Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The purest realization of Braun's simple alarm clock.
I appreciate Braun design and have a collection of the brand's alarm clocks. The original AB1 was probably the simplest of these collectible clocks. Recently a handful of the classic Braun clock designs have been reissued, and this new model BNC002 is the rough equivalent of the original AB1 designed by Dietrich Lubs and released in 1987. It is approx. 2.25-inches square...
Published on September 13, 2011 by Don S.

versus
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to love this - but it doesn't work
I used to have the original version of this alarm clock in the 80s and 90s. It literally lasted forever. It didn't break, in the end, I lost it. Totally reliable. I miss that little alarm clock. Despite the fact that $30 is really pricey for a very basic alarm clock, and this one didn't come with glowing dials or a little light, I didn't hesitate spending the money...
Published on November 28, 2011 by Mei-Lu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The purest realization of Braun's simple alarm clock., September 13, 2011
By 
Don S. (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
I appreciate Braun design and have a collection of the brand's alarm clocks. The original AB1 was probably the simplest of these collectible clocks. Recently a handful of the classic Braun clock designs have been reissued, and this new model BNC002 is the rough equivalent of the original AB1 designed by Dietrich Lubs and released in 1987. It is approx. 2.25-inches square. The original clock evolved into the AB1A by 1994, the main difference being a smaller pop-up alarm switch. The AB1A was available again in the last decade or so, but made in China rather than Germany. This new clock is based on the AB1A, but with some detail differences from the Chinese-made example I have in my collection. It uses one AA battery (a Duracell AA is included).

This is the most basic of alarm clocks, it is basically on or off. There are no lights, no snooze function, no extras like glow-in-the-dark hands. Unlike some other Braun clocks, this model doesn't have a movable cover to protect the clear plastic lense over the face for travel. It uses a very quiet German-made movement and has Braun's classic crescendo alarm that starts out quiet and gets louder the longer the alarm sounds. Black is the signature Braun clock color and while the originals were molded colored plastic with an attractive matte finish, this new clock seems to be painted satin black.

The packaging is black and recalls the design language used on many recent Braun shavers. The BNC002 is made in China, with German-made movement. Fans of Lub's clocks will love this most recent release. Fans of design and lovers of the simple should too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to love this - but it doesn't work, November 28, 2011
By 
Mei-Lu (NEWPORT, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
I used to have the original version of this alarm clock in the 80s and 90s. It literally lasted forever. It didn't break, in the end, I lost it. Totally reliable. I miss that little alarm clock. Despite the fact that $30 is really pricey for a very basic alarm clock, and this one didn't come with glowing dials or a little light, I didn't hesitate spending the money because of my warm feelings for my old Braun. I was severely disappointed. The clock worked just fine but the alarm never worked for me. At least not in the morning. A couple of days, I left the alarm on (because it didn't go off) and the alarm chimed at night. Worse than useless! I returned this and bought a Seiko.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classy but not flawless, September 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
This is a classy little clock, whose clean design is its chief selling point. Much as I like it, I unfortunately found a somewhat important flaw in it. The alarm does not necessarily go off at the time which you set it to; it can be up to a quarter hour early or late. I personally use it as a desk clock, so it's not a critical issue for me, but since it's sold as an alarm clock, that may be a deal breaker for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Braun" alarm clock, April 15, 2012
By 
Lamont Dakota "Lamont Cranston" (Scranton/Wilkes-Barre, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
This Chinese-made version is by no means the equal in quality of the original, German-made version, but it is cheaper, costing the same as the original cost, back in 1972.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a classic but..., April 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
This is a cool clock, I remember my dad having one when I was a kid and he traveled with it often. But this seems to be a new model that just doesn't work as well. The alarm isn't loud and it stopped functioning 2 days after using it even though the clock it self still works. It's since been returned :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spare, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
Very pricy for what you get. No cover of any kind so face of clock is susceptible to scratching as well as batteries falling out, which happened to me. I don't get all the glowing reviews, it is average at best with a very high price tag. Save your money, use the alarm feature on your cell phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Braun travel alarm clock, October 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
Basically it's fine: small, lightweight, easy to read and no loud ticking - that's important. I wish you could illuminate the dial with a button press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up!, November 9, 2011
By 
James Polisini (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
A great travel alarm. It adds a personal touch to your temporary room, is small and light for travel and loud enough to overcome jetlag when waking you. Highly recommended for long stays away from home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Setting controls difficult to turn, July 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
The clock is visually appealing, and the escalating sound is good.

The setting wheels are small, recessed, and difficult to turn, which is a deal-breaker for this alarm. (It might be OK for folks who always leave the alarm set for the same time, but if your wale-up changes every day, then this clock is a pain to set.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excruciatingly Loud, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Braun Travel Alarm Clock BNC002 Black
It started out reasonably quiet, but after 2 months the "tick-tock" of the second hand renders it useless: & this is with two fans & a computer with multiple fans running in close proximity. As many others have pointed out, it's a classic design marred by cheap parts, no apparent quality control, & a price based on what was once considered a reputable (if expensive) company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Braun Travel Alarm Clock  BNC002 Black
$30.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.