Customer Reviews


408 Reviews
5 star:
 (244)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


125 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Bollywood meets Hollywood
When Bollywood meets Hollywood

There’s bound to be some sparks

And for this take on Jane Austen

I give almost full marks

The story line is much the same

Except a little shorter

The noisy Bakshi family

Is short a Bennet daughter

Henderson’s no Colin Firth...
Published on April 16, 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bootleg
Had I known I was giving a bootleg done on what looks like someone's PC I wouldn't have paid for this the disc had no subtitles no special features outtakes as said on the case and the picture even turns green and fades out at one point during the movie Amazon please evaluate the sellers or this seller more closely so that any other buyer aren't cheated like I was!!! Stay...
Published 6 months ago by Marion Weaver


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

125 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Bollywood meets Hollywood, April 16, 2006
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
When Bollywood meets Hollywood

There’s bound to be some sparks

And for this take on Jane Austen

I give almost full marks

The story line is much the same

Except a little shorter

The noisy Bakshi family

Is short a Bennet daughter

Henderson’s no Colin Firth

He’s just a little bland

They could have found a better bloke

To take Lalita’s hand

The Bingley siblings caught my eye

I’ve seen them both before

He was her Kama Sutra guy

And now he’s “Lost” no more

The ending’s changed up quite a bit

This version’s changed the terms

Singing, dancing, Indian style

And riding pachyderms

A lively, funny musical

Though not for everyone

It’s almost Pride and Prejudice

But a hundred times more fun

Amanda Richards, April 16, 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Loved it!, November 1, 2005
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
Rented this the other night and was completely blown away. I knew the general idea of the movie-Pride & Prejudice + 21st Century India + Bollywood--but had not seen either any other Bollywood style movie or Gurinder Chadha's big hit, Bend it Like Beckham.

I absolutely loved this movie, nearly everything about it from the music and dancing in the musical numbers (which break out at random intervals) to the acting to the intertwining stories of romance and heartbreak. Standout actors were the incredible Aishwarya Rai (Lalita) and the comic relief of Nitin Ganatra as Mr. Kholi, the gauche returnee from America shopping for a bride.

It was also lovely to see Naveen Andrews outside of "Lost" and just wish there could have been a bit more of him and his storyline with Lalita's sister.

The movie is in English but sometimes when the speech gets rolling quickly, the accents can make a scene a bit hard to follow, but since I want to watch this movie again and again I will get it all eventually. Or you can do what I do sometimes when I have trouble following thick Aussie or British accents on a DVD--turn on the subtitles.

For someone like me unfamiliar with Bollywood and the amazingly beautiful AND talented Aishwarya Rai, this is a great introduction to both, and like me, I'll bet that you will want to see more of both. The exuberant music and dancing are what stayed with me the most from this movie, and I think that queuing up the opening wedding dance scene or the "No Life Without Wife" number will cheer me up on any grumpy day.

This movie is a keeper for me--I'm buying both the DVD and the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen meets Bollywood and it's a gem of a film!!, April 9, 2005
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
What drew me to "Bride and Prejudice", first and foremost, was that this promised to be a modern day, Bollywood version of Jane Austen's beloved novel "Pride and Prejudice." As a fervent Austen fan, I knew I just couldn't pass this movie up. Secondly, it is directed by Gurinder Chadha whose previous film "Bend It Like Beckham" is one of my favorite feel-good movies ever.

I had never been exposed to Bollywood filmmaking before this movie. The closest thing I ever got to Indian culture is the food (which I love), Chadha's "Bend It..." film and an earlier viewing of "Monsoon Wedding." I had no idea what to expect. The lively and vibrant songs and dances, beautiful and colorful costumes, memorable and endearing characters, and faithful re-telling of Austen's novel that makes up "Bride and Prejudice" just caught me by surprise.

And what a ride it has been! Gurinder Chadha and Paul Mayeda Berges did an excellent job of following Jane Austen's storyline; that of a middle class family (the Bakshi = Bennets) in a relatively small town (Meryton, England = Amritsar, India) and the mother's struggle to marry off her daughters (the book had 5, the film has 4 as Mary and Kitty's characters are combined into the sitar-playing, cobra-dancing 3rd sister Maya). The film begins as the Bakshi (Bennet) family attends a wedding party and everyone is abuzz when the wealthy barrister Mr. Balraj ("Lost's" Naveen Andrews) shows up with his elegant and fashionable sister Kiran (Indira Varma) and American hotelier/best friend Will Darcy (the gorgeous Martin Henderson). Balraj falls instantly for beautiful eldest sister Jaya (Namrata Shirodkar). Will slights the outspoken and spirited 2nd sister Lalita (Aishwarya Rai) by his careless comments about her hometown ("Hicksville, India"?) and she immediately takes a dislike to his arrogant, close-minded ways. At the beach resort in Goa, Lalita meets the free-spirited Johnny Wickham (Daniel Gillies) and is immediately attracted to him. She slowly learns, however, that Wickham is not what he seems. It also becomes clear that youngest sister Lakhi (Peeya Rai Choudhary) also fancies the charming Wickham. In the meantime, a distant relative, Mr. Kohli (Nitin Ganatra) comes to visit the Bakshi family with the intent of finding a wife. Mrs. Bakshi immediately pairs him up to Lalita, much to her chagrin and displeasure. After all, Lalita means to marry for love and the cocky, goofy and self-absorbed Mr. Kohli (the scene- stealing role) is far from her idea of the 'ideal man'. Events take Lalita and her family to London and then Los Angeles where circumstances throw her and Will Darcy together. In LA, Lalita meets Will's mother, Catherine (Marsha Mason), and younger sister Georgina (Alexis Bledel). Lalita soon realizes that she may have misjudged Will and a romance blossoms between them. However, revelations come into the surface that threaten to tear the Will and Lalita apart. Those familiar with Jane Austen's book will know how it all ends, of course. Those who don't will have to see this film to find out!

After seeing B&P, I have come to develop a deeper interest and appreciation for Indian culture. The fantastic choreography in dance sequences like "Balle Balle" and "Dola Dola" are vibrant and mesmerizing. The costumes are nothing short of dazzling. I don't think I've ever seen as many beautiful women as I have in this film. Aishwarya Rai and Martin Henderson have a chemistry that makes their attraction entirely plausible. They are a pleasure to watch. I came out of the movie theater with a big smile on my face and found myself humming the songs for days. I admit that there are some scenes that border on silly or cheesy but this film never really does take itself seriously. At the end of the day, it is a film that is meant to be fun and entertaining. I have since seen "Bride and Prejudice" 3x and can't wait for the dvd!! "Bride and Prejudice" is a joyful and intoxicating movie experience and, as Mr. Kohli says, "I'd happily get drunk on it!!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 different versions . . . ., March 2, 2006
This review is from: Bride & Prejudice (DVD)
I absolutely loved this movie after I saw it. At first I thought I would not because of the music. I really do not like musicals too much, but this movie and its music is great. I love to listen to the songs on this movie. The plot is good also and was pretty close to the general ideas of the Jane Austen novel!

The only thing that disappointed me and that I am still trying to figure out is why there are 2 different versions of the movie. When I rented the movie and saw it the first time, it had all of the song full lenght and it had various extra scenes when they were in Goa, including one where Kiran slights the neighborhood where Jaya's and Lahlita's aunt and uncle live in London. Luckily I taped this version because when I went to buy the movie it turns out that the movie I bought had cut a lot of the songs and cut alot of the Goa scenes including the one I mentioned above. This is unfortunate because the movie that I bought is collecting dust while I keep watching what I call, the full version from what I taped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and hilarious adaptation - full blown Indian interpretation, October 14, 2005
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
I loved this! To me it is like Emma and Clueless were to LA - this is Pride and Prejudice to India. the essence of Austen taken on by a different culture. It is immensely colourful and rather than stick completely to the plot has allowed the vibrant colour and issues of a modern day india translate their own issues within the framework of Austen.

It is enormously good natured and richly colourful. This is not just the characters but also the costumes - and whoever did the cinematography WOW!

Lalita, the second daughter of the Bakshirs takes on the role of 'Elizabeth' in the traditional Pride and Prejudice. She meets William Darcy who has come with his friend Bill (Mr Bingley) to an Indian Wedding. There are four sisters in Lalita's family - which is enough - the "Jane" for Bingley to fall for, the 'Mary" to humiliate the family in this case with a very strange cobra dance - and a 'Kitty' to run away with Wickham.

the main plot devices are there - Mr Kohli (Mr Collins) comes back from LA to make a match with one of the Bakshir daughters - and he is every bit the part! The conflict of Mr Darcy with the bumbling stupidity of Mr Kohli and the duplicitous unctiousness of Mr Wickham are there.

Some have minor changes, "lady Catherine" is now Catherine, Darcy's mother. Catherine brings Darcy's girlfriend 'Anne' along to the Indian Wedding in the garden in LA mucking up the budding romance between Lalita and Darcy - which is a nice nod to the 'pretty kind of a wilderness' used in the original Pride and Prejudice.

I loved the mixture of Bollywood and its musicals with Austen humour and style - I just about wet my pants in the first few minutes when a hugely noisy singing dancing scene turned up. All the elegance of the nineteenth century is lost in a see of enthusiastic waving, singing and dancing, and it is all done (i am sure with self-deprecating humour! It is not just for those in the know - this is very much laughing at the whole essence of Austen and her interpretations, you can't think of anything more removed from a drawning room of elegant aristocracy than maybe an Indian Wedding.

But there is also other knowing laughs - I really enjoyed the segue to an American Gospel choir on the beach at LA, accompanied by a couple of dancing Baywatchers and a group of surfies complete with boards.

I felt the actors were very well suited to their parts - Lalita is definitely an intelligent and feisty interpretation of Elizabeth - my only minor problem with her is she is altogether too luminously beautiful that she completely outshines the 'Jane' character. Jane is supposed to be the beauty of the family and it is patently not true here. "Jane" is certainly beautiful too, and she brings out the sweetness and gentleness of character necessary in the part. I loved Martin Henderson as Darcy, his reserve slowly fading as he gets to know the family better. He is nice looking although I had trouble believing him as a millionaire hotellier - it wasn't out of the realms of possibility.

This is an enormously colourful and good natured interpretation - I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cultural Clash, Romantic Conundrum, Colorful Musical, July 18, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
Gurinder Chadha produces a fantastic film with a new twist to the classical conundrum: how does an independent minded female connect with the opposite sex? Jane Austen could never in her wildest dreams imagine the outstanding Bollywood like dance and music numbers which make this film such a delightful viewing experience. Ashanti does a magical song and dance called "Take Me to Love." The Bakshi sisters sing and express appropriate sentiment in "No Life without Wife" which is a delightful song mocking the awkward attempts by Mr. Kholi, an accountant of Indian background who lives near Hollywood, who returned to Amritsar, India to find himself a wife. Despite his obvious material successes in the USA, which he keeps pointing out to the Bakshi family, he can not connect socially with the right kind of female who appreciates his hard work and who possesses the cultural traits which he is seeking in a wife ... Mrs Bakshi is over-joyed to present and introduce her daughters to him. She wishes to marry her daughters off, one after the other to socially prominent, wealthy successful men, with the goal of climbing to a higher social class. The humorous lyrics of the song and amusing delivery by the Bakshi sisters captures the mood and feeling of the film.

Nor could Jane Austen envision the beautiful Lalita played by one of India's most gorgeous and popular actresses, Aishwarya Rai. Mrs Bakshi plays a well meaning but scheming mother whose main concern is marrying off each of her four daughters to wealthy but worthy gentlemen of suitable families. Mr. Bakshi is a devoted and doting father who worked hard to build his business into a success. It provides his family a comfortable middle class lifestyle, nonetheless it still leaves his wife trying to improve upon the social status of her daughters through suitable marriage matches ... Lalita is the most beautiful and outspoken of the four girls in the Bakshi family. She is pleased her older sister Jaya met a barrister from London, who is of Indian background, whose busy lifestyle prevented him from meeting eligible female companions. He obviously fell head over heels in love with the lovely and quiet Jaya, after returning to Amritsar for exactly the purpose of finding a wife. His sister came along on the trip as did a wealthy American friend whose family is in the hotel business. The American friend, Will Darcy is captivated by the beauty, quick mind and outspoken nature of Lalita. She assertively voices her opinions which is not a trait held in high esteem by most eligible handsome wealthy bachelors. Will discovers Lalita is intriguing and attractive yet is put off by her outspokenness. He occassionally finds himself on the defensive when conversing with her but in the end her ideas cause him to ponder and question his personal values ... and also the ethical motives behind business deals.

Lalita also discovers to her chagrin she is attracted to Will who is a handsome, worthy and intelligent opponent ... At social gatherings they manage to magnetize and repel each other with their heated debates about social and cultural values and differences. To Lalita's surprise, one of her best friends agrees to an arranged marriage to Mr. Kholi ... The Bakshi family is sent an invitaton to the wedding along with economy class airline tickets to attend the ceremony in America. The wedding takes place on the grounds of the magnificent hotel owned by Will Darcy's family. Will takes Lalita on a whirlwind tour of California and the Southwest. She sees a different side to Will Darcy, one she never knew existed. She falls in love with him but then overhears someone whisper how something Will had said to his Indian barrister friend caused the break up of his romance with her sister Jaya ... Lalita is broken hearted and devasted. She confronts Will. He admits the break-up was his fault. The reader must view the film to discover how these two people of such vastly different backgrounds make peace and rekindle their romance and love. In the end it burns brighter than ever. The film is filled with passion, energy, romance, class differences, cultural clashes and to the viewer's immense satisfaciton, a happy ending. It is a colorful pageantry of the sights, sounds, and music of India in the best Bollywood tradition. A most hightly recommended film. Erika Borsos [pepper flower]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighten up, folks! Good, clean, cheeky fun......, July 8, 2005
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
We have a bunch of "straight" Western musicals and "straight" Austen P&P retellings and "straight" bollywood musicals-why not mix it up a little bit and have some fun with the different genres, folks? How boring to insist on doing things the same all the time! Chadha tries to breathe new life into this tale, as well as the Western and Bollywood musical genre, and I think she succeeds in a very light hearted, contagiously joyful way.

It reminds me of old style musicals where love is celebrated shamelessly, cynicism is checked at the door, and people are so full of emotion, they sometimes have to break out in song to properly communicate their feelings. What's wrong with that?

Musicals are suppossed to present life in rose technicolored glasses. Chadha delivers this without any apologies or self consciousness. Yes, there are bollywood influences, but this is NOT a straight bollywood musical. Yes, this story plays very closely to Austen's story, but it's NOT a straight retelling of the beloved work. And yes, the director is winking at us the whole time, knowing how our jaded American/Western minds work-just when she almost crosses the line with gushiness and cheesiness(well, cheesiness from our Western perspective) in terms of emotion and drama, she includes some comic relief to let us know she's in on the fun.

So, just enjoy the ride, take in all the colors and music and dance without suspicion, and appreciate the fact that a sweet and romantic love story can be told in this day and age with as much vigor and celebration as this one. Lalita and Will are fine and unique additions to the P&P hall of fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bride and Prejudice, April 28, 2005
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
I must say that growing up in western society, but having watched Bollywood films all my life, I really enjoyed this film. It's a blend of Bollywood and Hollywood and it's a very good attempt at it.

Fair enough, the songs may be a bit much for fans of more conventional Hollywood films and can be pretty cheesey, but though they don't do much for the plot, they can entertain.

