of 101 upon waking seems...
Published 4 months ago by Bateman


‹ Previous | 1 2134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

445 of 460 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Hospitals Use It, You Know It's Reliable & Accurate, August 24, 2009
By 
My $.03 (Arlington, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
We recently purchased this ear thermometer after reading a number of positive reviews online. The cost initially gave us pause, but since this product will be primarily used on our small children quality, accuracy and reliability were important considerations and outweighed the cost factor. Our last two ear thermometers were unreliable and didn't last long. We've used this product reliably for a couple months now and are quite satisfied.

What recently sold us though was a recent Emergency Room visit to the Fairfax INOVA Children's Hospital which is a fantastic children's hospitals in Northern Virginia (our baby is now OK). While there we were surprised to see the doctors and nurses all using this same product. This is a state of the art hospital where they spare no expense, and they were using this ear thermometer. Their units are used constantly and if this product can stand up to that type of abuse, I'm sure it will work for us for years to come.

*** Update 1 - 1/26/2013 - Well over three years of use and it's still going strong. I'm still extremely satisfied.
*** Update 2 - 3/3/2014 - We had an ER visit this Saturday when my 6 yr old son dislocated his finger on a jungle gym and they used one of these to take his temp. Looks like they are still popular.
*** Update 3 - 3/24/2014 - This morning, after 4.5 years of surprisingly frequent use on our two young kids it's kaput. New batteries wouldn't revive it. Took my daughter to her pediatrician this morning (it's a large pediatric practice with 8-10 doctors) and guess what they used to take her temp? Yes, exactly, this same thermometer. I'll be ordering a new one from Amazon today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


520 of 559 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing - speed,conv. and accuracy, April 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
Bought this couple of weeks back consequent to my son developing high fever and which fluctuated considerably. This caused the Red Cross $9.00 digital thermometer useless as it takes approx. a minute (under armpits) to record temparature. Our doctor advised us to buy Braun based ear thermometer.

First off - there are quite a models available. After taking to doctor and doing research - the 2 new models are IRT 4520 and IRT 4020. These are EXACT copies (all functionality) like their PRO 4000 versions!
The ExacTemp feature has a pre-heated tip which is more comfortable for the ear.
The older models (PRO 3000) is about $80, but uses lithium batteries and I don't think has pre-heated tip.

Has a "sort of" battery meter. Starts to show - that battery's low, flashing means - will effect results. (Very good)

Usage:
Switch on, place tip (with tip cover, without cover, doesn't work)
push START and WITHIN TWO SECONDS you get the temperature.

Notes: Slightly hold the ear in order to place the tip INTO THE EAR HOLE to get best INTERNAL EAR CANAL reading. The readings are stored for access later - total 8 memory readings.
Auto shut-off: 60 sec.

The storage is into a white canister type case, which has HORIZONTAL standing (not good - as VERTICAL standing would have been better or if provided ALSO - good).

The given 21 nos. of lens caps are very little. Thankfully, the whole package of lens caps goes INSIDE the thermometer case, storing them together.

Size-wise it's a bit thick and thus slightly problematic to carry along but due to it's accuracy/etc. worth the hassle.

The ejector is very useful. Just press it and the lens cap is THROWN forward. Be careful, it's literally EJECTED out. (Point towards garbage can - I hit my wife's nose...;)

If you get covers for the PRO 4xxx series - you can use it with IRT 4520. That's very good. The batteries are regular AA series and last long. The IRT 4020 has 1 extra feature - has a protective plastic cap covering the disposable lens caps. That's actually very useful. So, if you get 4520 and 4020 at approx. the same price, I would opt for 4020.

There are some calibrations possible, but advice you NOT to do so. If you keep pressing the I/O button even after OFF, then you can switch between Celsius/Fahrenheit settings.
You can set the optimal temperature of the tip, define ambient room temp, etc - Keep i/o button pressed, after OFF starts to FLASH, there will be loud beep - immediately release the I/O button. Then keep pressing (short presses) of the I/O to switch to go thru the options stated above.

Note: ALTHOUGH NOT STATED, IT'S ADVISABLE to have the thermometer calibrated professionally *KAZ, in US* annually.

Weight - about 8 oz.

Any diff. between ExacTemp and non-Exac?
Yes - the pre-heated tip.

