Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$4.00
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid used copy with some visible wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

A Brave and Startling Truth Hardcover – September 19, 1995

5 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$5.49 $0.01

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

From Library Journal

Celebrating the common humanity "we, this people, on a small and lonely planet" share, Angelou read this poem at the June 26 ceremonies in San Francisco to commemorate the signing of the U.N. Charter.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From the Inside Flap

First read by Maya Angelou at the 50th anniversary of the founding of the United Nations, this wise and moving poem will inspire readers with its memorable message of hope for humanity.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Interested in the Audiobook Edition?
If you’re the author, publisher, or rights holder of this book, let ACX help you produce the audiobook.Learn more.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Random House; 1 edition (September 19, 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0679449043
  • ISBN-13: 978-0679449041
  • Product Dimensions: 6.9 x 5.1 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,619,795 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on March 29, 2000
Format: Hardcover
Maya Angelou's works are compelling as well as they are truthful. This book releases many untold stories of slavery in the old South, and the Africans' strife to overcome racism. I love this book and strongly recommend it.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
"A Brave and Startling Truth," by Maya Angelou, is a short but powerful book. The book contains the text of a poem which, according to the book cover, was read by Angelou to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the founding of the United Nations.
This is a humanistic poem in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Pablo Neruda. In her straightforward poetic voice, Angelou articulates a global vision of the frailties and strengths of humanity, and expresses her hope for peace. This small book would make a good gift.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on April 19, 2002
Format: Hardcover
On Sunday April 12,2002 I saw and heard Dr. Maya Angelou speak. She is an exceptionally well speaker. I loved being able to hear her read her works out loud. Her poem A Brave and Startling Truth is very well written becuase it is written about these times.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse