Customer Reviews


800 Reviews
5 star:
 (707)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as The Shield and The Sopranos
I'll try to keep this short. If you've read the other reviews, you know the premise of the show. It has received many accolades and some awards. But you know what, there are many really good shows out there now, and it can be hard to keep up with all of them. So if you are still undecided as to whether this show is worth an investment of your time and money, I hope this...
Published on November 15, 2009 by William Martin

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOVE Breaking Bad, But...
Okay, I am going to go against the grain of other reviewers here and (without spoilers) give you the true scoop on Season 2. As we all recall, Season 1 was more than riveting, it was groundbreaking storytelling at its finest. Season 2 starts off this way and then takes a sharp decline. It is almost as if the first three episodes and the last three episodes of Season 2...
Published 23 months ago by TrailsEndWild


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as The Shield and The Sopranos, November 15, 2009
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
I'll try to keep this short. If you've read the other reviews, you know the premise of the show. It has received many accolades and some awards. But you know what, there are many really good shows out there now, and it can be hard to keep up with all of them. So if you are still undecided as to whether this show is worth an investment of your time and money, I hope this helps.

If are an avid fan of the Sopranos and The Shield, you will love Breaking Bad.

Do you remember how both of those shows would, at their very best, leave you staring at the screen, with your heart pounding, saying to yourself "Holy S---"? Well, there are moments like that in Breaking Bad. Like the Sopranos, it effectively mixes dark comedy and violence. Like The Shield, it has episodes and plotlines that are incredibly intense. And like both of those shows, it features a protagonist leading a double life. The performance of Bryan Cranston, like those of James Gandolfini and Micheal Chiklis is one of the finest ever seen on televison. Your move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing on TV these days, September 30, 2009
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
I watch A LOT of TV and I can honestly say there has never been a show that was so riveting and so gripping from beginning to end as Breaking Bad. This show is a masterpiece through and through.

During the first season, we come to see how Bryan Cranston's character (acted brilliantly, by the way) could not be any more desperate. And just when you think things couldn't get more low, in comes season two with more problems and more desperation.

I won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't seen this season, but my God, if you haven't seen it, get this DVD collection it will be so worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpasses the first in every way, June 14, 2009
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
Now that everything was established in the short first season (writers strike) the second season gets things really going.

I will not spoil but I will say this show is now falling into history. It's one of the greatest shows of all time and will most likely only get better from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series of all time?, October 3, 2011
By 
Marc Schoenen (Silicon Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
In a nutshell, the story is about a high school chemistry teacher/husband/father who finds out he has terminal cancer. Realizing his family will be burdened beyond belief after his death, he sets out to secure their financial future by cooking and selling crystal meth with what little time he has left. Encountering all the problems one would expect from the situation, he seeks out and employs a former student of his who is a small-time CM dealer/user, all while trying to keep his cancer and newfound "hobby" a secret from his wife and DEA agent brother-in-law.

The writing is superb. Just further proving that all of the best creative work right now is in 60-minute TV, not films. The acting is fantastic - Bryan Cranston walks away with the Best TV Actor award each year. The show is also far and away above all others in their artistic use of light and camera.

But here's the thing: I've never seen a better "save the cat" show in my life. It's one thing for a show to place their characters in seemingly impossible situations but it's an entirely different thing to be able to creatively get the characters out all while maintaining believability. Despite the absolutely absurd situations these characters put themselves in, at no point do you question their motives or their decision making.

Yes, this is what would happen if this person tried to do this. Yes, this is how they would behave.

And it's always nothing short of fascinating.

I originally thought they would take a more absurdist/comedic POV to the story but, to my surprise, they went in the opposite direction. The story goes to some very dark, very real places. There were points in season 2 (I watched seasons 1 & 2 on DVD) when I had to pause the show and walk away from it for 5-10 minutes because it was simply too intense.

Fair warning: as good as the writing and acting are this show probably isn't for the ultra squeamish. How would a high school chemistry teacher dispose of a body? What would such a person realistically have to do to become a major drug player? The creators don't dodge any questions and don't make it easy on the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best drama I've watched in years, June 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Many people I know will say that Mad Men is the best drama on AMC and TV in general. Honestly, I enjoy Breaking Bad much more than Mad Men, especially the second season. While Mad Men is a great show that makes you feel like you are in the time period, Breaking Bad offers the full spectrum of entertainment. Awesome acting, gripping storyline, funny moments, action packed scenes (from time to time), and the list goes on and on. I feel that this series is a must watch for anyone who enjoys drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV, July 15, 2010
By 
Eydie Jerome (Goodyear, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
If you thought season 1 was great, wait til you see season 2 (and season 3!). This show just keeps getting better and better. Great acting by all, especially Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston and fantastic writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad Seasons 1 and 2, September 2, 2009
This is the very best program on television I've had the pleasure in seeing in years. I am not, nor know anyone who is a meth user but am riveted by this show.
AMC's "Breaking Bad" is extremely well written. The Emmy Brian ("Walt, Heizenburg") won for best TV actor last year was well earned. I only wish Brian and Aaron Paul (Jesse Pinkman) could both win the Emmy for this seasons top prize, however only one can receive that coveted award.
Thanks for listening and Blessy Heart! Saffernellie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First season better -- but fantastic just the same, June 22, 2011
Emotionally and socially accurate. What happens matches reality. But with a black-humor twist. First season had more optimism and action than second season. Picture's not quite so rosy -- but the show is just as addictive as the meth they cook. Slamming boring suburban life against high-octane drug dealer adventures, and watching the characters mature, their personalities grow, is awe inspiring in its brilliance and highly entertaining. Throw in loser side-kick with street smarts against socially challenged brilliant scientist, and you get someone like me spending this much time writing a review because it's so good I want to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cryptic title makes sense in the end, August 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Since the first episode of season 2, there have been hints of some kind of catastrophe that is to come. I was relieved to have an answer, though perhaps not the kind of answer I was looking for. I have no intention of spoiling it for anyone, but will assure you that the season 2 finale will likely leave you wanting to come back for season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad Shatters Television, September 18, 2009
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
I wrote a rave review for the first season because of how incredible and sublimely perfect it was. I also pondered whether or not that kind of magic can be duplicated, and feared season 2 would have to be a letdown after a blockbuster first season.

I was so wrong. Season 2 blew season 1 out of the water. It was better in so many ways. Aaron Paul deserved the Emmy nomination because he was fantastic, Cranston once again was light years better than any performance you will see on tv. The editing, cinematography, music cues, scene location, and direction were just so perfectly blended. Everything about season 2 was great.

But it starts with the story, of course. And naturally youre left, after season 1's finale, wondering what direction the show is going to careen off into and carry a mesmerized audience. The conclusion of season 1 left us with a pretty good idea of what was going to happen, and then season 2 went break-neck speed further past that and well beyond. I was stunned at how beautiful and tragic some of the character developments evolved, such as the scene where Jesse's girlfriend dies, the scene just prior to where Walt is at the bar with (unknowingly) the girls father, and then the action Walt takes to save Jesse from his despair. Its madness and yet its so touching. Definitely one of my favorite sequences.

Or the scene where Tuco has Jesse at gunpoint and Jesse mans up and truly breaks bad by actually overpowering the lunatic Tuco. Real solid character development that had me howling for Jesse's triumph.

You can have your reality tv, your lame game shows, your crime dramas your adult swim whatever. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING compares to this masterpiece. There has never been a show so engaging, thrilling and groundbreaking as this show, and you will never see a show like this as long as you live. Everything pales in comparison, so enjoy this ride while it lasts, because it seems to me Season 3 may just be the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Breaking Bad: Season 2 [Blu-ray]
Breaking Bad: Season 2 [Blu-ray] by Bryan Cranston (Blu-ray - 2010)
$30.99 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.