Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy-Drama Masterpiece
Five stars for the story; four stars for the DVD only because I cannot fathom why - with all the advancing technology and options available - any DVD theatrical release would not be offered in a wide-screen format. Otherwise this has to be the best Neil Simon work I have ever seen. Although I am from a much newer generation, I could identify easily with many of the...
Published on May 29, 2002 by David B. Isbell

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn, 1937
This is Neil Simon's mediocre comedy based on his own early life growing up in this Brooklyn neighborhood circa 1937. A fairly large Jewish family live together, and each member has his or her own story to tell. Eugene (Jonathan Silverman) is the main character, a high school boy who dreams of playing pro baseball and seeing a naked woman. Stanley (Brian Drillinger) is...
Published on March 21, 2005 by Bomojaz


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy-Drama Masterpiece, May 29, 2002
By 
David B. Isbell (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brighton Beach Memoirs (DVD)
Five stars for the story; four stars for the DVD only because I cannot fathom why - with all the advancing technology and options available - any DVD theatrical release would not be offered in a wide-screen format. Otherwise this has to be the best Neil Simon work I have ever seen. Although I am from a much newer generation, I could identify easily with many of the characters, both from similar personal experiences, and from the culture within which I was raised. I would highly recommend this film, but only to true drama fans (of any age) and to older generations who have lived the times portrayed in this delightful romp. There is mild adult content, so be wary if you allow your young teens to watch. This is one of those rare classics that never received the publicity it deserved on the big screen; but then it can only appeal to a certain audience. If you feel like going out on a limb and watching something different or you want to conjure up old memories of yester-year, then by all means watch this film and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Fun for all!, November 23, 2000
I loved this movie. I had to watch it a few times to get the gist of it. But once I did, it became one of my top 10 cult classics. Jonathon Silverman is so funny. Just hearing Blythe Danner scream "Eugene" is enough to make me laugh. This is in the same category with "A Christmas Story" (about the BB gun). I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS MOVIE. NEIL SIMON IS A GENIUS. After you watch this movie, see the sequel "Biloxi Blues" with Matthew Broadrick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neil Simon's Trilogy Begins, December 13, 2005
This review is from: Brighton Beach Memoirs (DVD)
Brighton Beach Memoirs is the beginning of Neil Simon's Eugene Jerome trilogy based on his youth.

Eugene Jerome (Jonathan Silverman in his film debut) is fifteen. He is hitting the puberty and can't control thinking of it. His goal in life is to be the first Jewish pitcher for the Brooklyn Dodgers.

But his mother (Blythe Danner) has other ideas for his future. His mother runs the house with an iron fist and guilt. His father (Bob Dishy) is working two jobs just to make ends meet. His older bother Stanley, has just lost his job for talking back to his boss.

Also living with the Jerome's is Blanche's invalid sister (Judith Ivey) and her two daughters. The older one Eugene has more than a passing crush on.

The main theme of this film is too many people living in too little room with too little money. In the end all conflicts arise from this.

This is Neil Simon at his most personal. The only problem is bad casting in the lead. Jonathan Silverman never captures Eugene's spirit. He just seems to be saying the lines and doesn't seem to understand what he is saying. Matthew Broderick created the role in Los Angeles and then Broadway and won a Tony Award. Silverman just doesn't have the comic timing to pull this difficult role off.

On the other side, Blythe Danner shines as Eugene's mother Blanche. Without having to tell the audience her problems, she makes them clear with her delivery. Judith Ivey, in an early role, shows the frailty of Blanche's sister.

This is a very good film and is good background for the excellent second installment Biloxi Blues. Unfortunately, as of today, the final part, Broadway Bound has not been released on DVD.

DVD EXTRAS: None
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warm and funny portrayal, July 30, 2000
By 
Scott Sartain (Manlius, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brighton Beach Memoirs (DVD)
This film is, without a doubt, one of my favorites. I think the film is well cast, for the most part, and that the chemistry between Danner and Silverman was very genuine in terms of a mother-son relationship. The script is warm and funny and the sets were well done. All in all, I would say that this is a film that any fan of Niel Simon's work should have in their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I have seen the Golden Palace Of The Himalayas...", November 17, 2009
This review is from: Brighton Beach Memoirs (DVD)
If you're a fan of Neil Simon's then "Brighton Beach Memoirs"(1986) is a must-see. This is a well-made movie with an amazing ensemble cast and witty dialogue that had me laughing out loud. Eugene (Jonathan Silverman), a Jewish teenager, narrates the story of his time as an adolescent, growing up amidst a close-knit Jewish family in 1930s Brooklyn, comprising dad, Jack (Bob Dishy), mom Kate (Blythe Danner), brother Stanley (Brian Dillinger), widowed aunt Blanche (Judith Ivey), and cousins Nora (Lisa Waltz) and Laurie (Stacey Glick). Eugene's dad is a hardworking man who tries to manage the family on his meager income, supplemented by the wages of his older son Stanley who works for a haberdasher/slave driver Mr. Stroheim (Steven Hill). The performances of the ensemble cast, especially the comical antics of the lead performer (Silverman) coupled with the creative dialogue make this an immensely entertaining watch. I loved the way family dynamics were explored in this movie - how Eugene feels like he is being victimized and bullied (being constantly sent to the store by his mother complaining,"I'm always going to the store. When I grow up, that's all I'll be trained to do, go to the store"), how the role of males and females were still very traditional (the women stayed home, whilst the men went out to work), and the close bond between members of this family (Eugene's mom takes in her widowed sister and two daughters even though Jack is a low wage-earner).

The most comical aspects are scenes where the adolescent with raging hormones, as portrayed by Eugene, fantasizes about girls and sex. Upon glimpsing his first picture of a naked woman (a French woman at that), Eugene exults: "I have seen the Golden Palace Of The Himalayas. Puberty is OVER! Onward and upward!" Balanced against these comic moments are more somber ones such as when Eugene's 16-year-old cousin Nora decides to forge her own path in life or when Eugene's older brother Stanley has to deal with the repercussions of wrong choices. With its cast of eccentric characters, the irreverent writing and amazing acting, this is a heartwarming, funny and poignant movie. A must-watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn, 1937, March 21, 2005
By 
Bomojaz (South Central PA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brighton Beach Memoirs (DVD)
This is Neil Simon's mediocre comedy based on his own early life growing up in this Brooklyn neighborhood circa 1937. A fairly large Jewish family live together, and each member has his or her own story to tell. Eugene (Jonathan Silverman) is the main character, a high school boy who dreams of playing pro baseball and seeing a naked woman. Stanley (Brian Drillinger) is his older brother, who dreams of escape, and does so by joining the army. Other members tell their dreams and shortfallings, too. Thus the picture adds up to a lot of little vignettes. Simon has been funnier elsewhere; his aim here seems more directed at sentimentality and nostalgia. No great shakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works Well, July 10, 2006
This review is from: Brighton Beach Memoirs (DVD)
This is a tale of 2 jewish families living under 1 roof in 1937. Though there are many hardships and a family crisis or two, it is tempered with a gentle humor and the fact that you really feel that everyone loves each other. Perfect casting, this is a winner. If you liked Parenthood, this should be right up your alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Neil Simon Memory Jogger, December 25, 2010
By 
Willard R. Stephen (South eastern Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Neil Simon was very astute in his observations when writing this book. The experiences of a nieve young fellow's army induction and training in the final months of WWII. I can readily relate to his sudden exposure to the real world and finding it necessary to "grow up fast!". This movie is not really for mothers and grandmothers, but fathers and brothers should find it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, November 11, 2006
By 
M. Ruoff (House Springs, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brighton Beach Memoirs (DVD)
Neil Simon is one of the best comedy writers of our time, probably because he writes what he knows about. This film is good for many laughs and a feel for life in America right before our entry into World War II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Johnny "B" Good, February 5, 2001
By 
"lady_go_diva17" (Las Cruces, NM United States) - See all my reviews
This first installment in Neil Simon's semi-autobiographical trilogy chronicles Eugene Morris Jerome's formative years in 1937 New York and the relationships within his household.
"I hate my name," the aspiring author grouses (played by a young Jonathan Silverman- Matthew Broderick, who had the lead in the Broadway production, was unable to do the movie, but Silverman delivers a believable, hormonally-challenged Eugene.)
The backbone of this film is Blythe Danner's performance as Kate, the mother of all mothers. In one scene with her elder son, Stanley, he has confessed to her that he has gambled away precious money. Kate is at her wits end with trying to make everything work in the household, but you can see her trying to hold it together. "You're going to tell that man a story, tell him you were robbed, that you lost that money, because the truth would kill him." She finally says, defeated, and disappointed with her son.
As always, the humor is sweet and sour, and the relationships are simple but dynamic. The casting is good, and the mood is perfectly achieved through set dressing, costuming, music, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Brighton Beach Memoirs
Brighton Beach Memoirs by Gene Saks (DVD - 2000)
$35.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.