Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may be 2006 but it feels a lot more like it's 4 A.D.
Like clockwork Ronny Moorings and the Clan from Amsterdam have synthesized yet another melodic masterpiece and while Xymox appears to have found its North American home on the Metropolis label, there is no mistake that this is indeed the Clan of Xymox circa the 4 A.D. years. Breaking Point is an eclectic fusion of both modern and classic styles with memorable...
Published on April 25, 2006 by Dave Cordes

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not great.
I have been a fan of Xymox for years now so it's no suprise that I am not a huge fan of their new stuff. I hated Notes from the underground and Farewell. After listening to this one I think it is a little better than Farewell. Although it is kind of boring. It doesn't really seem to go anywhere, it just kind of lags on and on to the point where I just kept hitting the...
Published on April 26, 2006 by Robert E. Hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homage to their 4AD-era roots, May 21, 2006
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
Before "Breaking Point", Ronny Mooring's second incarnation of Clan of Xymox left the world at a strange point. With the acclaimed last album boasting the title of "Farewell" with a greatest hits compilation fast on its heals, many read it as a signal to their end. Like a terrific concert, it was a moment where they left the stage, leaving the audience howling for an encore.

If anything, it seems like Xymox themselves were rather surprised that people didn't automatically expect for them to return.

The disc begins with a red herring dance track, the electro-crossover single "Weak In My Knees".

Its urgent and steady drum machine bristles with club floor energy, driven further into the electronic terrain by sharp stabbing synth notes and fluttering flanged arpeggios.

While these elements certainly dominate, jagged guitars still demand that their presence is known alongside Mooring's own deep baritone fog.

"Calling You Out" stalks in with a sitar-like strum, Mooring's vocals floating like incense over icy synth textures. Sneakily, it then changes gear to reveal its gothic rock core, its rhythm doubling in pace and augmented by a distinct guitar riff. However, while these tracks are a lot of fun, some may arch a brow wondering if Xymox has abandoned their darkwave roots in favor of thumping accessibility.

"Cynara" is a stand-out moment of sorrow. While nerve-rattling synths pierce through its moping bass keyboard lurch and heart-heavy vocals, its hit perfection as it drifts into a dismal dirge accented by Mooring's pain voice and aloof electric guitar.

Another nice surprise is "She's Dangerous", which focuses its motif on acoustic guitar, its notes shimmying like a specter from the shoegazing eighties. With dramatic flamenco- inflection in its bridge, it still remains in Xymox's gothic haze while offering something unique. The acoustic lingers as a pensive footnote within "Eternally", an atmospheric and wistful interlude, a haunted moment in autumn with breezes of forlorn synth caressing the slow drip of Mooring's somber ruminations.

Yet, even while the sensual synthetic shadows loom with "Breaking Point", Mooring's Clan recognize and harvest those gossamer tendrils that dangle between the beat-intensive and their emotive moments of gloom. "What's Going On" has a distinct bass and whip-crack snare stride and a swaggering electroclash synth riff, yet it is shrouded by Mooring's melancholy pleas as well as the sultry sway of cinematic strings.

Another point of interest is the smoky ballad, "Be My Friend". While stanzas are punctuated by bursts of oft-sampled opera "Carmina Burnana", these staccato soprano valkyries only enhance the restrained capering drum machine and it jangling and pensive guitar.

Considering this disc comes from the band's twenty-second year in their career, it is amazing that Moorings and company can still create such fresh and engaging songs album after album. While none of the tracks reach the hook-laden zenith of "Farewell's" single, "There's No Tomorrow", it is nonetheless a very consistent new chapter that finally pays homage to their 4AD-era roots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally addictive, July 23, 2006
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
A breaking point you say?Well , not entirely, the Cox do what they are good at here and that is realising addictive and effective melodic moods gothic music without losing themselves in endless dwelling like so many other goth acts appear to be enjoying.

No , on "Breaking Point" they bring an even more mature sound that is alienating them more and more from the lesser gods. There is a bigger stress on the guitars which get a darker rock taint, but it stays very much the COX sound we all love and enjoy. Add to that Ronny Moorings's deep vocals and you can only but be perplex of what you hear. The summit of this pot pourri can be heard on " Weak In My Knees" where guitars and synths are 100% balanced out. Another highlight is " She's Dangerous" and there are many others I could name here. Honestly, of the 5 albums I have from the COX this is definitely a band showing itself in its full maturity. They hit and did not miss at all with an interesting balance between upbeat & more moody songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, May 3, 2006
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
This album is just incredibly good . The guy StevcC before me who wrote that crap about this album is simply a moron. He judges a quality band like this , and look at what other crap he reviews .Some people should be taken away their cheap PC's ! Amazon is too full of these f666ing losers.

Anyway, this album rocks from top to bottom , the album, sleeve is f666ing beautiful , right in the style I would expect a COX album. My votes are more than 5 stars. And if any bloody f666ing moron comes across my path , well , just check out their loser poor taste in music and we all will know better.

I concur with all previous 5 stars reviews , over and amen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They stay true to themselves and true to their fans while they still provide new and excellent music., May 1, 2006
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
Two years after the release of their exceptional Best Of release, we're now presented with the latest great work from this renowned band in the form of Breaking Point. It's hard to imagine how a band with such an extensive history can continue to "mature" their sound, but it seems they manage to do so in subtle ways that only long-time fans will really be able to notice. Overall they still capitalize on the same solid elements they've used over all of these years. Ronny Moorings uses his deep, angst-ridden vocals as a foundation and anchor for the music that has it's own groundwork laid down through solid synths and various guitar layers.

