Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expect instant results after reading this book., April 19, 1999
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
Mike does a great job in describing various techniques for lowering your score to under 100. He talks about the short game, course management for dummies, full shots, the preparation stage for the golf swing and the importance of planned practice. The examples and techniques are simple to apply and easy to follow. Mike goes on to talk about a "Personal Par System" where the golfer approaches, lets say a 500+ yard hole, as a par six. Approaching long holes in this fashion gives the improving golfer a sense of pressure relief (on in four and two putt!). If you go into your round with bogey in mind, you shoot 90!! Please take the time to read this and any other book by Mike Adams. He is a world class golf instructor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great plan, July 2, 2004
By 
William Rockwell (Chatsworth, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
This book can help you work wonders with your game. But probably not in the way most people think when they pick up a golf book.
This book is all about imperfection. You don't need to have a great swing, be a great putter, chipper, pitcher or for that matter be great at any part of your game to break 100. To break 100 you just need to be reasonably consistent and be able to think.
In my mind, this book does 2 things very well. First it sets out a plan to help you structure your practice toward a goal. Secondly it can help you think your way around a course.
The book is layed out as skills to work on each week. I doubt you will be able to master any of the skills in the time frame given. However you will still be able to be able to knock a bunch of strokes off your game when you are through. Isn't that what is important?
The thinking aka course management sections have a different purpose. They teach you how to think about maximizing the skills you have. This kind of thinking knocks strokes off your game very quickly. It is all about how many shots it takes you to finish, not about how the shots look. You will score much better hitting shots you can hit than to stretch and wind up with lost balls and other situations where you are bound to lose strokes because you don't have a plan on how to get out of trouble.
This book won't make your swing prettier but will cut some shots off your score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-designed, academic approach, March 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
This book assumes some fundamental knowledge about how to play golf. If you want information on how to grip, setup and swing, this ain't the book for you. But, if you want to know how to practice with purpose, break down your strenghts and weaknesses, read a course and avoid letting your ego get in the way of your game, this is a great book.
It's an easy read with a lighthearted and respectful writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so much common sense, it's uncommon, June 18, 2001
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
I had seen this book before, but never bought it. Figured it was too simplistic for me (a golfer who can hit some nice, powerful individual shots but just can't string them together over the course of a round). Figured I'd break 100 soon enough, just a matter of time away (along with that one good, elusive golf tip).
Couple years later. I still haven't broken 100 on a par-72 yet, but I do have 20 or so golf books at home to keep me company. Decided this was not working (duh), so took a look at this book.
I like this book for several reasons. It is very clearly organized...you can find what you're looking for. IMHO, there is enough quality info to get a golfer past 100 and beyond, but not so much information as to overwhelm the golfer. After you read through the sections on equipment, short game, full swing, course mgmt, etc., the book takes you through a week-by-week plan to reaching your goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed the way I look at my game, September 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
This book fundamentally changed the way I look at my game. Not *the* game, but *my* game. It helped me to be honest with yourself and stop comparing my game to experts. I had been bouncing along around 105 for a long time. I shot 98 the first two rounds after reading this book. The two most helpful things were focusing on chipping / short game, and dialing in my distance for different clubs. I also started using the course management ideas, including playing a 'fantasy round' at the range, and keeping a diary of every shot.

Highly, highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but the authors have a better one, August 11, 2006
By 
mruseless "mruseless" (Highlands Ranch, CO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
The same authors also wrote a book titled, "How to Break 90". It covers a similar set of topics, but includes less "beginner" info and more advanced techniques for the short game.

I bought "How to Break 90" when I was still trying to break 100, and the techniques got me into the 90's in just a few rounds. That book also includes the idea of "personal par", and the importance of giving yourself extra strokes to get on the green. For example, if you shoot "Level 5's" (average 5 across an entire round), then you'll shoot 90. Using the same idea, if you average 6's, then you'll shoot 108. I found that when I focused on 5's and 6's instead of on par, my scores started dropping.

Anyway, I would recommend "How to Break 90" instead of this book. That way, once you are firmly in the 90's you can re-read it and hopefully break 90!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but definitely not magic..., November 5, 2006
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
This book is a solid purchase and I would recommend it for any real hacker (as I was before I bought this boook). The tips they give are excellent for lowering your score. That said, you won't really FEEL or even LOOK like a better golfer after reading this book. You'll just be scoring lower.

I have probably played 10 rounds since I've read the book and I've gone from not even keeping track of my score to consistently shooting right around 100. The tips in this book have kept me from hitting so many unplayable tee shots and from shanking so many of my shots within 100 yards. as a result, I have shaved a significant number of strokes from my score. I still look like a hacker to my friends, the only differnce is my score is much closer to a respectable score.

