Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Promising Debut Slightly Tainted by Pop Ambitions
There are almost too many conflicting elements within Breakfast, the 14-track debut from Philadelphia hip-hop band Chiddy Bang, to keep track of. For starters, the band - producer Noah Beresin and emcee Chidera "Chiddy" Anamege - are on both I.R.S. Records and Virgin Records. (A little indie and biggie major.) The Chiddy's are both roots-y hip-hop and modern pop; uber...
Published on March 10, 2012 by Gregory William Locke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the premier
I can't even remember how long ago it was when Chiddy Bang released their first album (ep) titled The Preview. It was short, sweet, and full of awesome. So when I saw they finally released a full length album I was very excited... Until I listened to it. That is not to say this album is Bad so much as it is disappointing. Could have been great, a few pretty decent...
Published on May 12, 2012 by Pharaoh M. Lamothe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Promising Debut Slightly Tainted by Pop Ambitions, March 10, 2012
This review is from: Breakfast [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
There are almost too many conflicting elements within Breakfast, the 14-track debut from Philadelphia hip-hop band Chiddy Bang, to keep track of. For starters, the band - producer Noah Beresin and emcee Chidera "Chiddy" Anamege - are on both I.R.S. Records and Virgin Records. (A little indie and biggie major.) The Chiddy's are both roots-y hip-hop and modern pop; uber stylish young dudes yet owners of eyesore cover art. Noah is white, geeky and reserved and Chiddy is black, hip and boisterous. The lyrics are simultaneously underground-friendly and painfully cheesy in a sugar-pop sort of way. Corny radio-ready hooks do the twist with some seriously legit verses and boom-bap drum programming takes turns keeping time with already-dated keyboard taps. Beautiful samples and loops are used throughout the record, only to be torn down by forgettable R&B hooks belted by dime-a-dozen female vocalists - all whom seem to be dead set on overdoing it. Beresin's production style somehow reminds of both classic-era De La Soul and a forgotten babe-core group called LFO (not the English IDM producer but, rather, the pop-rap boy group responsible for "Summer Girls"). And, of course, Chiddy Bang are known for sampling Radiohead, Sufjan Stevens, MGMT and other makers of hip LPs, yet seem to have no interest in making a tight, cohesive, credible record of their own. Needless to say, Breakfast is a feast of contradictions. And one hell of an interesting listen.

Without a doubt, Beresin and Chiddy are pros at their crafts. Beresin could, I believe, produce a collection of beats as good as anyone out there if he had a little guidance, less interest in getting on the radio and a better editor. His style isn't groundbreaking, but it's clean, clever and - when at its best - reminiscent of Prince Paul's classic-era sound. As for Chiddy, he is, despite being in a pop-rap band, one of the best new mainstream emcees to emerge in a very long time. He has the all-time freestyle record, rapping off the top of his head for well over nine hours once upon a time. More importantly, the guy has style miles for days, takes nods from early Nas records, and sounds both authoritative and wise through every bar of verse. Together, Chiddy and Beresin make a hell of a team. The problem with the consistency of their music and overall aesthetic, I'd guess, has quite a bit to do with the fact that they're a new act on a struggling major label. Virgin Records isn't exactly in the business of signing and building new radio-aimed hip-hop acts these days, and so one has to assume that they've stuck their grubby noses into the mix a bit too much. And so we have a pop-rap hybrid album that, at times, makes Big Willy Style sound like an artsy record.

All that said, I quite like Breakfast. Sure, it's annoyingly cheesy at times, but the songs that are good remind me very much of the pop-rap of the 90s. Coolio, MC Hammer, Kris Kross, selected Tupac, Skee-lo, all those R&B/rap collaborations, and even, yep, The Fresh Prince. Chiddy's biggest song to date, the bouncy, hook-stuffed "Ray Charles," is as deserving of radio play as any song released so far this year. The appeal is so wide, the production so good and verses so strong that I can't help but root - and sing - along. The crossover appeal is so great that I only require one word to describe it, and that word is "Summertime." The record's title track is another standout, sounding more like something you'd hear on a Jay-Z album than on the latest edition of the Now series. Chiddy delivers the kinds of verses on this track that high school kids everywhere should - and probably will - memorize and eventually recite to each other in a few years during their drunken college nights. (Think Biggie and Snoop.) The song shows no sign of label fingering - no cheese ball hooks or unnecessary guests. Pure hip-hop hotness.

All together, Breakfast has six great songs, maybe seven. But even most of those tracks have some really annoying element about them, lingering below the Virgin Records logo, aimed at the unseasoned tastelessness of youth. What matters most about Breakfast are the singles and the promise within. This is a fun pop album and Chiddy is an emcee of enormous potential. Beresin, while not quite as masterful at his craft as Chiddy, is a skilled producer with good ears and a fair share of programming knowledge. One can only hope these two guys ignore the Black Eyed Peas-inspired pressurings of their label for the next record. The skill and potential is there, just sitting in the studio with Chiddy and Beresin, ready to materialize as some solid boom-bap hip-hop. Towards the end of a single-ready track called "Mind Your Manners" Chiddy makes a proclamation. "There is no one like me," he says, adding "We're gonna be here forever man ... or pretty much till they kick me out of the booth." His freestyle record in mind, I don't doubt Chiddy's hunger and ability. Now if he could just hammer down a bit and dodge the cheese, we'd have something to really talk about. For now, we have Breakfast, a promising summer record that will only break your heart if you go in expecting too much.

Check out more of my music- and film-related writing at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pow!, February 28, 2012
By 
This review is from: Breakfast (Audio CD)
The sound of Chiddy Bang comes right out for all to see. This is pop, rock, rap with wonderfully creative melodies and power. I love Out to Space and Talking to Myself; these beautiful songs make me crave a replay and Chiddy's flow is magnetic and an absolutely perfect balance to Xaphoon's beats. I love knowing VV Brown is in the studio during the recording of Happening, after Chiddy calls out a trademark intro she chimes in with her own, "VV Brown!" and actually sings with Chiddy toward the end.
Of course the album includes previously released favorites: Ray Charles, Mind Your Manners and Baby Roulette (which features Train although not mentioned) all exceptional singles breaking new ground in hip hop. My tastes are in The New Pornographers, Kanye West, The Flaming Lips, Sufjan Stevens, Portishead, and other well crafted pop so if you love melody and open to taking chances have your Breakfast today. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They set the bar high for the next one., February 28, 2012
This review is from: Breakfast [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
Chiddy Bang, the alternative hip-hop group made up of Chiddy the rapper and Xaphoon Jones the producer. I pre-ordered the album on their website and I received it in the mail last week. Of their three mixtapes "Air Swell", "Peanut Butter & Swelly", and "The Swelly Express", I think "Breakfast" is the weakest of the bunch. I also prefer to listen to their EP "The Preview" over this. I don't think this is a bad album, I just think the others are just that much better. With that being said, my favorite songs on the album are "Breakfast", "Handclaps & Guitars", "Mind Your Manners", "Run It Back", "Out 2 Space", "Whatever We Want", "Talking To Myself", and "4th Quarter".The song "Baby Roulette" is already on their mixtape "Peanut Butter & Swelly". I think this is a great first album for them, I just expected a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chiddy kills it, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breakfast [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I saw them live at U of B and the show was great so is this. It bangs in the trunk and chiddy kills it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's time to have breakfast, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breakfast (Audio CD)
It's time to have breakfast. I love breakfast, the song and the meal. Pancakes and Chiddy Bang: these make my life wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Badass, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breakfast (Audio CD)
This is a badass record. These two dudes can make some good beats and rhymes. Great for non-violent, intelligent rap music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chiddy Chiddy Bang Bang, June 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breakfast [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I stumbled upon this dynamic due while checking out an episode of Darryl Hall's House (Hall & Oates fame) on the cable channel Palladium. They are a nice mix of B.O.B. and Kid Cudi meets N.E.R.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from Chiddy Bang, December 31, 2012
By 
Kindle Customer (NEW CASTLE, DE, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breakfast [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I was a little worried about the release of this album, Chiddy Bang had delivered such an amazing first album, that I was sure this might have been a let down. I'm really happy to say that my worries were unfounded. Chiddy Bang for the uninitiated delivers an energetic fusion of hip-hop, electronic, and well pop that just comes off as fresh. There's several tracks of this album that are favorites, but like their last album I'm happy to report I can listen through the entire album without changing tracks, and I find that hard to do with most artists I listen to. If you're looking for something different and something fresh, I think you can't go wrong with this album.

Pros:
Another solid album which you can listen through the entire album without skipping tracks

Cons:
-none-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the premier, May 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breakfast [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I can't even remember how long ago it was when Chiddy Bang released their first album (ep) titled The Preview. It was short, sweet, and full of awesome. So when I saw they finally released a full length album I was very excited... Until I listened to it. That is not to say this album is Bad so much as it is disappointing. Could have been great, a few pretty decent singles, not a very solid album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love at first listen!, April 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breakfast [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I first heard about Chiddy Bang from their performance on the Wendy Williams' show. Then Spotify had their album available to listen so the first time I listen to it, I fell in love. I ended up purchasing the album and have my favorite tunes on repeat (#4 and #11).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Breakfast
Breakfast by Chiddy Bang (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.