Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Steps in Christian-ese
Father Rohr takes AA's 12 steps & puts a Christian spin on them (adding Jesus' teachings to the mix..) As a long-time fan of Father Rohr, a Franciscan priest, this is one of my favorite sets. Totally real, and REALLY helpful (even if you're not recovering from substance abuse, this definitey is a Faith-strengthen-er!) Must confess that some of Father Rohr's other stuff is...
Published on April 1, 2008 by Virginia Woodward

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing grace
This book is a masterful piece of straight talk on the power of the twelve steps of A A in facing any addiction and. becoming authentically spiritual. Lots of wisdom and full of Grace.
Published 19 months ago by Paul J. Carty Sr.


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Steps in Christian-ese, April 1, 2008
Father Rohr takes AA's 12 steps & puts a Christian spin on them (adding Jesus' teachings to the mix..) As a long-time fan of Father Rohr, a Franciscan priest, this is one of my favorite sets. Totally real, and REALLY helpful (even if you're not recovering from substance abuse, this definitey is a Faith-strengthen-er!) Must confess that some of Father Rohr's other stuff is WAY over my head, but these practical recordings walk through the recovery process step by step. Especially like his take on mercy. Not just words, it's an attitude -- as folks in AA humbly stand and say "I'm an alcoholic".. the church can learn to be humble like that -- Lord have Mercy. REAL mercy. We sure need it! These CDs are from the 80s (some references a bit dated); but insights still very relevant. (Thought Father Rohr did a conference a few yrs ago.. there may be an updated version.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirituality and the Twelve Steps, September 2, 2011
This review refers to the paperback book published in 2011
Richard Rohr joined the Franciscans in 1961 and was ordained to the priesthood in 1970, the same year he earned a master's degree in theology. In 1971 he founded the New Jerusalem Community in Cincinnati, Ohio. In 1987 he established the Center for Action and Contemplation in Albuquerque, New Mexico, where he serves as founding director, dividing his time between local work and preaching and teaching around the world. The center is designed as a place of discernment and growth for activists and those interested in social service ministries.

Rohr is best known for his audio and video tapes, CDs, books, and articles. His themes include Scripture as liberation, integration of action and contemplation, community building, peace and justice, and eco-spirituality. His latest work, Breathing Under Water, is based on a series of talks Rohr gave 25 years ago connecting the Gospel to the Twelve Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous. He begins with two connections: (1) what we now label "addiction" can be compared to what the bible called "sin" (2) sin, like addiction, may be viewed as a disease rather than something that is punishable and displeasing to God. He expands the commonly held idea of addiction to something broader and also hidden. He suggests that individuals today are addicted to our own way of doing things, our own defenses, and our own way of thinking and processing reality.

The book is formatted in twelve chapters, corresponding to the AA steps. Each chapter opens with the text of the step being addressed and relevant quotations from Scripture. Rohr often holds up elements in established religion, yes, Catholic too, that seem not to contribute to the necessary healing. At the same time, he does not condemn those practices, but suggests ways in which they might be altered to comply more fully with the healing message of Jesus.

For more information on the center, and a list of services and resources, search the Internet for Center for Action and Contemplation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian Recovery, November 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a Twelfth-Stepper who is also a Christian, I found this book a wonderful guide in my journey towards a better relationship with Jesus, who is my Higher Power. This book would also be helpful to those who are the family and friends of those of us in recovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Been there-Done that, November 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Words just will not convey the way this book touched me. Small wonder though, as the author hits the spot on so many of the areas of despair I went through as I journeyed from the depth of addiction to an area of appreciation of life again. Thank you Father Rohr for once again allowing me to learn that I'm not that different from other sufferers from this scourge of addiction. In my recovery I have been introduced to that fact again and again. No matter the profession or education level the fellow sufferers I have become acquainted with are affected in much the same ways. A lot of that understanding I think comes from listening to each ones stories and this book once again verifies this fact and allows me to be accepting of my fellow human beings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Addicts Handbook, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Kindle Edition)
Richard Rohr weaves the Bible - think Christ life - into the 12 steps of AA - Bill W. The author helps his reader to understand addiction on simple terms. And more importantly that we are all addicts on some level, for some food, games, drink, drugs, even being a parent and not letting go. It is not meant to be a single read but read over and over as each page brings on a new meaning.

So what if your not sold on religion and the bible is not a part of my life? Read and enjoy the countless examples of a how crawl out of the abyss of addiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christine, April 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this book after our pastor referenced it one Sunday. When it arrived my husband started reading it ...that's unusual! He reads a lot, but not usually books I buy! He has not given the book back yet!
He feels the book simplifies the 12-steps, then expands upon them and relates them to the bible. He has read a lot about the 12 steps and feels this is the best book by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathing Under Water, November 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rohr sees new dimensions of Christian spirituality in the Twelve Step Program--especially on how to cope with our addiction to consumerism in our contemporary society. We are drowning in our secular obsession with "things"; the only way we are going to be able to breathe spiritually is by the indwelling power of the Holy Spirit of Jesus Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to live in this society with its many addictions in a way to preserve our spiritual lives, May 5, 2013
By 
Mildred E. Brady (Indianapolis,Indiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is an excellent how to on how to survive in our very dysfunctional culture with its many addictions that are causing so much pain and despair. Combining spirituality with the success of the 12 steps is a stroke of genius and a road map of how to stay sane in a society that is increasingly insane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing grace, May 27, 2013
This review is from: Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps (Kindle Edition)
This book is a masterful piece of straight talk on the power of the twelve steps of A A in facing any addiction and. becoming authentically spiritual. Lots of wisdom and full of Grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE YOU TO THE NEXT LEVEL AA, January 6, 2013
Very helpful in looking at the 12 steps in AA from a spiritual point of view.
Continuining my spiritual journey.

Very helpful for Christians and everyone. Highly reccomended for all in the 12 step program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.