The main win with this film is that the adaptation works. The way that they have incorporated the major point of Pride and Prejudice and adapted them actuallly work quite well, thanks to the simularity between the typical Indian culture and the way that marriages used to work.

This film is light and entertaining. I love it.

And if that doesn't convince you, Martin Henderson and Aishwarya Rai are both beautiful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not For Every Taste, But It Suits Me Just Fine!, July 6, 2005
By 
Jennifer "jeanvieve7" (Monroe, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
This movie is exactly how it sounds, A Bollywood style musical comedy based on Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice. It is made by Gurinder Chadha who also wrote Bend It Like Beckham, so it is flavored with her witt and comedy. I will write 2 outlines, one for those of you who will love this film, and one for those of you who will turn it off half way through......

You Will Love This Movie Because:

If you like Bend It Like Beckham for it's strong female characters, ethnic flavor, and witty writing you will like B&P for the same reasons. The story centers around a forward thinking Indian woman, one of five sisters. She wants to be married and dreams of romance, but she also wants to be treated like an equal, and not just some man's wife. If you have read/seen Pride & Prejudice you will know pretty much what happens from here. What makes this telling unique are the gorgeous locations all over India, the colors and the flavors of a rich Indian culture, and some really fun musical numbers, both funny and lovely. I also very much enjoyed Monsoon Wedding, which is also full of culture and music. And I believe it is the Indian culture woven through this film that makes it so enjoyable, the music, the cuisine, the location, the clothing and colors. For every film goer that is open to something a little different (and very well done I might add) I highly recommend this film.

You Will Not Like This Movie Because:

If you saw Bend It Like Beckham, and are expecting more of the same, you might be disappointed. While Bride has some of the witty flavor, it is an entirely different genre. It is a musical, but not in the traditional sense, being filled with big bawdy musical numbers that are not traditional to American cinema. Yes, sometimes it is obvious that there is a bit of lip syncing going on, and there is a sense fantasy where you know all these people would never dance about that way. Unlike Beckham, this is very much and Indian film, (although very much westernized), and there is a certain style to a Bollywood film that makes a lot of traditional film goers uncomfortable. So for those of you who like the big summer blockbuster type movies, whether they are brainless or not, and are easily bored with foreign/musical/dramatic movies,this film may require a little to much of an open mind for you.

But, when all is said and done, I loved this movie (and I like big summer movies too), and any film done well is a film for me. Bride & Prejudice will be among my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "no life - without wife...ooooh yah yah yah", February 27, 2006
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bride and Prejudice (DVD)
I first saw this on cable while channel surfing and was almost immediately hooked. I got on the Amazon site and ordered it as soon as the movie ended (no lie). Like some reviewers here, I had no idea what I was in for (Holy Smokes, Batman, folks are Singing and Cavorting!); but it very quickly won me over. I'd read and enjoyed Austen's Pride and Prejudice and had seen the Greer Garson,as well as the Colin Firth, movie renderings. Bride and Prejudice is a refreshing take, slanted towards a different culture. I'm sure I've missed some nuances that only those of Indian heritage could properly take in and appreciate, but I still got bang for my buck.

The absolute star of 'Bride' is Aishwarya Rai, who has a blend of exotic beauty and down-to-earth personality that enchanted the hell out of me. The director, Gurinder Chadha (Kick It Like Beckham), uses exuberant colors in this flick like Americans must've used liquor the day Prohibition was abolished; and the music and dancing harken back to the days of Busby Berkeley, with a decidedly Bombay flavor. I wish I could go to Vons or Ralph's and witness a full-on Bollywood song & dance break out. Someone who'd posted earlier used the word "good natured" in reviewing this movie and that is the perfect description; this is an innately cheerful flick and I guarantee that you, movie fan, will end up humming the "No Life - Without Wife" number all day. And, lastly, o verily yea, Aishwarya Rai is undoubtedly the most beautiful woman in the universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bride And Prejudice
Bride And Prejudice by Gurinder Chadha
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.