Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overnight accommodations, complete with evil spirits and gooey entrails!
After finding this film on sale at a local DVD store, and reading the cover which proclaims that "Dead and Breakfast" is the US answer to "Shaun of the Dead," I had to pick this up for myself. I hadn't heard anything else about this film at the time, but being a huge fan of "Shaun of the Dead," and cheesy horror flicks in general, I bought it on a whim. While the...
Published on October 16, 2005 by CreepyT

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Self-Aware and Self-Indulgent To Be Real Fun
What can you say about "Dead & Breakfast"? I picked this up at the store not knowing much about it other than it had a cute title, clever holographic packaging, a few decent reviews and a young, appealing cast. I can say that the charms, unfortunately, of the actual film are relatively limited. Pretty standard fare, really--I didn't necessarily dislike it--I just felt...
Published on October 21, 2006 by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overnight accommodations, complete with evil spirits and gooey entrails!, October 16, 2005
By 
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
After finding this film on sale at a local DVD store, and reading the cover which proclaims that "Dead and Breakfast" is the US answer to "Shaun of the Dead," I had to pick this up for myself. I hadn't heard anything else about this film at the time, but being a huge fan of "Shaun of the Dead," and cheesy horror flicks in general, I bought it on a whim. While the aforementioned statement might be slightly misguided, "Dead and Breakfast" is certainly worth a viewing or two.

While on the way to a friend's wedding, six youngsters carpooling in an RV end up deciding to stop the night at a small town bed-and-breakfast. This bothered me right off the bat. They're in an RV, why stop and rent rooms? Nonetheless, they stop to sleep for the night in Lovelock. By morning, the two locals working the property are dead, and the six renters find themselves at the top of the suspect list and unable to leave to attend their friend's wedding. A mystery regarding the inn's owner and his son's untimely death gradually unravels. An evil spirit inhabiting a box within the inn has been unleashed and now resides in the body of Johnny (Oz Perkins), one of the band of six.

The body count mounts as Johnny converts more and more souls to his cause of death, destruction, and mayhem, leaving the remaining five friends and a few other of Lovelock's stragglers fighting for their lives. They batten down the hatches and pick off as many possessed as they can from the confines of the inn, a la "Night of the Living Dead," making weapons out of whatever they can get their hands on. In the meantime an all-knowing drifter (Brent David Fraser), the sheriff (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), and Melody (Gina Philips) are seeking to get to the heart of the matter by visiting Lovelock's cemetery.

This film has lots to offer to the light-hearted and uncritical horror/slapstick fan. The gore is unsurpassed, and the laughs never let up. The acting is pretty darn good in comparison to other films of this genre. Furthermore, there is a Greek-style chorus (Zach Selwyn as Randall Keith Randall, a gas station attendant) singing rhyming country interludes throughout the films entirety, which, though odd at first, is a hilarious addition to the movie. Nods to previous horror films abound, and any genre aficionado should be able to appreciate that.

Dead and Breakfast may never be up for any fancy awards, it may be a little thin on plot, and may not be, in my opinion, as good as "Shaun of the Dead," but it is still great fun for anyone who can appreciate a jovial romp through puddles of oozing viscera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Self-Aware and Self-Indulgent To Be Real Fun, October 21, 2006
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
What can you say about "Dead & Breakfast"? I picked this up at the store not knowing much about it other than it had a cute title, clever holographic packaging, a few decent reviews and a young, appealing cast. I can say that the charms, unfortunately, of the actual film are relatively limited. Pretty standard fare, really--I didn't necessarily dislike it--I just felt that it was so obvious in its intention.

This film wants to be cool. It was designed to (hopefully) be a cult classic. It wants you to revel in its self-aware kookiness. But that's just the problem. Taking its cues from so many better movies, this is a self-indulgent and unoriginal mess. The cast and filmmakers seem to be having a good time--you know this was a party set. It seems as if they feel that they are doing us a great service by letting us in on the joke. Well, I've heard the joke--so don't do me any favors.

I'm not saying that there aren't some amusing moments--how can you fail with redneck zombies? And musical numbers are always fun. And the TV-ready cast will be familiar to many, even if you can't always place from where.

The movie imagines that it's "Evil Dead 2," but it lacks real cleverness. It works slightly better as a comedy than anything else, but it's hard for me to imagine anyone being captivated by this. KGHarris, 10/06.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slapstick gorefest that never takes itself seriously, September 6, 2005
By 
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
The cast alone makes this movie worth seeing--there's barely a face you won't recognize--Portia de Rossi, John Carradine, the guy from Drew Carey, billy from Six Feet under and Wrong Turn, the girl from the first jeepers Creepers. As for the movie itself, in the first half hour or so, I thought it was a bit too slapstick, but you really have to go with it, because that's exactly what it is--an all out comedy. It's not even so much a "parody" of other horror movies as it is a horror premise that has non-stop humor. Sure, you can see some of the horror nods--Evil Dead 2, Carrie, Creepshow with its comic book still shots--but this movie is totally over the top. Think the airplane movies with a horror theme and buckets o' blood. The entire movie is scored with a sort of hillbilly group and a singer who is basically the narrator of the movie, and he steals the show with his campy lyrics and expressive faces. And, if you get the unrated version, do expect a whole lot of cheesy blood and gore. This one is definitely one I could watch again and again, particularly with groups of friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A weird mix of horror, comedy and one rapping, country zombie-singer, February 19, 2006
By 
A. Sandoc "sussarakhen" (San Pablo, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Dead and Breakfast has to be one of the most off-the-wall, oddball, horror-comedy splatterfest I've seen in quite awhile. The only thing I can think of to compare to would be Peter Jackson's Dead Alive. Some think this also has a feel of Raimi's Evil Dead II, but even Raimi's splatterflick had genuinely scary moments to balance the comedy.

I first read about Dead and Breakfast from Aint-It-Cool-News. I read that it was suppose to be some sort of zombie comedy and America's answer to the excellent British romzomcom (romantic, zombie, comedy) Shaun of the Dead. Well, that was all I needed to hear. I bought the dvd once it was out for sale and I have to say that it got the comedy part right and somewhat the zombie part. The zombie's are more like spirit-possessed people. I saw no gutmunching and limbs being ripped off unless it was the zombies themselves being hacked and chopped to pieces. Dead and Breakfast didn't skimp on the gore and splatter gags. And for a low-budget film most of the gags and gore-effects were pretty well done. But outside of the gore and blood there really wasn't anything scary about the movie to help balance the over-the-top comedy side of things. When I say over-the-top I mean it. There's a whole sequence of zombies busting out into a country line dance number all the tune of a trio of a rap-country zombie band doing a set on-top of an RV. I must say that this movie is weirdly funny.

The acting is typical of most low-budget horror flicks. Though I'm surprised that the quality isn't abit higher with a few young actors who have done better work such as Gina Phillips, Jeremy Sisto, Erik Palladino and David Carradine. I think the actors couldn't decide whether they should act just funny enough and serious when it came to be serious or just be over-the-top. I think if they all just went overboard with their performance it would've added more to this film. If I had to pick a stand-out performance then I'd have to say Erik Palladino's character of the boorish David would fit the bill. He seemed to know that the dialogue wasn't meant to be taken seriously and any of the scenes. He seemed to be one who was having the most fun on the screen.

In the end, Dead and Breakfast is one of those movies that will be seen as a cult hit on the midnight circuit. It'll do well for those Mystery Science Theater 3000-type of movie nights where people watch and add their witty comments with much beer to be had. I really think alcohol consumption would make watching this film a more enjoyable endeavor. There's not much scares to be had for a horror movie, but it sure has a belly-load of laughs, gags, and bloody slapstick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "...performed some kind of black magic type s**t on it.", December 22, 2005
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Had I known that there was going to be some tiresome country & western, rapping Greek chorus guy popping in every few minutes and singing I never would have watched this movie.

What's even worse than the guy beating on a bucket while surrounded by dancing zombies is how clever this movie thinks it is...it's not.

If you're a True Horror Fan who wants his/her horror filled with hate, graphic violence, perverse sex and talent then skip DEAD & BREAKFAST. If you looking for something light then watch RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD again instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I'm a red meat man who likes his films gory", September 10, 2010
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Any zombie movie made with a low budget is inevitably compared to Evil Dead. These comparisons are often made by people who never saw Evil Dead, conflate Evil Dead with Evil Dead II, or lack a sense of humor. Evil Dead II featured claustrophobic confines (the cabin), insane inventions (a chainsaw hand), the unstoppable dead that never shut up (Candorian demons), and - when insane invention meets unstoppable dead - lots and lots of gore.

