Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liquid honey....
is Neville's voice. I recently saw him at a local venue, where he performed a lot of the music on this fine CD. I hadn't purchased any Neville music since his great jazz memories album, "Nature Boy" -- but I went right out and bought this. Neville's not afraid to remake Sam Cooke or Percy Sledge, and his take on "Stand By Me" and with Chris Botti's trumpet on a new mix...
Published on October 15, 2006 by L. Quido

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good.... but he's done better
Aaron Neville is the most soulful singer of our time. The collection of songs chosen for this CD is a good collection. However, the arrangements could have been better.

His previous version of 'A Change is Gonna Come'is much better than this one, at least I think so. In fact, his previous versions of 'Sittin on the Dock of the Bay' and 'Ain't no Sunshine' are...
Published on October 2, 2006 by Kevin Stanton


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liquid honey...., October 15, 2006
By 
L. Quido "quidrock" (Tampa, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
is Neville's voice. I recently saw him at a local venue, where he performed a lot of the music on this fine CD. I hadn't purchased any Neville music since his great jazz memories album, "Nature Boy" -- but I went right out and bought this. Neville's not afraid to remake Sam Cooke or Percy Sledge, and his take on "Stand By Me" and with Chris Botti's trumpet on a new mix for "Rainy Night In Georgia" permeate your thoughts and just about make you forget the originals. Neville did this CD as a tribute to Katrina victims, and his own family's difficulties as the result of the storm. A consummate performer, with a voice that just doesn't quit, Neville is even more at home with sould classics than he is with gospel or jazz. Run, don't walk, to buy this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Returning to his roots, September 24, 2006
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
This four time Grammy award winning performer exposes his soulful roots with a thirteen song tribute to some of the world's greatest legends of soul and R&B. Even though his awards are in the Pop and Country music categories, his vibrato style clings to the classic songs, infusing them with inspiration and hope for troubled times.

The track list reads like a Who's Who, with guests like Chris Botti, Chaka Khan, Mavis Staples and David Sanborn performing the songs of Otis Redding, Ben E. King, Sam Cooke, Percy Sledge, Al Green and Marvin Gaye among others.

In some cases, you'll have to admit that there ain't nuthin' like the original, but Neville gets full marks for a passionate performance anyway. The ones I like are Ain't No Sunshine, originally by Bill Withers; Stand By Me - Ben E. King; You Send Me - Sam Cooke; Respect Yourself (featuring Mavis Staples) - Staple Singers; Let's Stay Together (featuring Chaka Khan) - Al Green, and People Get Ready (featuring David Sanborn and Art Neville) - Curtis Mayfield.

More than just another oldies compilation, this is an album that Aaron Neville fans can be proud of.

Amanda Richards, September 24, 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That Amazing Voice, September 21, 2006
By 
James M. Loveday "Mike Loveday" (Bastrop, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
I've loved Aaron Neville's voice for many years and this has to be one of his finest recordings. Neville is one of those rare artists that can literally sing anything and do it well, but this is his home turf. I bought the CD the day it was released and actually didn't want it to end. His duet partners compliment and blend without overshadowing that incredible falsetto tenor. Do I have a particular favorite? Rainy Night In Georgia might be it, but there is nothing on this CD to "skip". Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to this incredible recording by an artist that only gets better with age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cover Songs With A Twist, October 15, 2006
By 
W. Grandy (windsor, nova scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
There are quite a few albums lately with artists covering songs already made famous by other artists. This is one of the better ones because it's a totally new interpretation of older hits. It kicks off with the classic 'Rainy Night In Georgia' and you've never heard it done like this before. With the different arrangements, etc, it's totally awesome as is "Dock Of The Bay'. Neville's falsetto can be sometimes quite annoying but he keeps it slightly under wraps here. An album worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold, October 11, 2006
By 
PC (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
I love Aaron Neville. He can make average songs sound like masterpieces. But here he is singing the masterpieces, so imagine how they would sound like. This album is pure gold. I have been listening to it over and over again since I got it and I have been recommending it to all my friends too. Its tough to chose a favourite from this brilliant album but I think "People Get Ready" has the most emotion in it. Treat yourself to the joy of Aaron Neville's soulful vocals and decide for yourself.

