Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great Movie for best friends
Anne Hathaway plays Emma who is best friends with Liv played by Kate Hudson since they were children. When they were kids they had seen a wedding take place at the Plaza Hotel and made a pack that they both would get married there. So when they both get engaged, they both set dates in June. Problem? some how the weddings are set for the same day June 6th. so one has to...
Published on July 3, 2010 by Kristin Thomas

versus
24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great but missed the mark
Both the actresses are enjoyable to watch and the plot could have been great but the script was really poor. The only funny parts in the movie were shown in the trailers and some of those parts were even cut out.
They needed a lot more character development of the supporting rolls. Especially since I really like most of the supporting actors (like Candice Bergen and...
Published on May 21, 2009 by Mom of 6 good kids


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great Movie for best friends, July 3, 2010
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
Anne Hathaway plays Emma who is best friends with Liv played by Kate Hudson since they were children. When they were kids they had seen a wedding take place at the Plaza Hotel and made a pack that they both would get married there. So when they both get engaged, they both set dates in June. Problem? some how the weddings are set for the same day June 6th. so one has to change their date but neither wants to. They set out to change the mind of the other in hopes she will change their date.. does it work? watch and find out! Loved this movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great but missed the mark, May 21, 2009
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
Both the actresses are enjoyable to watch and the plot could have been great but the script was really poor. The only funny parts in the movie were shown in the trailers and some of those parts were even cut out.
They needed a lot more character development of the supporting rolls. Especially since I really like most of the supporting actors (like Candice Bergen and the gal from 3rd rock) and I was looking forward to seeing them in this flick. We barely see any of the fiancés in the movie, only enough to get that one is supportive and loving and the other is a controlling selfish jerk.
There wasn't nearly enough wedding shopping. Like they only tried on one dress and bought it. I would have liked to see a bunch of dresses. Not to mention both dresses were UGLY.
During the whole movie I really didn't understand what all the fighting was about and it wasn't explained well at all. They both got to have their weddings at the Plaza but in different rooms at the same time. I would of said "no big deal" and chosen another maid of honor, so I don't understand why they made such a fuss.
It's too bad because it would have been great to see a sequel with the way they ended it, and I like seeing these two actresses together. Just bad writing I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good, but at least it was original, April 29, 2010
By 
Newton Ooi (Phoenix, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
Of all the chic flicks that came out in 2009, this was probably the most original one. Gone is the sappy romance between guy and gal. Gone are the one-night stands, overbearing families that complicate relationships, and unintended romances. This movie is simply about two girls, best friends since childhood, who by accident have their weddings scheduled on the same day at the same place. They then proceed to destroy each other as a way of getting the other one to postpone the wedding. Would something like this ever happen in real life? Probably not, but the movie does seem believable, and the comedy is actually quite good. So overall, an enjoyable 1.5 hours of time in front of the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital copy is advertised but NOT included, August 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
digital copy is advertised on the packaging of this set, and rather than just get the blu ray alone i went for more money to get the digital copy. The CODE EXPIRED EARLY THIS YEAR. Don't waste your money buying this "3 disc set" just buy the blu ray alone. :( False advertising!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I like the two actresses, just not the characters, script or wedding dresses, January 16, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
We ended up seeing "Bride Wars" because we ended up at the wrong theater (hey, it is a 50/50 shot in the Zenith City) and it was the next movie starting (we had already paid for parking and popcorn by the time we discovered our--okay MY--mistake). It seemed a good proposition given the likeability of the two stars, Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway. Hudson is Liv, an up and coming cut-throat lawyer, and Hathaway is Emma, a most compliant middle school teacher. Since they were little girls they have dreamed of having June weddings at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. Then the stars align and both become engaged, at which point they immediately book a joint appointment Marion St. Claire (Candice Bergen), the queen of wedding planners. Then the stars look down and laugh, and suddenly it looks like only one of them is going to get the wedding of her dreams. Or maybe both of them will end up with wedding nightmares.

I would say that the situation in "Bride Wars" is contrived, but having also watched "Swing Vote" this week, it seems a gross injustice to lump the two films together in that particular pile. But the problem here is not with the premise, but rather with its execution. The screenplay by Greg DePaul, Casey Wilson and June Diane Raphael comes up with enough comic elements off of the situation, but the movie never evinces any ambition beyond being something to be played at bachelorette parties for the next couple of years. There should be more of a balance for our sympathies in this movie between Liv and Emma, but there simply is not and even after setting up the idea of an earnest and heartfelt reconciliation between the two best friends, the script says, no, we are going ahead with the two brides wrestling in their wedding gowns because, hey, we already put it in the trailer.

The script also requires the friends and families of these two to get out of the way, and while I might be able to accept this on the part of the pair's few gal pals who appear in the film, I find it impossible to believe with regards to Liv's brother (Bryan Greenberg) and Emma's father (John Pankow). They would both want to attend both weddings and either one of them should have shown up and locked the two women in a room together until they came to their senses. Then again, you know going into this one that it is a chick flick and therefore should not be surprised that the male characters are ultimately inconsequential. Even an appropriately romantic proposal is assurance of nothing in this movie. Finally, when we get to the big lesson at the end you have to be skeptical because it is something these two women should have figured out a long time ago if they really were best friends. But the only thing in the movie that makes you think that they are is the fact the script makes them say the words from time to time, without ever backing it up with heartfelt actions. I do not want a movie to act like it has heart; I want it to actually have one.

"Bride Wars" is certainly true to its title, because it is predominantly about the efforts of these two best friends to sabotage the other one's wedding (or, more specifically, their preparations for that supposedly happiest of days). You would think that if Liv and Emma had been planning their weddings since they were little girls that the end products would be more interesting. But then if realism were any sort of concern here then we would be wondering how poor little Emma can afford a June wedding at the Plaza. Beyond that, it must be said that all of the best scenes in the film are Hathaway's, and she is so good that even with the grossest of manipulations the look in her big eyes and the quaver in her voice will still bring a tear or two to your eyes. Just as there is no question as to which of the two characters is the most sympathetic, neither is that any doubt as to which of these two actresses is going to be the bigger star, despite this middling little misstep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inane and Disrespectful, October 4, 2009
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
It is hard to understand how a bland movie that was made for women - ends up insulting women. The vacuous script is full of cat-fights between girlfriends, who have been like sisters. They are absolutely horrid to each other when they find out that their dream location for the marriage (The Plaza Hotel in New York) has only two openings for weddings on the same date.

You wonder why they just don't have a double wedding and save some money - but how they fight over attendees, and dresses, etc. left me incredulous.

The bottom line is best friends become worst enemies just because they chose the same wedding date and the same location.

The plot is weak - and the expensive weddings featured must be promoted by the billion dollar bridal industry.

Both Anne Hathaway and Kate Hudson could do much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 100%, November 29, 2009
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
This is a 100% chick flick. My wife and I alternate movie picks and this unfortunately was her pick. There are many girl friendly films I do end up enjoying, but this was not one of them. This is really a shallow concept that might work great as a half hour sitcom, but stretched out over a full length film it just comes off badly. Two best friends who have always dreamed of having a fantasy wedding get engaged at the same time and by accident have their weddings booked on the same day. Getting mad, they both start sabotaging each others wedding plans. Good actresses and a good concept in theory made me have high hopes for this one. But a sub par formula script that isn't very funny sink this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Unhappy War, June 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
Since I really like both female stars, I enjoyed the movie although a little disappointed. They pulled all the funny parts to show as 'trailers'. This left little original funnies to enjoy. It was like you had already seen the movie!

Shipping and price were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A predictable distraction, May 14, 2009
By 
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
I typically do not watch 'chick flix' but the wife watches some of mine, so I reciprocate. It was interesting to see Hathaway and Hudson stacked up against each other. I believe Hathaway to be the better actress even though the credits listed Hudson first.
Although the script was predictable, it was still enjoyable. It did become a bit tiresome about 3/4 of the way through the film. But if you are looking for 90 minutes of distraction, this will do nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Humor lost on scattered script, May 5, 2009
This review is from: Bride Wars (DVD)
The movie took awhile to get started, but there were a few good laughs and "dirty tricks" between the warring brides leading up the the ceremony.
Spoiler warning: However, the whole reconciliation twist at the moment of the wedding was: a) unbelievable (why would she readily discard her caring and thoughtful fiance? b) totally deflated the humor out of the movie. Largely a dud that wasted an easily amusing topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bride Wars
Bride Wars by Gary Winick
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.