What made Evil Dead II work was that it was deadly serious one moment and then hilarious the next. Too many horror movies try to emulate Evil Dead II but are so self-aware, so eager to get to the gags, that the horror is lost. Evil Dead II was funny because after a minute of a demon-possessed woman in the basement stretching an elongated, drooling head whispering about swallowing your soul, you WANT someone to cut its head off, to stop the horror.

Dead & Breakfast has its own goofy charm. Instead of being horrifying, it breaks up the narrative with a song. It gleefully intertwines personal drama worthy of Jersey Shore with zombie killing. And zombie hicks. And dancing, we can't forget the dancing.

Claustrophobic confines? This is a bed and breakfast after all. CHECK!

Insane inventions? The survivors create a series of shotguns made out of pipes, nails, and a hammer. CHECK!

Unstoppable dead that never shut up? Oh yes, a demon box known as the Kuman Thong leads to the possession of the living, which makes them unstoppable killing machines. Okay, maybe that's a strong word - more likely partially stoppable stumbling machines. You get the idea.

Gore? Buckets. CHECK!

There are twists in the movie that go beyond the traditional zombie battle. Because the demon box needs a piece of a person to gain control over them, the zombies eagerly try to grab snippets of hair or blood to place in the box. When they do, it's all over. Weird characters you expect to be important die. And for some reason Diedrich Bader speaks with a French accent.

Dead & Breakfast isn't always consistently funny. But the pacing is such that when things slow down, we have a clever tune, people screaming, or zombies being blown up to keep things moving.

Is Dead & Breakfast as good as Evil Dead II? No. But it's definitely as good as the Evil Dead musical. And that's all you can ask for from a zombie movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars heed the warning on the (inside) label..., March 19, 2009
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
The tag line on the inside cover of the movie (left off the lenticular slip cover) says: "Dead & Breakfast. It's Like a Bad Movie...Only Worse!" They get a second star if only for truth in advertising.

The cover also says "The best independent horror movie of the year" and "...The U.S. answer to Shaun of the Dead". Well, Shaun of the Dead was a 2004 movie and this movie doesn't come anywhere near that level.

The jokes are flat, often slapstick, but also very often difficult to notice as jokes at all. The acting is bad (fairly normal for a horror movie) and the plot is basic if not bad. There are a bunch of scenes in the movie which make no sense whatsoever...the kind of stuff that should've been left on the cutting room floor. If that was suppose to parody horror movies, they missed the mark. The best thing about this movie is the gore which is so-so at best.

Another reviewer said that the hope that this movie will get better makes it worse to experience...that is almost exactly how i felt. Except by a third of the way through it was clear to me that it wasn't going to get better. I watched the rest out of morbid curiosity. I've seen a number of really bad horror movies. I even enjoy some of them. This was boring, plain and simple. Barely watchable and simply not funny at all.

There may be people who like this movie...there is a very country feeling to it. It may appeal to country music fans and people who like Jeff Foxworthy and Larry the Cable Guy kind've humor (frankly I'm surprised they didn't show up as cameos in the movie). The rest of the world should steer clear of this. If you want more of Shaun of the Dead....this is nothing like it! Not even Mystery Science Theater good.

It was good to see David Carradine again. A star for him, the best actor in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One kill is very cymballic, June 10, 2010
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
When a character utters the line, "This is like a bad horror movie," you know it's either a blend of horror-comedy, or just a really bad movie. In this instance it's both, but with just enough action, gore, comedy and casting to keep it from being unbearable, and may even more.

You've heard, read, and seen it before...group of young, attractive 20-somethings - Kate (Bianca Lawson - Save the Last Dance), David (Erik Palladino - U571), Johnny (Oz Perkins - Legally Blonde), Christian (Jeremy Sisto - Wrong Turn), Sara (Ever Carradine), Melody (Gina Phillips - Jeepers Creepers) - goes to hick town and stays at a B&B owned by Mr. Wise (David Carradine) where an evil spirit in an ancient Chinese box is accidentally released.

Mostly gore (tons of gore) and gags follow, enough oddball moments and jokes to entertain - and spur the unfortunate comparisons to Shaun of the Dead - and enough respect paid to the horror genre, mainly of the zombie variety, that aficionados will be pleased with the results. Most mainstream audiences will probably not enjoy the movie, but the bizarre moments (e.g. a severed head ventriloquism routine and a bumbling voodoo spell) should keep most until the end. Add in a homage to Creepshow and a country-rap fusion by Zach Selwyn who serves as the film's narrator, and it's an experience, despite a subpar script and moments of questionable acting/directing - that starts slowly but builds towards an enjoyable end.

