Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 12, 2011
A great book, but Amazon US is charging about $63 while Amazon UK is only charging about 10 pounds, a huge difference. Shipping cost are similar. Go to the UK web site.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
I love this comprehensive dictionary. It is major fun and should be on everyone's book shelf. My copy is the 18th edition and contains many new items. It is certainly eclectic with a very wide scope. At an astounding 1,460 pages (small font) you will most assuredly find arcane and exciting information that you previously did not know. I consider myself to be a successful autodidact but I am constantly blown away every single time I open the book for general reading. Yes it is designed to "look things up as needed" but slow reading each page is big time fun!

This edition contains so many enticing nuggets of information you will be entertained and enlightened for hours.

Highly Recommended

Michael L. Gooch

Buy this and you just might become a Brewerphile!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2010
I've read or browsed through every Brewer's edition since #13, and this is an excellent update. Some of Dr. Brewer's original definitions are included (a new feature, everything old is new again), which offers a delightful window into the original text. Brewer's is an excellent reference (What does that name MEAN in Harry Potter? Who was that Tolkien wizard?), but it's also just plain fun to read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
One of a kind resource volume. Valuable tool for literary research for fiction or non-fiction writers. A unique value of this book is the history of fact and fable going back hundreds of years, even to the beginning of language and writing. There are over 1100 pages in this fifteenth edition which I was able to obtain in used, but very serviceable condition, at a bargain price from Amazon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2014
Peruse through this compilation of interesting factoids, from snippets of history and hilarious word origins to the definition of Shrek. Great for writers, or anyone looking to expand their knowledge in a variety of areas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2015
This book is an amazing collection of obscure facts and knowledge. It got its first trial on mothering day and since then has been browsed through. To paraphrase Terry Pratchett's praise, you may not always find what you were looking for, but you will find something that fascinates and amazes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2010
Love this book !!! Yes it is an encyclopedia of trivia in the form of a dictionary, but who cares ?? GET one and your knowledge base will increase...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2011
This Brewer's Dictionary was purchased as a gift, after I had received it and thumbed through it a few times I had to buy another for our house hold too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2014
book is in new condition. very good and comprehensive book it has all the terms that is needed when analysing poetry, text,prose .you should invest in one if taking literature
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
This is such a fascinating book, I could read it cover to cover, however I look forward to using this as a resource for my writing fiction (which is mainly based on mythology).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse