Customer Reviews


1,520 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,244)
4 star:
 (131)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


239 of 257 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On Demand Versions Not Same As DVD, is Censored
The DVD version of Breaking Bad is uncensored. Amazon VOD is not. There is no additional content but certain words are not blanked out and certain screens are not blurred. I don't want to give examples since that would create spoilers, but you'll see the differences in the pilot episode at a minimum.
Published on June 15, 2010 by C. Jordan

versus
214 of 244 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: this is an edited version -- NOT as originally aired
It's disappointing to pay money for a TV series only to find it has been re-edited inexplicably for distribution, presumably on Amazon. (?)

While I can live without the F-words and frontal nudity, it is exceedingly annoying to have paid for this without a single hint of this modification to the production as it was originally intended to be viewed...
Published 15 months ago by Rob Penn


‹ Previous | 1 2152 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

239 of 257 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On Demand Versions Not Same As DVD, is Censored, June 15, 2010
The DVD version of Breaking Bad is uncensored. Amazon VOD is not. There is no additional content but certain words are not blanked out and certain screens are not blurred. I don't want to give examples since that would create spoilers, but you'll see the differences in the pilot episode at a minimum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


287 of 323 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, October 17, 2008
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 (DVD)
I think many, when looking at the main star of this show (Bryan Cranston) will have only really been familiar with him from Malcolm In The Middle. He played Hal, a simple Dad with simple values and an unbeatable love for his family. Who would have thought that he can take a character with the same basic love of his family and create something incredibly unique from that. In Breaking Bad, Bryan Cranston plays Chemistry professor Walter White who's married with a handicap son who suffers from Cerebral Palsy and a child on the way.
One day Walter is hit with the ultimate bombshell as he finds he has inoperable lung cancer and has little time left to live. Walter realises that he can't assure his families financial security for the little time he has left being a teacher. He hears about a raid on a crystal meth lab that seizes millions of dollars worth of drugs which he decides that he must be a part of that. He knows how to make the best crystal meth ever seen, but not how to get it on the streets which is why he must enlist the help of his former student and drug pusher Jesse Pinkman (Aaron Paul).

I honestly didn't have high hopes for this show as, although I'm a huge fan of Bryan Cranston for his work on Malcolm In The Middle, I struggled to believe he could pull off such a train wreck of a character. The family is a typical middle class American family struggling to take care of their disabled son trying to make him have as normal a life as possible. In a way I can relate to the situation as I'm disabled myself and know how much of a strain it can be on parents. Sure, it's not the same disability, but the family struggling through it is definitely displayed well and R.J. Mitte as Walter Jr. is an excellent fit. Although I'm betting he was only cast because he too has Cerebral Palsy, he still fits the bill and plays the character brilliantly.

Fantastic, fantastic show. I don't want to tell you much about the seasons events as it is quite short and risks spoiling certain events. I have to tell you that there are times in which this show doesn't hold back. It has no qualms about showing you the brutality of a broken man fighting against his own sense of morality, joining the drug world and even dealing with the fact that he killed a guy. Oh and obviously he's dying and is reminded of that from time to time but it's certainly gelled together brilliantly.

Just to wrap it up I can only really say this TV show is amazing in every way and I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Bryan Cranston is a very underrated actor, but he's determined to prove himself for which he does a terrific job. When this DVD set comes out in the UK I'll certainly be one of the first to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


214 of 244 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: this is an edited version -- NOT as originally aired, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's disappointing to pay money for a TV series only to find it has been re-edited inexplicably for distribution, presumably on Amazon. (?)

While I can live without the F-words and frontal nudity, it is exceedingly annoying to have paid for this without a single hint of this modification to the production as it was originally intended to be viewed.

Plus...complete silences inserted over adult language? Really?

My Vote: Do NOT spend your money. Purchase the DVD, BluRay or get it through NetFlix.

:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 157 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't want TV-14 Version!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
WOW! After watching this on AMC and hearing all sorts of language, I was very surprised to have the F-word bleeped out, especially after the main character just grabbed himself and said shine this! There is also a scene where a women's breasts are pixeled out. I'm 52 and feel cheated, I don't want my TV censored and for that I give it 1 star, I could not truly appreciate the show with parts of the dialogue bleeped out. I seriously doubt that I'll be buying the other seasons via Amazon or if it's all VOD then I'll have to do DVD's or just not bother at all.

Amazon should state somewhere that you are buying a censored version, if they had I would not have bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Season Barely Breaks The Surface, March 9, 2009
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 (DVD)
First I want to say that this series is great and if you haven't seen it yet or are unsure about it, the second season is currently airing on AMC, so try to catch a few of them to get a better understanding. If you like those episodes or if you're one of the people who already love this series then this DVD boxed set is for you. It contains the complete first season of AMC's Breaking Bad in seven one hour long episodes.

In short the plot is a more serious Bryan Cranston than we've seen playing chemistry teacher Walter White, who gets diagnosed with cancer. With a son, Walter Jr, who is disabled and a wife, Skyler, who is pregnant with her second child in her late thirties he decides the best way to take care of his family is to start making crystal meth with one of his old dead beat students, Jesse. The further he goes to try and provide for his family the darker and more complicated his life becomes with crazy drug dealer's, increasing extended family issues with his wife's sister, Marie, and to top it off a bother in law, Hank, who is a Drug Enforcement Administration Officer.

The episodes found on this set are:

Ep 1: Pilot - Walter White is a high school chemistry teacher who learns that he has lung cancer. With a new lease on life, Walter becomes a drug dealer to secure his family's financial security.
Aired: 1/20/2008

Ep 2: Cat's in the Bag... - Following their debacle in the desert, Walter and Jesse are left with a mess to dispose of. Later, Skyler grows suspicious of Walt's recent activity.
Aired: 1/27/2008

Ep 3: ...and the Bag's in the River - Walter is left to deal with Krazy-8 alone following an argument with Jesse. After Marie raises concerns that Walt Jr. is smoking cannabis, Hank shows him the dangers of drug use.
Aired: 2/10/2008

Ep 4: Cancer Man - The DEA becomes suspicious of a new drug kingpin. Walt reveals that he has cancer to Marie and Hank. Elsewhere, Jesse visits his estranged family.
Aired: 2/17/2008

Ep 5: Gray Matter - Walter and Skyler attend a former colleague's party. Jesse tries free himself from the drugs. Later, Skyler organizes an intervention for Walt.
Aired: 2/24/2008

Ep 6: Crazy Handful of Nothin' - The side effects of chemo begin to plague Walt, who is also cooking meth again. Jesse's friend, Skinny Pete, introduces him to a distributor named Tuco, but things go awry and Jesse ends up hospitalised.
Aired: 3/2/2008

Ep 7: A No-Rough-Stuff Type Deal - Walter accepts his new identity as a drug dealer after a PTA meeting. Elsewhere, Jesse decides to put his aunt's house on the market, and Skyler is the recipient of a baby shower.
Aired: 3/9/2008

Some people have said that the new season has taken too long to air but they must not realize AMC and HBO take a year between seasons of all their big shows. The second season is currently airing (started March 8th 2009), which happens to be one year after the first. Only the first episode into the second season and already it's become more riveting, intense, dramatic and complex than the first season. The second season premiere really left us with a shocking ending that leaves one eagerly awaiting how the rest of the season will follow.

I feel this show and the quality being put into it will help make it the next version of the Wire, while Mad Men is more like the equivilant to the next version of Sopranos yet both shows are something entirely of their own. I suggest fans of television that is made like movies give both these series a try. Breaking Bad's first season barely broke the surface of these character's and the storyline possibilties they hold. Thanks for your time.

*Rather than clutter up the review page I have listed the special features included with this set in my comments section for those wondering about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dangerously addictive, April 15, 2010
Great writing, acting, directing, everything is awesome about this show. Dark subject matter yes, but it's counterbalanced by hilarious, uplifting, fantastically written moments. Bryan Cranston is so great in this. This show is my addiction. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars censored.., October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would have never bought the season if I new it was a censored version. I
Will be watching the other seasons somewhere else. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Meth ok; swearing not?, September 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Seriously. Amazon finds it wholey acceptable to show meth production, murder and a wide swath of crime, but no swearing. The show is fine but for Amazon to make such a perverse decision for their viewers is beyond comprehension. Are they saying so long as you clean up the language the show is suitable for kids or are they saying adults shouldn't have to listen to foul language while they enjoy a jaunt into methland? Weird and idiotic reasoning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is a homerun for AMC and the viewers too!, January 1, 2009
By 
Jon L. Bullard (Okla(boring)homa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 (DVD)
Everything these reviews are saying about this show is true. It is different from anything else on TV. My father told me about it (he dosen't even watch much television of any sort). It didn't sound like something I would be interested in but I gave it a shot. I was glad I did. Me and my girlfriend watched episode after episode and we were shocked at how it "pulled us in". We couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next! One thing that everyone else fails to mention in these reviews is the brilliant camera work. It adds something to an already great story. Just pay attention to some of the camera shots in this show. This show is absolutely levels above the other stuff that everyone else is hooked on. Kudos to AMC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS HERE, October 1, 2013
By 
D. leonard (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
THIS IS A CENSORED VERSION--AMAZON DARES TO MESS WITH THE CREATORS' ARTISTRY. BOYCOTT AMAZON VIDEO. HOW DARE THEY? WATCH IT ON DEMAND, OR BETTER YET, ON DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2152 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Breaking Bad: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Breaking Bad: Season 1 [Blu-ray] by Vince Gilligan (Blu-ray - 2010)
$30.99 $15.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.