Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 12, 2012
Originally published as Dakota Dream in 1991, the story begins with a great historical western premise - the (fictional) niece of Custer is found nearly drown by a Lakota warrior who nurses her back to health. The promising plot fades a bit as he chooses the most predictable method to warm her body - stripping her of her clothing and using his naked body. Most of the first half of this book continues with the same sort of treatment. While much of the plot is fresh, even now, it is given a trite twist with poor dialogue and a very unlikable, spoiled character in the heroine, Dominique Dubois.

However, the second half of the novel seems to have reawakened the storyteller in the author as not only does Dominique become more likable, even endearing, but she fleshes out a much better, noble hero in Jacob. The second half of the story definitely makes up for the slow, moving meandering plot in the beginning (which is why I gave it 3 stars). Unfortunately, many won't make it far enough to enjoy the character development. Not to mention the often confusing changes in point of view, mid-paragraph, where you are unsure whose eyes you are living through.

That said, I have read a few of Ms. Ihle's novels and I know that this is not the best representation of her work (see Untamed for a fun example of her work!) This is her first print-published book (by her own introduction) and she has progressed beyond this amateurish prose, growth that is noticeable from half-way through the novel. There are some stirring moments in The Bride Wore Feathers and a very detailed sense of place throughout helping the reader to vividly imagine the Dakota frontier as it may have been in 1876. Ms. Ihle has obviously done her historical research as well, depicting accurate details of the period, including Lakota traditions and ceremonies.

As a fiction novelist,([...] I know it is hard to separate from the characters we have created and allow the editor in our mind reign to change the story but this is a case where further revisions could have made the first half of the novel better.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2015
Jacob was refreshing, a man raised with a tribe and raised as one of their own. Meets a young woman, Dominique and fall in love, but then there is Custer. As in those days if a young woman was taken by Indians it was thought that it would be better is she were dead than to be touched by a savage. Being the great grand daughter of a Cheerokee's Chief's daughter even Indians thought it better that she die. My great grandfather took the boys hunting and when he returned Her own tribe had killed her cutting off her head. My grand father never got over it.
But I like the happy endings much better. not often that a man will worry about his wife having his baby. I loved it that he couldn't stand for her to cry. Most men could care less. Very good read, I had a hard time putting the book down. I read all night. The end is hard for me because it is like saying good buy to old friends. You will enjoy this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
I loved this book and I'm looking forward to reading 'Proud Ones, Book 2'. This book had it all- suspense, tragedy, humor, love and compassion. Of course, a romance can't be without sex; however, this was very tastefully done and not in excess. Our heroine survived so many adversities and emerged the stronger for them. Wonderful, poignant story.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
A relative of General Custer becomes romantically involved with a white man who spent many years living with the Lakota (Sioux) Indians. He saves her life and then he takes her to a fort. She knows him at this point as Redfoot so she doesn't realize it is him later when he shows up at the fort as Jake. She grows close to him despite some misunderstandings due to the fact he doesn't know how to read. He has been using the information he learns at the fort to help keep his tribe safe. When she realizes he and Redfoot are the same man he takes her back to his tribe so that can continue to work at the fort. But how can he keep her safe from others who would love to make her their woman and from the one who has her eye on him. This was a great historical romance set around the backdrop of Custer's last stand.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2012
Could not put the book down. Danger, intrigue, ups and downs, passion and romance, without graphic sexual acts. All set in the context of Custer's last stand era. Keeping in mind this is fiction it was fairly accurate in its history. A must read for all who love historical, western romances. This would make an enjoyable movie. Good character development, too.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2015
The Bride Wore Feathers is a historical fiction in the setting of the events that became know as 'The Little Big Horn' battle where all of Custer and his men lost their lives. Dominique Dubois, the fictional niece of General Custer comes for a visit and an adventure. She meets and falls for Jacob Sholtz 'Redfoot', an adopted son of the Sioux and a new Private in Custer's 7th Cavalry.

Dominique finds adventure with a dip in the frozen Missouri, is rescued by Redfoot, has a adventure with a bear and escapes from the battlefield of 'The Little Big Horn'. The story moved quickly from one adventure to another as romance developed between Dominique and Jacob.

It is a fictional account of actual historical events meant to entertain and it does that very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
If you like good HF this book is great. It tells a little about General Custer. And if you know your history, you will get a glimpse of him here.
The love story is great, just the right amount of loving without getting graphic. Someone torn between two worlds. Just great and so we're the author's other books!!!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
I dont usually read this genre, but was either free or cheap. the setting is not as fantastical as one might think. many white children were adopted into native tribes, but, of course, the rest is fiction. the description of the Lakota customs is pretty accurate as well as life in the frontier forts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
Oh how utterly refreshing, I started to read a book before this one and by chapter five of it I was so upset I had to stop reading and deleted the book and will not buy more from that author. She needs to read your book and follow your example! Sex is beautiful if portrayed in the proper way, not using vulgar words to describe the human anatomy! Not to use vulgar 4 letter words (with ing at the end) you left it to the imagination, making love, this book shows the true way to express love between a man and a woman! Great job! I Loved the story and the characters, I felt like I was Dominique and my husband was white soldier, Indian warrior. Fantastic. I'm on to the second book in the series. I pray I will be just as pleased! Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2012
Feisty, firey, sharp tongued Dominique was a rare find and Jacob was torn between two cultures, born of one and raised in the other.

How different Dominique was from normal ladies. Yearning to be a free spirit! What was the warrior Jacob to do - drawn to Dominique, but timing was off, yet the attraction drew him close, closer than he thought possible.

Saved, released, knocked out, captured, attacked, belittled, awakened not only to her own desires but the plight of the Sioux. And then there is Jacob, what he goes through to save his people and keep them informed....

I enjoyed the threading of history, so will you...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse