Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very versatile and easy to use.
This All-in-One idea is really cool. As a smoker, it's very good. Easy to maintain temperature by adjusting the gas flow and air intake. It's a little dificult to run at low temps (200f) if the weather is warm. If you turn the gas down too low, a slight wind will blow out the burner. We solved the problem by giving it more gas, but starving the intake of air.
As a...
Published on September 19, 2003 by F. Donald Ahee

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No instructions or customer service
The smoker is great. I bought this because my boss has the same model and has smoked mouth-watering whole chickens.

My only gripe is that the smoker shipped with an owner's manual for the Smoke 'N Grill/Cook 'N Cajun smoker. These are charcoal smokers, not propane. While some of the components are the same or similar, it was still confusing putting it...
Published on July 5, 2006 by RJ


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very versatile and easy to use., September 19, 2003
By 
F. Donald Ahee "donahee" (Tucson, Arizona United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
This All-in-One idea is really cool. As a smoker, it's very good. Easy to maintain temperature by adjusting the gas flow and air intake. It's a little dificult to run at low temps (200f) if the weather is warm. If you turn the gas down too low, a slight wind will blow out the burner. We solved the problem by giving it more gas, but starving the intake of air.
As a grill, it's not very good. It works, but not very efficiently. We have to crank the gas up real hot to get the pumice warm enough to sizzle steaks. We found that in charcoal mode, it works best after putting a grill inside, raised slightly above the vented tray bottom with some spacers. Put the charcoal on the raised grill. The extra air under the coals makes for a hotter fire.
Now the great part; fried turkeys. This is no 30,000 BTU camp stove. The burner on this baby really puts the heat on 4 gallons of oil. It's almost scary how powerful the burner is.
One final word; this setup does not come with a propane tank. If you don't have one, count on another $25-30 bucks, and on big projects, make sure it's full. Theres nothing more depressing than getting halfway through a 8 hour turkey smoke and run out of fuel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starter smoker, June 14, 2007
By 
Ben (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
i've had this smoker for about 5 months. it took some experimentation to figure out the best way to do things, but now that i've got it down, i'm pretty pleased with it. assembly was straightfoward. mine came with a water bowl that had a lot of paint chips missing, so i called brinkmann and they sent me a new one, without making me send the old one back.

the instructions don't mention curing the smoker, but IMO this is a very important step. don't throw your food in this thing without curing it. the first time you get it hot, a lot of paint burns off! spray the inside with oil, like the manual says, then run the smoker on medium high heat for an hour or so with nothing in it.

build quality is so-so. the welds are a little sloppy, but probably good enough. the lid doesn't fit perfectly, but close enough. the temp gauge is a joke. it doesn't show actual temperature, just warm/ideal/hot. it stopped working after a few smoking sessions. i drilled a small hole in the side of the smoker and inserted an $8 instant-read thermometer to monitor temps. it works well, and very little smoke is lost through the hole when the probe isn't in there.

smoking with gas is pretty convenient. it is a little hard to keep the temp low with the gas burner. like another reviewer said, put the gas on low, and adjust the air intake so that the flame turns yellow, instead of blue. the yellow flame is less hot, and allows you to keep the gas flowing at a rate where it won't blow out so easily. you can keep the smoker at 200F like this. smoking with gas isn't completely fire and forget though. you do have to add wood occasionally on longer smokes. wood chunks last longer and are easier to work with than chips.

if you need to use lower temps, go with charcoal. start the smoker with about 23 well lit coals to get 200F. i took the advice of another reviewer and put a 14.5" grill grate in the bottom of the smoker, to keep the coals off the bottom. this helps a lot to keep the coals burning after some ash has accumulated. unfortunately, this smoker has no adjustable air vents to control the temp with charcoal. other charcoal smokers are probably less work, since you can control the temp with air vents, instead of the with amount of coals. i find i have to add new coals about every hour, so charcoal is definitely more work when smoking for longer periods. however, it is kind of fun to be working with coals, as long as you don't have other things to attend to. using a chimney starter for the coals makes things much easier.

one of the reasons i got this smoker was to compare gas smoking to charcoal. using charcoal, the meat does come out a little more smoky, probably because the charcoal provides some smoke, as well as the wood. however, the flavor is not necessarily superior with charcoal, just smokier, IMO.

