Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Early Reader!
Researchers constantly find that reading to children is valuable in a variety of ways, not least of which are instilling a love of reading and improved reading skills. With better parent-child bonding from reading, your child will also be more emotionally secure and able to relate better to others. Intellectual performance will expand as well. Spending time together...
Published on October 13, 2000 by Donald Mitchell

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this version, get the original!
The original hardcover The Foot Book is absolutely awesome, but I had a lot of trouble finding it to buy on Amazon (it has a white cover, not green). For some reason the only versions that came up in my search were the board books. My daughterss have loved this book since they were 6 months old (one is now 12 months and the other is 3 1/2), and my copy is very...
Published on October 15, 2003 by G. McCarthy


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Early Reader!, October 13, 2000
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Researchers constantly find that reading to children is valuable in a variety of ways, not least of which are instilling a love of reading and improved reading skills. With better parent-child bonding from reading, your child will also be more emotionally secure and able to relate better to others. Intellectual performance will expand as well. Spending time together watching television fails as a substitute.
To help other parents apply this advice, as a parent of four I consulted an expert, our youngest child, and asked her to share with me her favorite books that were read to her as a young child. The Foot Book was one of her picks.
Dr. Seuss understood the elements of a successful early reader: Lots of repetition, visual adjectives, and hilarious drawings to tie it all together and keep the child racing forward. The Foot Book is perhaps his most successful basic reader.
But what makes this book even more remarkable is that it teaches basic concepts as well such as left versus right (that most chidren are sorting out at this age), high and low, front and back, and counting.
I was further impressed by the obvious encouragement for children to notice feet, and become better observers. You can follow up in this way with your child by asking her or him what was noticed that day about feet.
Please note that this book is quite different from the board book that came out with a similar title in 1996. Avoid that one, and use this one instead.
Have a ball with feet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book with Sole to Boot!, March 14, 2001
This review is from: The Foot Book (The Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners) (Hardcover)
This is not as wildly imaginative as some other Seuss works, but it IS an excellent book for the beginning reader! It has only 47 words in its 27 pages and includes important vocabulary builders for toddlers and above. Simple adjectives, prepositions, and pronouns predominate. The repetition and presenting of word groups make this an excellent tool for reading.
Since it won't help reading if it's not read, the book contains the fabulous characters and silly situations for which Seuss is known. With big, slightly zany illustrations, this is highly recommended for adults or kids to read to each other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this version, get the original!, October 15, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The original hardcover The Foot Book is absolutely awesome, but I had a lot of trouble finding it to buy on Amazon (it has a white cover, not green). For some reason the only versions that came up in my search were the board books. My daughterss have loved this book since they were 6 months old (one is now 12 months and the other is 3 1/2), and my copy is very tired.
Be aware that this version only has 12 pages and has stickers and flaps, which get torn and make a mess. If you're looking for the original version, click on "hardcover edition" on this page and you're all set.
I can't see any reason to purchase the shortened, board book version of this classic unless you're concerned with torn pages. There aren't many words on each page, and the rhymey, sing-song story is short enough to hold your child's attention for the entire book. We read this book together for storytime, and put the sturdier books into the crib for play.
The Foot Book belongs in every small child's library, but go with the real deal, not this dumbed-down version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The joy of feet, January 5, 2001
This review is from: The Foot Book (The Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners) (Hardcover)
"Small feet / Big feet / Here come pig feet." With rhymes like this, you know you're in Dr. Seuss territory--in this case, in "The Foot Book." One of Seuss' "Bright and Early" books for beginner readers, this book combines extremely simple rhyming vocabulary with colorful, charming illustrations.
While "The Foot Book" is not quite in the same league with Dr. Seuss' most imaginative and innovative works, it is still a very enjoyable book. And it contains several characteristically "Seussian" characters, including 6-, 8-, and 10-legged creatures that look like they stepped out of a child-friendly science fiction film. I definitely recommend this book to beginning readers, and to older fans of Dr. Seuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous!, June 7, 2002
This review is from: The Foot Book (The Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners) (Hardcover)
Welcome to the wonderful world of whimsical, wacky writing, and crazy, colorful caricatures - "Up feet. Down feet. Here come clown feet. Small feet. Big feet. Here come pig feet." An excellent educational tool, "Dr. Seuss's, The Foot Book," is an inspired introduction to contrary concepts, left verses, right and just plain silliness through rhyme. It is GREAT fun for children and reader alike.