Jason Elin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little late for heroics, don't you think?, October 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Most film fanatics will hate this film. Why? Because follows a simple pattern that nearly seems tired and overused in most pho-horror film created. While that may be the case, in Dead & Breakfast, at least for me, it worked. From the inspirational comic beginning (a bit of foreshadowing) to the slack-jawed narrator that sings us through the motions, I enjoyed this film. It was funny, it was gutsy (literally), and it was dumbening all at the same time ... but in a very good way! It was a simple story, with plenty of laughs, that borrowed (never say "stole") several of its jokes from other horror films of the same caliber like Evil Dead and Dead Alive. It was refreshing to see a modern tale that paid homage to such great films that literally built the foundation on which this film could be made. While some have been arguing that this is the US version of Shaun of the Dead, I thought this was a completely different film. Shaun was smarter than this film, but that doesn't mean this was bad. I don't think I would put these two films on the same playing field. They were similar, but both likeable in different ways.

Zombies invade a town, strangers must stop them. If you have seen a horror film before, than you have seen Dead & Breakfast. There is nothing new to this story. I could count all day the number of films that follow this structure, but what gave this film the pizzazz that it needed were the actors and the characters that they played. I loved the characters. I thought that Jeffrey Dean Morgan (the one that played the Sheriff) was hysterical and really kept the story flowing, while Brent David Fraser played his clichéd part perfectly. The intermittent use of seemingly "famous" people like Portia de Rossi, David Carradine, and Diedrich Bader only increased the fun of this film. I have spoken in other reviews on how you can tell when actors are not having fun with the film they are making. You can see their disgust in their performances, but in Dead & Breakfast everyone seemed to be having a blast. Sure, you are not going to find Oscar winning performances here, but that is not the reason for watching this film. I watched to laugh, to be grossed out, and to have fun ... that is what exactly happened thanks to such a sharp group of actors.

Part of the structure that I thought was creative and original was the use of the narrator in this film. The choice to combine the country music with the hillbilly zombies was hysterical. One of my favorite scenes of this film was when we broke to one of his narrated moments and all of the zombies broke out into a line-dance. It had me rolling in my seat. I realize that it is not the highest form of comedy, but just the overall wackiness of the situation kept my interest high and eyes glued to the screen. I think that is what won me over on this film. The use of recycled originality, the idea that you knew what was going to happen, yet you really didn't know "how" it was going to happen. Perhaps I was just glued to the graphic nature of this film, a la Sin City complex, but I think it was more than that. It was the comedy, the zaniness of the characters coupled with the "borrowed" moments from other classic horror films placed Dead & Breakfast above some of the bigger budgeted horror films that lure pre-teens in with the promise of Paris Hilton. This film had little nudity, plenty of gore, and tons over tons of laughs. Exactly what I needed!

Overall, I thought this was a great Halloween film. If you are going to gather some friends and want to be scared, I don't suggest this film. If you are looking to gather some friends, enjoy a drink, laugh quite a bit, and find yourself perhaps even quoting some of the lines after the film, than this is right up your alley. I would not be surprised if this film eventually fell into the seemingly difficult status of "cult" relatively soon. With the proper word of mouth, the ability to laugh at the horror of this film, and just the overall way that it was filmed I think it will do well on the small screen. I really liked this film. I realize that I may be in the minority, but I thought for a smaller budgeted film, it beat the pants off some of the higher grossing horror films. Buy it, rent it, enjoy it with friends, but I think Dead & Breakfast is a perfect Halloween treat!

Grade: **** out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be zero stars., April 15, 2007
By 
Jonathan Heckman "Taste 4 Whiskey" (Hummelstown, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead and Breakfast (DVD)
This movie is so terrible it's hard to explain. I saw this when it first came out, my brother rented it because it said Shaun of the Dead on the cover. My brother is fooled easily, that would have been the red flag that would have made me NOT rent this crap. I remember watching it and thinking, when does this get funny, when will I like a character, when will it get even a couple miles in range of being scary? This "movie", full of it's lame overdone plot and crap actors reciting crap lines is just another movie that should be forgotten by everyone. Sadly, "horror" fans will cling to this trash because the classics just aren't good enough. Don't rent this, don't buy this, don't even look at the cover! Don't make me regret wasting my time writing about this turd of a film. I wish I was a billionaire so I could buy every copy and burn them all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition)
Dead and Breakfast (Unrated Edition) by Matthew Leutwyler (DVD - 2005)
$30.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.