Buy Used
$4.00
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. Dust jacket in Has dustjacket condition.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

A Brave and Startling Truth Hardcover


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$4.79 $0.01 $49.99
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$20.00

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Random House; 1 edition (September 19, 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0679449043
  • ISBN-13: 978-0679449041
  • Product Dimensions: 6.9 x 5.1 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #411,594 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Library Journal

Celebrating the common humanity "we, this people, on a small and lonely planet" share, Angelou read this poem at the June 26 ceremonies in San Francisco to commemorate the signing of the U.N. Charter.
Copyright 1995 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From the Inside Flap

First read by Maya Angelou at the 50th anniversary of the founding of the United Nations, this wise and moving poem will inspire readers with its memorable message of hope for humanity.

More About the Author

Maya Angelou has been waitress, singer, actress, dancer, activist, filmmaker, writer and mother. As well as her autobiography she has written several volumes of poetry, including 'On the Pulse of the Morning' for the inauguration of President Clinton. She now has a life-time appointment as Reynolds Professor of American Studies at Wake Forest University in North Carolina.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on March 29, 2000
Format: Hardcover
Maya Angelou's works are compelling as well as they are truthful. This book releases many untold stories of slavery in the old South, and the Africans' strife to overcome racism. I love this book and strongly recommend it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Michael J. Mazza HALL OF FAME on June 28, 2001
Format: Hardcover
"A Brave and Startling Truth," by Maya Angelou, is a short but powerful book. The book contains the text of a poem which, according to the book cover, was read by Angelou to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the founding of the United Nations.
This is a humanistic poem in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Pablo Neruda. In her straightforward poetic voice, Angelou articulates a global vision of the frailties and strengths of humanity, and expresses her hope for peace. This small book would make a good gift.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on April 19, 2002
Format: Hardcover
On Sunday April 12,2002 I saw and heard Dr. Maya Angelou speak. She is an exceptionally well speaker. I loved being able to hear her read her works out loud. Her poem A Brave and Startling Truth is very well written becuase it is written about these times.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa3f1f6fc)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?