Don't expect this book to teach how to hit better looking shots or how to get rid of your slice. This book is only good for exactly what the title says it is good for... getting you under 100 quickly. That's it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sensible approach to the game for the Hacker, September 29, 2006
By 
Eagle Vision (Southeastern United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
Are you tired of the triple digit score or the "Snowman" on the score card? Stop whining and do something about it. This is achievable and I have done it in less than half the time as outlined in this book.

Having just started playing this game, I have realized that the most important things to concentrate upon are fundamentals of play and achieving more consistency. Note that I didn't say perfection. The target audience is for men and women alike.

This is no-nonsense approach to improving your score by practical tips on the short game (e.g. putting, chipping, pitching). Strategies are outlined when should do one over the other. This is a simpler and more realistic approach to the short game than the "Bible" that has been extensively outlined in another text. For the beginner, this information is more than adequate until you have achieved the goal of breaking the elusive score of 100. The author has outlined the book by a thinking person's approach rather than focusing upon "ego". You will realize that those "three letters" will keep your score in the "Three digits".

An important adage that he uses is fundamental:

"Putt the ball whenever you can...When you can't putt, chip. When you can't chip, pitch." - Tomasi

Starting from the fundamentals of choosing and using equipment and which clubs to use, to making the grip to course management, the author does a fine job with clear and concise descriptions. Although this has a paucity of images, the images that are provided illustrate the most important points. Full shots as well as how to improve power in your swing is outlined.

This book will not take the place of an instructor but I find it useful for someone interested in starting out planning from scratch. It's audience is predominantly for people who have played and hopefully, had a lesson or two to get an idea of a more conventional swing.

The last chapter covers a 13 week plan for those trying to follow his methods.

---
I do suggest a new edition be written to cover the newer equipment that has been introduced since this book has been written.

There are other advanced theories that these authors teach:

The LAWs of the Golf Swing: Body-Type Your Golf Swing and Master Your Game

How to Break 90: An Easy Approach for Breaking Golf's Toughest Scoring Barrier

Total Golf This book is a great overview in a well illustrated format

30-Second Golf Swing: How to Train Your Brain to Improve Your Game
___
I highly recommend this book. Every duffer should have it on their shelves and maybe in "The Bag". It has helped me "Break 100" and lead to more enjoyable, rather than frustrating times on the course. It may make the word "FORE!" in your vocabulary a thing of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical Advice That Will Lower Your Scores, February 22, 2007
By 
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
Break 100 Now, is a straightforward, practical book about how to shoot lower scores in the shortest amount of time possible.

The book starts by encouraging the reader to take an honest look at the equipment in his bag, and get rid of clubs that don't work. This will start with the 3 iron, and will probably include the 4 iron as well. Instead of these longer, lower-lofted clubs, the author suggests using hybrids or fairway woods. The focus here is giving yourself the best tools that meet your CURRENT skill level, not the skill you wish you had. Much like David Pelz's book, the author also suggests carrying several wedges, as the majority of your shots are going to be within 100 yards.

The book also features some basic instruction on the short game, as well as the full swing. While the language here is clear, I would have liked more illustrations, as I think some concepts are more easily grasped by pictures than by long paragraphs of text.

The best that the book has to offer, in my opinion, is the chapter entitled: "Course Management For Dummies", which introduces the reader to the kind of thinking that seperates successful golfers from poor ones. The reader is encouraged to think of each swing as a precious piece of currency that has value. And while there may come a time when the reader has the skill to hit the long draw over some trees with his driver, it will probably be a much better "investment" to hit a conservative iron or fairway wood off the tee, and ensure that your next shot is from the fairway. You've got to walk before you can run, and

What's great about this is that once you learn how to manage your game and play the shots that are best for you (and not necessarily the shots the rest of the guys in your foursome are playing) you will start to have a lot more confidence in your game, and will shoot lower scores as a result.

In summary, this book does pretty much what the title suggest. While readers will not actually break 100 "now", the book outlines a plan that should have the reader shooting in the double digits within 90 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will break 100 if..., September 1, 2003
By 
Donna Weiss (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days (Paperback)
Bought this book for my husband who is an acknowleged BAD GOLFER. The book won't make your swing better, but it will prevent you from making dumb mistakes on the course and bring you under 100 consistently. The author is very accurate and knows why most folks don't break 100. Read it and obey it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days
Break 100 Now: From Hacker to Golfer in Just 90 Days by Mike Adams (Paperback - January 3, 1998)
$15.99 $11.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.