Customer Reviews


914 Reviews
5 star:
 (805)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


137 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as The Shield and The Sopranos
I'll try to keep this short. If you've read the other reviews, you know the premise of the show. It has received many accolades and some awards. But you know what, there are many really good shows out there now, and it can be hard to keep up with all of them. So if you are still undecided as to whether this show is worth an investment of your time and money, I hope this...
Published on November 15, 2009 by William Martin

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOVE Breaking Bad, But...
Okay, I am going to go against the grain of other reviewers here and (without spoilers) give you the true scoop on Season 2. As we all recall, Season 1 was more than riveting, it was groundbreaking storytelling at its finest. Season 2 starts off this way and then takes a sharp decline. It is almost as if the first three episodes and the last three episodes of Season 2...
Published on August 23, 2012 by TrailsEndWild


‹ Previous | 1 292 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

137 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as The Shield and The Sopranos, November 15, 2009
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
I'll try to keep this short. If you've read the other reviews, you know the premise of the show. It has received many accolades and some awards. But you know what, there are many really good shows out there now, and it can be hard to keep up with all of them. So if you are still undecided as to whether this show is worth an investment of your time and money, I hope this helps.

If are an avid fan of the Sopranos and The Shield, you will love Breaking Bad.

Do you remember how both of those shows would, at their very best, leave you staring at the screen, with your heart pounding, saying to yourself "Holy S---"? Well, there are moments like that in Breaking Bad. Like the Sopranos, it effectively mixes dark comedy and violence. Like The Shield, it has episodes and plotlines that are incredibly intense. And like both of those shows, it features a protagonist leading a double life. The performance of Bryan Cranston, like those of James Gandolfini and Micheal Chiklis is one of the finest ever seen on televison. Your move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing on TV these days, September 30, 2009
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
I watch A LOT of TV and I can honestly say there has never been a show that was so riveting and so gripping from beginning to end as Breaking Bad. This show is a masterpiece through and through.

During the first season, we come to see how Bryan Cranston's character (acted brilliantly, by the way) could not be any more desperate. And just when you think things couldn't get more low, in comes season two with more problems and more desperation.

I won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't seen this season, but my God, if you haven't seen it, get this DVD collection it will be so worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpasses the first in every way, June 14, 2009
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
Now that everything was established in the short first season (writers strike) the second season gets things really going.

I will not spoil but I will say this show is now falling into history. It's one of the greatest shows of all time and will most likely only get better from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series of all time?, October 3, 2011
By 
Marc Schoenen (Silicon Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
In a nutshell, the story is about a high school chemistry teacher/husband/father who finds out he has terminal cancer. Realizing his family will be burdened beyond belief after his death, he sets out to secure their financial future by cooking and selling crystal meth with what little time he has left. Encountering all the problems one would expect from the situation, he seeks out and employs a former student of his who is a small-time CM dealer/user, all while trying to keep his cancer and newfound "hobby" a secret from his wife and DEA agent brother-in-law.

The writing is superb. Just further proving that all of the best creative work right now is in 60-minute TV, not films. The acting is fantastic - Bryan Cranston walks away with the Best TV Actor award each year. The show is also far and away above all others in their artistic use of light and camera.

But here's the thing: I've never seen a better "save the cat" show in my life. It's one thing for a show to place their characters in seemingly impossible situations but it's an entirely different thing to be able to creatively get the characters out all while maintaining believability. Despite the absolutely absurd situations these characters put themselves in, at no point do you question their motives or their decision making.

Yes, this is what would happen if this person tried to do this. Yes, this is how they would behave.

And it's always nothing short of fascinating.

I originally thought they would take a more absurdist/comedic POV to the story but, to my surprise, they went in the opposite direction. The story goes to some very dark, very real places. There were points in season 2 (I watched seasons 1 & 2 on DVD) when I had to pause the show and walk away from it for 5-10 minutes because it was simply too intense.

Fair warning: as good as the writing and acting are this show probably isn't for the ultra squeamish. How would a high school chemistry teacher dispose of a body? What would such a person realistically have to do to become a major drug player? The creators don't dodge any questions and don't make it easy on the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best drama I've watched in years, June 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Many people I know will say that Mad Men is the best drama on AMC and TV in general. Honestly, I enjoy Breaking Bad much more than Mad Men, especially the second season. While Mad Men is a great show that makes you feel like you are in the time period, Breaking Bad offers the full spectrum of entertainment. Awesome acting, gripping storyline, funny moments, action packed scenes (from time to time), and the list goes on and on. I feel that this series is a must watch for anyone who enjoys drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking Bad Seasons 1 and 2, September 2, 2009
This is the very best program on television I've had the pleasure in seeing in years. I am not, nor know anyone who is a meth user but am riveted by this show.
AMC's "Breaking Bad" is extremely well written. The Emmy Brian ("Walt, Heizenburg") won for best TV actor last year was well earned. I only wish Brian and Aaron Paul (Jesse Pinkman) could both win the Emmy for this seasons top prize, however only one can receive that coveted award.
Thanks for listening and Blessy Heart! Saffernellie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best TV, July 15, 2010
By 
Eydie Jerome (Goodyear, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
If you thought season 1 was great, wait til you see season 2 (and season 3!). This show just keeps getting better and better. Great acting by all, especially Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston and fantastic writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First season better -- but fantastic just the same, June 22, 2011
Emotionally and socially accurate. What happens matches reality. But with a black-humor twist. First season had more optimism and action than second season. Picture's not quite so rosy -- but the show is just as addictive as the meth they cook. Slamming boring suburban life against high-octane drug dealer adventures, and watching the characters mature, their personalities grow, is awe inspiring in its brilliance and highly entertaining. Throw in loser side-kick with street smarts against socially challenged brilliant scientist, and you get someone like me spending this much time writing a review because it's so good I want to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Stay out of my territory...", April 13, 2010
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It didn't take long for me to come to the conclusion that "Breaking Bad" is one of the best shows I've seen since HBO's "The Wire," and that's no easy feat considering I came to this realization during the first season that was only 7 episodes long (due to the writer's strike). Those 7 episodes were more than enough to get me hooked. Well, I have finished the second season and I still hold that very same conclusion. This season is longer, darker and even more devastating--while still containing all of the dark comedy/humor of Season 1.

I'm not going to go into a long synopsis of the show or season. There are a lot of surprises and secrets and I would never forgive myself for giving any of them away. I will be brief about describing the season: Walt and Jesse get deeper and deeper into the dark and unforgiving drug world that knows of no innocent victims, and every step of the way only gives way to more complications and dangerous predicaments. While Walt has always participated in this new illegal enterprise with the only reason being that he wants his family to have something after he dies (especially with a new bouncing baby on the way), his moral compass is pushed further and further and he starts to realize that there is a part of him, as much as he doesn't want to admit it, that actually enjoys doing it. With this season it is more difficult than ever to continue with the lies to keep his family out of the loop... not to mention, keeping them safe. This season, it's all about chain reactions. Every act can, and will, create a consequence.

Once again, I found myself invested with the storylines and characters. I don't think there is an episode where I didn't feel some kind of tension or fear for what could happen next. A show like this is very hard to pull off and it would be impossible to do so if it wasn't for the terrific writing, directing and casting. Bryan Cranston is a force to be reckoned with and although his character is growing darker and scarier layers, he is still very much human and you care about him even if he's doing terrible things. He's not some emotionless or flat character who craves power, and that's what makes the transformation all the more terrifying and heartbreaking. I also have to say that even though he was outstanding in the first season, Aaron Paul really shines more than ever as "Pinkman" in Season 2 and there is an episode called "Peekaboo" where he completely owns every frame. It is one of his best performances ever and this is his best season.

The Blu Ray editon of Season 2 looks and sounds fantastic. There are TONS of extra features to play around with such as commentary, a number of behind-the-scenes featurettes, webisodes and much, much more. You won't find this package to be lacking, that much is for sure.

The second season of "Breaking Bad" once again shows us a show that doesn't cut corners or slack in any way. Every episode is engaging, tense and masterful. The show continues to be filled with drama, suspense and humor. If you were a fan of the first season then chances are that you will love what lies ahead in Season 2. Moving up in the drug world ain't easy, and Walt and Jesse are about to find that out the hard way. A+ material all the way! - Michael Crane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rises to new heights, December 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 2 (DVD)
What do you get when you take a series that had a great first season, and add it up with its downright brilliant second season? The best damn thing on TV, is what you get.

Vince Gilligan and his crew created something original and daring, I was aware of that the first time I saw the pilot episode. I was immediately fascinated by the use of camera, the clever editing and of course the beautiful scenery - which very quickly became a character of its own.

You get all those things in season two as well, but in addition the writing is as deep as it only is on one other show on TV right now(Mad Men). It's just an entirely different level.
The subject only got uglier this season, there are multiple scenes that are painful to watch, which is a testimonial to the writing and the acting alone - it feels incredibly real, and it is truly gut-wrenching.

Every character has its place in this season. Not only Walt and Jesse are the ones being developed, no, Hank, Marie, Skyler, to name a few, they all are very carefully written and not just being used as meaningless additions to fill some empty spots. Walt's continuing involvement with the drug world drives him further away from his wife Skyler, as he stays out longer and more frequent with no explanations or explanations that are obvious and demeaning lies. This makes for some very powerful scenes.
Hank's career takes an unexpected turn, and becomes surprisingly interesting as he struggles with some shocking events he had to experience - all due to Walt.

The performances by Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul are spectacular. This season is a lot more serious than the first. It's a process that began with the very first episode. Walt got himself into a world of trouble and he seems to be pulling down everyone around him, and this season showed some results of that already. This process the actors of course have to adapt to as well, and boy do they adapt fast and flawlessly. Aaron Paul is the breakout star of this season, it's not an easy job to shine when you have to work alongside an actor like Bryan Cranston, but he does. It's a given that both their Emmy nominations, respectively wins, were highly deserved.

There is too much to write about here, this season is packed with brilliant moments. I can obviously not address them all. Let me just say if they manage to continue on this level of quality, Breaking Bad will go down in history as one of the greatest shows of all time, up there with The Sopranos and the likes.

Spread the word, this one's a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 292 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Breaking Bad: Season 2 [Blu-ray]
Breaking Bad: Season 2 [Blu-ray] by Bryan Cranston (Blu-ray - 2010)
$30.99 $14.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.