I own the "adapted" board book edition as well, which is designed to appeal to newborns, and very young children with short attention spans who are not attentive enough for the full text versions. The text, format, and images have been adapted to accommodate board book standards; yet, the phrasing and prose still flow. That being said, the original is just that - ORIGINAL. It is more amusing, entertaining, and educational, but is appropriate for older children, 3 years and older. If your child is three or older purchase an original version, otherwise think of introducing your infant to the shorter, travel-anywhere format, and procure the original at a later date? The marvelous, magical magician, who was Dr. Seuss, is worth it! Three-years and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Dr. Suess books!, December 1, 2002
A Kid's Review
This book will make your imagination run wild! With all its colorful characters and zany rhymes you will want to read this book again and again. Dr. Suess has always amazed me for as long as I can remember and still does whenever I read this book to my younger cousins. You will never know how many different types of feet there are until you read this book. You'll meet big feet, small feet, pig feet, and even fuzzy fur feet! It's a whole celebration of feet. It will teach young kids that everyone is unique right down to their feet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Foot Book a great book to read., March 29, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Foot Book (The Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners) (Hardcover)
The Foot Book is a great book. I love how Dr. Seuss ryhmes and just makes the book easy to read and sometimes a tongue twister if read it to fast. The pictures in this book are big, bright, and colorful which makes little kids just want to keep reading. This book kept me reading, and I really want to know how Dr. Seuss does it. He uses simple words that I wouldn't think to use such as "fuzzy fur feet." This is a great book, and I recomend it for little children and maybe even adults if you like childrens' books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Foot Book, December 13, 2006
A Kid's Review
The Foot Book is a really good book. I think it is funny and fun to read.I think that it is funny how every page has a different kind of feet.like wet foot dry foot.Dr. Seuss is a good author and alll of his books are good.When i was little i never got board with Dr.Suess book.There all good.The foot book never gets boring and it is just a fun book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Foot Book, December 13, 2006
A Kid's Review
The Foot Book is a really good book. I think it is funny and fun to read.I think that it is funny how every page has a different kind of feet.like wet foot dry foot.Dr. Seuss is a good author and alll of his books are good.When i was little i never got board with Dr.Suess book.There all good.The foot book never gets boring and it is just a fun book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun way to teach your little one the concept of "opposites"!, January 25, 2014
This review is from: The Foot Book (The Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners) (Hardcover)
Having worked outside of the home while my own sons were youngsters, it's been a true luxury and blessing to be able to babysit my two grandsons. I've had more time to notice and savor the little daily discoveries, and am able to fully focus my time on them while they're here instead of being pulled in a million different directions. When our younger grandson's first Christmas rolled around, he was just 9 months old - since we'd already accumulated an overload of toddler toys for our older grandson that he would inherit, Grandpa & I decided to make his gifts the beginning of a complete collection of Dr. Seuss books. It's really worked out well, because the older one (4 year age difference) was able to immediately enjoy the "Beginner Books" series (age 4-8) , and our younger grandchild (now 22 months) has graduated from board books to this hardcover "Bright and Early Books" series, cleverly labeled as being "for Beginning Beginners" (age 3 & under).

There are a dozen Dr. Seuss books in this series, and "The Foot Book" was the first. It does a great job teaching the concept of "opposites" using colorful and funny illustrations of various feet (mostly on Seuss's whimsical animal characters) accompanied by simple words and repetition. It's also such a fun and natural way to teach a child that we have commonality (feet being one) with other people/creatures, as well as things that distinguish us from others, and opening a child up to accepting those differences as interesting rather than something to be feared. As the book says, "Oh, how many feet you meet!" We found it so interesting to read that the long hours Theodor Geisel put into creating this book - his first book following his wife's death - were a way of coping with his loss.

In case you're interested, the other books in the series are: "The Eye Book", "Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?", "In A People House", "Marvin K. Mooney Will You Please Go Now!", "The Shape of Me and Other Stuff", "The Pop-Up Mice of Mr. Brice", "There's a Wocket in My Pocket!", "Great Day for Up", "Would You Rather Be a Bullfrog?", "Hooper Humperdink...? Not Him!", and "The Tooth Book".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Foot Book (The Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners)
The Foot Book (The Bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners) by Dr. Seuss (Hardcover - October 12, 1968)
$8.99 $6.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.