Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$10.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 7, 2016
it ok
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
I had to purchase this book for my American History course and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The similarities between protagonist Sara Smolinsky and the author Anzia Yezierska makes it read more like a memoir. The book is filled with examples of female oppression and fills you with rage at times, but all in all it was an excellent book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
Great book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
wonderful book. enjoyed reading it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
excellent
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
pleasant read; can easily identify with the trials of the immigrant family from that time period
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2015
This book allowed me to see the difficult lives many immigrants had to live in America. Highly recommend this book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
You won't be able to put it down. Read it for my women's history class.. Amazing book and written nicely
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
Found it interesting but dated
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
This book is a classic. I've read more classics than I can count, written during many time periods, but I must say that I'd never heard of this book until I happened upon it recently at a used-book store. So glad I found it! It isn't the best written book in the world. (English was the author's second language. True of Nabakov also, yes, but he is a truly unique case.) It isn't the most elegantly plotted. It doesn't have the most well-developed characters, or the most subtle of narrative developments. And yet. This book conveys something essential. It gets down to the heart of an immigrant experience. And in a way that few other books do. The author isn't using her imagination. She, herself, experienced that world, that existence. She breathes life into it for readers, making them feel at least a glimmer of the hope, helplessness, frustration, and desperation of her characters. If you want to know what life was like for a Jewish immigrant girl in New York in the early 20th century, this book is indispensable. It is a quick, easy read, but leaves a lasting impression.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse