Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLAM YEARS???? You gotta be joking, right?
this is totally RAW, just like motley crue-too fast for love, white lion-fight to survive,ratt-ratt,queensryche-the warning. All these groups have been GLAMMED-OUT by M-TV. Go to u-tube and watch george lynch blow your mind with his guitar, there is no glam there.
Published on July 13, 2010 by Jeff moore

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dokken's debut album.
Very cool album. Brought back a lot of memories too.
I'm in the process of changing my tape collection into CDs, and this is one of them.
George Lynch is a phenomenal guitarist. His play in this Dokken's debut album, is a bit rough and not truly defined yet, but all of his solos are still very cool.
Published 8 months ago by Amuro Ray


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLAM YEARS???? You gotta be joking, right?, July 13, 2010
By 
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
this is totally RAW, just like motley crue-too fast for love, white lion-fight to survive,ratt-ratt,queensryche-the warning. All these groups have been GLAMMED-OUT by M-TV. Go to u-tube and watch george lynch blow your mind with his guitar, there is no glam there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dokken's debut album., November 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
Very cool album. Brought back a lot of memories too.
I'm in the process of changing my tape collection into CDs, and this is one of them.
George Lynch is a phenomenal guitarist. His play in this Dokken's debut album, is a bit rough and not truly defined yet, but all of his solos are still very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good debut album, February 27, 2005
By 
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
This album is good, despite the bad review previously given by some goofball. It's from 1983 for God's sake. Don Dokken was young, it's obvious in his voice. The songs are good, most notably the title track, Paris is burning, Nightrider and Seven Thunders. Good harmony vocals throughout. The band played great, but I am surprised that noone mentioned how nice of a job Don Dokken did on rhythm guitar on this album. Too bad he could not have played on the later albums.

Overall this is a nice debut from a band that fit into the glam scene. It fits in with any other band's debut album from that area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dokken's major label debut, March 21, 2013
By 
Jonathan Weller (Chambersburg, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
Dokken released their major label debut album in 1983. Dokken played a very radio friendly style of hard rock that was absolutely made for MTV. These guys just happened to do it better than most.

The first thing to notice about this record is that, it's a little more raw than their later releases. That doesn't mean it's worse, just not as polished. The songs on here are still melodic and catchy, and the group is terrific as always. This really does come off as a debut album, which some may not like, but for my money, this is one of the better debuts of the decade. I really enjoyed just about every song on here, and i'm sure most other fans would be the same way,

Dokken are really one of the genres best. To have no Dokken in your collection is a crime, and should be punishable by law. I'd suggest their "Back For The Attack" album to start with, but this record is good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dokken's Best Album, April 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
This is Dokken's awsome debut from 1982, and it is easily the best album they've ever released. I think it has a somewhat different atmosphere than on Dokken's following albums. There are more mid-paced songs on here, and fewer of the faster sort of metal songs that they would later make, such as Tooth and Nail's "Turn on the Action" and Under Lock and Key's "Lightnin' Strikes Again." Here Dokken spends more time feeling around in catchy melodies, harmonies and hooks, which are the qualities, as far as I'm concerned, that make glam metal most excellent.

In some ways, the songs on here are a little simpler than Dokken's later work. We all know what incredible technical ability this band is capable of - especially George Lynch, but in this case, less is more. You can hear some fantastic shredding from George on this album, but there's also some slower, very tasteful melodic playing. Just listen to his solo in "Breaking the Chains" - it's excellent. Don Dokken's vocal melodies and harmonies are outstanding as well, and drummer Mick Brown and bassist Juan Croucier make for a solid rhythm section.

I think that "Breaking the Chains," "In the Middle," "Felony," "I Can't See You," and "Seven Thunders" are all exceptionally excellent tracks, but really, the whole album is awsome. If you wanna start rockin' with Dokkin', start at the beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' With Dokken!!, May 13, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
I grew up on "pop metal, glam rock," ect. and Dokken was one of the best bands on the radio. I am 32 and I still get hyped up when I hear any rock band from the 80's... especially Dokken!! All the records up to "under lock And Key" are recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, November 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
Breathtaking guitar riffs, haunting/chilling vocals. I can't believe how awesome this band is! This album has to be one of the best from the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock On!, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
I was doing some research on Dokken and realized that I never had a complete collection. This, along with their other albums, lets me express my need to rock! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better albums would follow, August 31, 2010
By 
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
I've been a Dokken fan since the mid 80's.I had this album on tape.This debut album is good,but it's a bit raw.The main standouts here are the excellent title track,"Breaking the Chains" and "Paris is Burning" which is a very catchy fast paced track,one of their first radio hits."Live to Rock" also sounded good.The other tracks were just OK. At this point,Dokken had not yet honed their classic sound to perfection just yet.Things definitely got better with time.Don's vocals on here sounded good,but sounded much better on later albums.George Lynch's guitar playing was only a beginning of what would become one of the best guitarists I have ever heard.Can't believe Ozzy turned him down.

The next three albums are a must own.In my opinion,that was Dokken at their very best.It's perfectly OK to get this for collection purposes,but true greatness came after this album.I like the approach they took though,they didn't try to do too much with it,it's not overproduced and overly commercial like some of their 90's albums which flopped for the most part.The songwriting was a bit rough,but it's worth a listen if you are a diehard fan and you have to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Album, November 5, 2004
This review is from: Breaking the Chains (Audio CD)
This album shows you the earliest spark of a great band. George Lynch shows signs of the guitar virtuoso he would become, but for now the guitar playing is still somewhat pedestrian. Dokken's trademark harmonies are all present here, however he sounds very different here than on following albums.

The songs are all of familiar style and topic to Dokken fans, love, lose of it, falling in it, etc...Except for "Stick To Your Guns", has a more positive, stand up for yourself message to it, it's got to be my least favorite track musically, but still sends a decent message. Another track I could do without would be "Young Girls". "Seven Thunders" has Don's beautiful melodies ringing in your ear long after it's over. Anyone who knows Dokken knows the title track and "Paris is Burning", no explanation needed there. "In The Middle" is great, has the same type of Don melody as in "Seven Thunders", another great tune. "I Can't See You" picks up the pace, its fast and somewhat heavy.

I have to take a moment to talk about "Felony". An awesome song, but you should know that there are at least 2 versions of this song out there. One of them is on BACK IN THE STREETS, an EP of basically demos from 1979, which includes "Felony". However this one is MUCH different than what's heard on BTC. For one, I can't be sure it actually is George Lynch on guitar, and even more so, the vocals. It's Don, but it sounds barely like him, like maybe he sang it in his bedroom at 14 years old. And the chorus sounds like it's sung by some guy who's straining his voice, I guess it's Don but it's just REALLY different. I much prefer what I hear on BTC. It has the same tempo and feel as the bootleg version but with a much better sound and a great solo from Lynch. A true highlight of this album.

Fans of Dokken should already own this, but if you don't have it and are thinking of doing so, in one word, do so! It's a good example of a great band at their roots. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.