To begin the album is the precursor single "Weak in my Knees" sporting the most recognizable elements from this band in their club-friendly, goth-rock sound. This track was released as a single several weaks ago including some nice remixes of this track along with remixes of their classic track "Michelle" and the appearance of "Calling You Out", also available on this album. It's with good reason that this piece was chosen as the single from this disc with it's powerful, electronics-based foundation. This is followed by two more danceable tracks in the form of "Calling You Out" and "She's Dangerous". These moving tracks feature everything from distorted guitar, various synth and electronic loops, but always with a solid beat, a deep steady flowing sound and Ronny's excellent vocals.

At this point we're dragged down into the drowing depths of the deep emotional ballads that always manage to appear on each release from this band in the form of "Eternally". The lyrics follow suit with previous works, providing a profound look into the inner depths of the artists conscious. Along with the look into the meaningful lyrics these tracks provide, they also provide a break from the driving and sometimes harsher tracks for an excellent variety. This tempo remains through "We Never Learn" with another beautiful ballad that has quickly become another favorite of mine.

After this short break we dive right back into the upbeat, dynamic sounds of "Be My Friend". The lyrics are interesting on this piece and by the title you wouldn't think this would be another driving club track. As it is, this selection would get my vote as the single for the album with a mix of "O Fortuna" choir samples accenting the solid synths and deep basslines that provide the musical backdrop. While the intensity of the album remains extremely strong, the tempo starts to slow with "Cynara" and marks the decline from the clymax of the previous track. Slowly you think the album begins to wind down with this piece and the instrumental ambient piece "Pandora's Box" featuring some nice samples and dreamy soundscapes. But once again at the conclusion of this piece we're launched back into the fray with the finale two pieces forming the finale of the album with a powerful exit. "Under the Wire" sports some of the most electronic elements in one track with minimal guitar, but then "What's Going On" goes all out with the electronics and synths without even a detectible hint of the guitar driven goth sounds.

With that the album concludes and the listener can honestly say that this is another memorable album that won't soon be forgotten. It stands out in many ways against today's music, delving back into the gothic rock foundation that so many fans grew up listening to, while it has electronics, it varies from the onslaught of synthpop and EBM bands that have flooded the scene lately with each band sound exactly like every other band, and at the same time the artists haven't jumped onto the indie / emo rock bandwagon like so many others have, trying to make it into the teen-pop scene. They stay true to themselves and true to their fans while they still provide new and excellent music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They did it again, May 4, 2006
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
Ronny did it again. I did not believe it was possible to continue the quality of releases since Medusa ,Hidden Faces, Creatures,NFTU& Farewell up to today , but again Clan Of Xymox leave me stunned with the cheer beauty of songs on this album Breaking Point. The titleand artwork reflects the desolation seeping through most songs like Eternally , We Never LEarn , Cynara, Under the Wire , Pandora's Box and give also uplifting dancefloor killers like Weak In My Knees , Calling You Out and What's Going On which has to me a bit of a Depeche Mode feeling to it. All in all again a worthy album of Mr. Moorings &co
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots Of Great Gothic Goodness Inside, July 25, 2012
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
There are a lot of great gothic rock songs on this record. This is probably one of my favorite Clan of Xymox albums. All of the songs are very dark, strong, and full of emotion and atmosphere. My favorite songs are:

Weak in My Knees
Calling You Out
She's Dangerous
Be My Friend
Pandora's Box
Under the Wire
What's Going On
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not great., April 26, 2006
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Xymox for years now so it's no suprise that I am not a huge fan of their new stuff. I hated Notes from the underground and Farewell. After listening to this one I think it is a little better than Farewell. Although it is kind of boring. It doesn't really seem to go anywhere, it just kind of lags on and on to the point where I just kept hitting the skip button after the second time through the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but not their best, July 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
Although a bit calmer than the past few recordings from Clan Of Xymox, it does have a few engaging moments. I think the best track is Be My Friend.

Ronny's voice is as rich as ever, it just the songs are a little flat. Kind of tired sounding in feel.

Clan Of Xymox has issued some masterpieces, but this one isn't one of them. It's good, but just in an average sort of way. It has been compared to the early yeas of Clan Of Xymox, but I couldn't see that. This is present day Clan without the EBM/ Electro in it.

Buy it if you are a Clan fan, but if you're looking to get something from them, get Farewell, Hidden Faces, or Songs From The Underground
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great artist, January 4, 2007
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
Ximox is now an a clasical electronic-dark music conceptual artist. And this one album is a show of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as these user ratings are giving it, December 13, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking Point (Audio CD)
One of the only other somewhat negative reviews of this album pretty much summed up exactly what I wanted to say. Farewell is the best COX release in years and this follow up feels like it was more of a side-project that Ronny worked on in his basement with his laptop. There are some decent tracks here, but it is marred by 3 or 4 duds at the beginning and towards the end of the album. I've come to realize that if I skip 4 tracks on this album, it sounds much better, like Farewell actually. If this had come out 5-10 years ago when COX were putting out much worse stuff, I would have been happier with this album. But as a follow-up to Farewell, this comes off as a rushed catalog-filler album.

I tried to like it as much as Farewell but I just couldn't. And to try and compare it to Medusa is just rediculous. If there hadn't been so many 5 star reviews, I would have given it 3 stars, but I felt obligated to balance things out a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Breaking Point
Breaking Point by Clan of Xymox (Audio CD - 2006)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.