Any diff. btw the Professional (+$200) and this?
NONE in functionality, the PRO's just more heavy duty, with anti-theft features, base-station, etc. (all sold as accessories)

Any diff. btw this and the "Compact" one?
Yes - this has ExacTemp, has Memory functions, overall - quicker.

Does the PRO series lens cover fit?
Yes

Difference with IRT 4520 and IRT 4020?
IRT 4020 has a protective cover ON top of lens cover. IRT 4020 - difficult to buy. Pro 4xxx series REPLICATES IRT 4520, not IRT 4020.

How accurate?
Very accurate. I compared with mercury-based prof. thermometers.

Usage tips?
Use the SAME ear (you'll notice each ear records diff. temp) Hold the ear slightly up, push gently the tip INSIDE and press "Start"

Can I use it "orally", rectum, arm-pits?
I don't think so, it's gonna be difficult, the tip's designed for ears. Although stated possible - can't imagine how.

Any features I would have liked?
Yes, the following:
(a) Memory feature has the date/time included
(b) The memory feature has the LEFT ear and RIGHT ear set. (i.e. 2*8 memory locations, at least)
(c) Ability to switch off the BEEP
(d) A 2nd. display where the "Start" button is to see the temp. immediately (priority - low)
(e) More thin - the overall product
(f) Lens covers are very costly
(g) The case should be able to STAND, not lying down only

[UPDATE} 12/2012: Still going strong, absolutely no complaints. Traveled with us thru Europe and Asia and back to NA. Used gazillion times with zero failures or problems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


192 of 215 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thermometer available!...if you have ears., February 9, 2013
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
I have taken this to work at a hospital and compared it to the Pro model and they are not any different. My review is kind of a mix of comments I have posted in offering some information about these thermometers as some people have not had good results with them. It helps to understand the reasons for getting temps that frustrate you. As a nurse in critical care areas I have a lot of use with these and find them to be the best way (with the exception of a internal temperature probe placed in an uncomfortable location)I hope this is helpful.

Thermometers cannot read too high. The differing temps between ears are likely the result of method, like how you were pointing it into your ear, maybe differently between each one, or how clear the ear canal is, like is one side cleaner than the other. The difference between tympanic and oral is established to be different. There is an article on webmd that summarizes the typical ranges and differences between temperature locations. Many people falsely focus on getting the exact temp but this is futile because your body is always changing, heart rate, blood pressure, everything is in constant change based on environments. What you should be looking for is a trend, are you gradually going up in temp? or going down? I use the same style in the ICU and even there it is understood that you will have some slight changes even between ears, pick the one that is higher because that is more likely to be the cleaner best side. Don't get frustrated by the machine, just learn the correct use. (webmd com/parenting/rectal-ear-oral-and-axillary-temperature-comparison)

I don't like the forehead therms because I think it's too easy to lift off and drop my reading down. I absolutely choose the ear therm. I work in critical care in a decent sized hospital, all the nurses prefer the tympanic (ear) for fast accurate readings.

There are also known differences between age groups as far as temps go. Young kids, toddlers, infants have typically higher normal temps, while older adults have typically lower body temps, this has to do with the amount of metabolism/energy burning off. Everybody is different in their temps. Different methods of temp reading (like oral, ear, forehead) each have their own range that are a degree or two off, this is just natural that deep inside our body we are warmest and skin temp can drop with sweating and be cold while a body core temp is roasting (another reason I don't like the forehead scan). Oral temps can easily be skewed if eating foods of varying temps. Tympanic is also a degree or so different than a true core temp but this is all not important with a typical infection because the important information is which direction the temp is moving. Also behavior is very important especially with children; my child at age 1y had a temp of 104 (rectally, which I consider more true than any other home method) and was playing around and happy, I was not worried, I gave some medication and watched his behavior. Another toddler could have a temp of 101 and be flaccid and I would be racing to the ER. This may be TMI but it helps if you understand the context of the temp and the method of checking it. I hope this is helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You have a fever.. No. Wait. You don't., April 15, 2014
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
I have had this thermometer replaced by the company and it's still having the same issue (This was just delivered this past week and is BRAND new!). It's obviously not as "unusual" a problem as they lead me to believe considering the reviews. Perhaps the 5 star reviews just take the temperature once and believe it. However, having a temperature of 101 upon waking seems highly unusual considering I'm not sick. So, in the same ear, same positioning in the ear, I do it again *immediately* after reading the 1st reading. Of course the reading is significantly different. So here's an experiment. I'm going to do this RIGHT now.
Right Ear (all done in approx. 3 second intervals)
99.9
99.2
98.9
98.6
Left Ear (all done in approx. 3 second intervals)
100.9
98.8....
Lets just stop there. 100.9 to 98.8?!?!? I'm sorry but that's RIDICULOUS! How is this advertised as the most accurate store bought thermometer you can own?!? That is a HUGE difference. Both thermometers did this.

There has GOT to be a better one on the market. Their customer service is good (if you can navigate their HORRIBLE website and actually contact customer service), but the product is HIGHLY inaccurate and truly not worth the money. I am a mother of 3 under 5 and understand the value of quality products, that give me peace of mind about the well-being of my children. This is NOT one of those products.

(Just to address someone who thinks I am somehow "cooling" the ear every time I tested; I took a reading of each ear approx. 15 minutes after the initial readings and both ears were 98.6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 163 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick readings, great value., May 9, 2009
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
I am sure I am not the first parent who has had to try and keep a struggling child steady while waiting 2+ minutes for the thermometer to register a reading. In this regard, the Braun ThermoScan is ideal. It takes an accurate ear reading in just a few seconds! The probe also does not feel cold to the touch, so my child actually seems to like having her temperature taken. The only drawback so far is that the LCD panel is not back-lit. It is impossible to see the reading in the semi-darkness, and one has to go to a light source to check the measurement. Otherwise, a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously flawed., November 9, 2013
By 
teachuh (Chicago, Il USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
Besides the fact that you can take 3 readings in each ear and get SIX different temps that range about 1.5°, there is a more irritating, egregious flaw: NO LIGHT. Before you buy this, think for a minute about how often you will need to take readings in a darkened room, PARTICULARLY if you have kids. Talk about design flaws. A simple, dimly lit background for the LED would have saved me and my wife a great deal of exasperation. Of course, this didn't occur to me before I bought it, but man, am I ever sorry, every time I use it. I have to bring a flashlight into the room with me -- or run back into the hallway before the LED fades -- or risk waking my daughters. Put that in the context of my first complaint: multiple readings required. "Gee, is my daughter's temperature 102° (no big deal)? or 103.5° (big deal)???" *sigh*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a doc with a 4 yr old, nothing better for home use..., December 15, 2010
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
in the hospital we use MEDICAL grade temporal therms. (not like the Exergen home model) but this aural is my - and most doctors - choice for home use. BTW, rectal is STILL gold standard in medicine, and aural is rated as the closest second.

CHANGE THE COVER EVERY TEMP! I know they're costly, but that's only way to ensure accuracy and avoid spreading infection from any ear bacteria.

When you need to be spot on, get three measurements - one Left, then Right, then Left again. Temp will vary from ear in to ear in EVERYONE. Take THE HIGHEST read and use that as your treatment threshold. With MINIMAL practice, you can get when they're sleeping, awake, ear-ache - basically any type of fever, anytime.

Buy a small flashlight to bring in room with u if you're that worried bout seeing the measurements right away. But remember, the therm stores last 3 measurements anyhow, so take readings then go to a lit area to read. Easy enuf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and easy! Sadly not for all the kids yets..., July 19, 2009
By 
K. Miller (Arlington, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
My wife and I love this product, but have to wait a bit longer before we can use it on our son. Out pediatrician told us to wait until after we were 1yr old to start to use this type of thermometer so for his first birthday he unwrapped one of these (we figured he'd be as excited as we were!) Unfortunately our son has smaller ear canals than this thermometer will accurately read so we consistently get low readings (92-95F) when we try to use it. My wife and I have used it on ourselves and get normal readings so we think it works... We'll try again at 18months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 120 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars works well...but...., June 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
easy to use, however, screen does not light up so when you take temperature in the middle of the night (which if you have kids is all the time), you still need to turn on a light to read - a major shortcoming in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY innacurate, January 28, 2014
This review is from: Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer with ExacTemp Technology, IRT4520USSM (Health and Beauty)
Since I bought this thermometer is will range by two whole points with immediate repeat checking. I am a registered nurse and this is a piece of junk (not that it takes a nurse to take a temp!). I will repeatedly take my own temp and it will very from 97.7-99.5 with no change in how I am using it. My daughter had a fever and her fever varied from 101.3-103.3. Please don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.