The tracks are :

Rainy night in georgia (feat chris botti)

Aint no sunshine

(Sittin on) the dock of the bay

Stand by me

You send me

Respect yourself (feat mavis staples)

When a man loves a woman

Lets stay together (feat chaka khan)

Its all right

People get ready (feat david sanborn and art neville)

My girl

Aint that peculiar

A change is gonna come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps soul's most versatile vocalist, October 7, 2006
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
Aaron Neville definitely has one of the most inescapable voices of today. He is versatile as well which may very well be his draw or his appeal. He can sing rock, country, pop, jazz, and soul equally well. There are very few singers that can pull that off. Here, Brother Aaron returns to form after his exceptional jazz standards album with soul classics. Sure, maybe the classics don't have the vigor of the originals sung by the original artist, but the vigor of Aaron Neville with his mellow, yet soulful vocals is present from the opening "Rainy Night In Georgia" to the chilling closure, an exceptional remake of Sam Cook's classic "A Change Is Gonna Come". Something that perhaps Neville can boast of is the fact that his voice doesn't sound the least bit altered by age as some of his contemporaries have been. Aaron sounds as strong as he did in 1967 when he was singing the classic "Tell Me Like It Is".

Ultimately, there is no need to go through every track and critique them. For the most part, the arrangements are simple, but not so simple where the album sounds cheap. "Ain't No Sunshine" for example doesn't quite have the same feel as the original Bill Wither's take,but it is soulful nonetheless and features some character from Neville which makes it very enjoyable. "You Send Me", another Cooke classic, is well sung here by Neville with both the simplicity that Cooke sang in the 1950s as well as the soulfulness of Aaron Neville. "When A Man Loves A Woman" is as beautiful a take as I've heard and "People Get Ready" is another standout. I could continue to praise all the rest of the numbers but there is no need; they are all consistent.

My largest criticism might be that the guest collaboarations don't necessarily make BRING IT ON HOME any better than it would've been with just Aaron Neville. However, what is good is that the spotlight is on Aaron Neville and the album is simply immaculate, as always. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent album of classic soul songs, October 14, 2006
By 
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
I love the voice of Aaron Neville. I also love all the performances of the musicians on this CD. My favorite track is Rainy Night In Georgia. Chris Botti gives this track a smooth sensual quality with his trumpet playing. He compliments Aaron's vocals well. Respect Yourself is a fun upbeat duet with Mavis Staples. Lets Stay Together is another highlight duet with Chaka Khan. They harmonize beautifully together. Sittin on The Dock Of The Bay is a groovy sounding track especially with Ray Parker Jr. on the electric guitar. I love the tone of Aaron's voice on the track You Send Me. It sounds very pretty and romantic. It's All Right and People Get Ready are really uplifting tracks. Aint that Pecuilar sounds so soulful and energetic. I love Aaron's rendition of this song. Stand By Me is one of my all time favorite tunes. It is a great song about friendship. Joe Sample's piano playing is so good on this track. Bring It On Home is an excellent CD of classic soul songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The always fabulous Aaron Neville!, January 13, 2007
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
You can't go wrong with Aaron Neville! His voice and these songs just transport you back in time! There just is no one out there like him. Sets a mood and keeps it! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just love Aaron Neville, January 31, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
It is hard for me to rate an Aaron Neville disc, because I just love the way he sings. It is very hard to find a song by him that he kills. And in this CD he took GREAT classic soul songs and sang them his style. Just wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good.... but he's done better, October 2, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (Audio CD)
Aaron Neville is the most soulful singer of our time. The collection of songs chosen for this CD is a good collection. However, the arrangements could have been better.

His previous version of 'A Change is Gonna Come'is much better than this one, at least I think so. In fact, his previous versions of 'Sittin on the Dock of the Bay' and 'Ain't no Sunshine' are much better also.

Not that these aren't good, they're just softer in tone as is this whole CD, so the songs blend well in succession.

Aaron is definitely timeless, as are these songs. And this CD is a worthy buy. However, I much prefer 'The Grand Tour' and 'Warm Your Heart' to this CD. 'Nature Boy' was also very well done as far as standards go. Just stating personal preferences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics
Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics by Aaron Neville (Audio CD - 2006)
Click for more info
In stock on July 31, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.