one of the first issues i struggled with was where to place the wood chips in this smoker. i bought a metal chip box to put the chips in. this makes cleanup much easier, as you don't have to separate the ashes from the lava rocks afterward. a chip box really should have been included with the smoker. i first tried putting the chip box on top of the rocks, but it doesn't get hot enough to smoke when you're cooking with gas at low temps. i had to move some rocks aside and place the chip box flush against the bottom of the smoker. when using charcoal, i just place the chip box right on top of the coals. putting the wood by itself on the coals causes it to burn and flame up, which produces bad flavors. you just want smoldering wood, not flames.

there is no door for adding chips or coals, but when you lift the upper section off the smoker, very little heat is lost, as shown by my instant read thermometer. the hot air stays inside the upper section, as long as you don't take the lid off. having the entire bottom of the smoker exposed makes accessing coals and/or wood quite easy. you just have to be careful not to spill any water when removing the upper section. don't fill the water pan too full.

using gas, this thing doesn't make a good grill. it takes an absurd amount of gas to get it hot enough for grilling. it does work, but sure is wasteful. this is surprising, because the burner seems strong enough, but somehow it just doesn't transfer enough heat to the rocks. probably a lot of heat is lost out the sides when the burner is really roaring. using charcoal, it works ok as a grill, as long as you have the extra grate in the bottom. when charcoal smoking, you can move a grill grate to the bottom position right above the coals and sear your meat for a little caramelization. i haven't used the burner for frying yet, but i'm sure it would do a good job.

overall, i'm still glad i bought this smoker. it's my first smoker, and i think it's a good one to start with. at some point, i'll probably upgrade to a more serious charcoal-only offset smoker, but i'll keep this one around for those longer smoking sessions, such as turkeys, where i don't want to be hovering over the smoker all day long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret to the BEST Salmon, July 26, 2003
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
I've had one of these smokers for 4 to 5 years. I'd buy another one if my current wears out... well, well worth the price. This cooks the best chicken, turkey, and, above all, salmon that I've ever tasted. Try marinating salmon filets overnight in teriyaki and smoking for 45 to 60 minutes with alder chips for the most moist, flavorful salmon you've ever tasted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea, a bit inconvenient...overall not bad for the price!, January 11, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "jillbeast" (Bay Area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
I just put mine together and it warns that you mustn't keep the gas connected and that each time you reattach the gas you have to do a soap test. I guess I can keep screwing the propane tank on and off, but that's such a pain and the soapy water is messy!

First roast turned out well, but in Winter, California, 60 degree weather it took a little longer than expected (2.5 lbs beef and it was edible/medium 160 degrees internal in about 3.5 hours and two rather large handfuls of apple chips soaked for 24 hrs). The flame blew out three times and scared me because I wasn't watching it the whole time, and when I thought of propane exploding upwards! I didn't think it would go out so easily, so I just ended up feeding it more gas and tried to cut the intensity of the heat using the air intake adjustment.

You have to add more chips to get a lot of smoke flavor so that is easy, but you have to lift the whole body up and off including the water pot and meat, which could get heavy, but at least you can keep the lid on and keep some of the heat in there. A good thing about this design is that if you are doing charcoal, you can replace the charcoal quickly.

Overall, I'm very excited, but I had those couple gripes...no door to access the water pan and no way to access the coals without lifting the whole top off and no easy way to remove the propane for safety. I love the ease of having a gas option as you have to have the patience of a saint to tend to my other charcoal smoker as it didn't have a way to get rid of the ash to keep the temperature even and accessing the coal bowl was really a pain, especially if you wanted to add HOT glowing charcoal.

I'm pleased though! I got this one for my birthday as a gift to myself since I always wanted a gas grill for instant gratification. I do love charcoal briquettes and chunks as well, so I'm pleased I still have that option. Read the owners manual thouroughly before purchasing so that you don't have any surprises. You also need adjustable wrenches or specific sizes (I used two crescent adjustable wrenches) to put it together, but it went together fairly intuitively and quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No instructions or customer service, July 5, 2006
By 
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
The smoker is great. I bought this because my boss has the same model and has smoked mouth-watering whole chickens.

My only gripe is that the smoker shipped with an owner's manual for the Smoke 'N Grill/Cook 'N Cajun smoker. These are charcoal smokers, not propane. While some of the components are the same or similar, it was still confusing putting it together. I also believe I received a set of screws and bolts for those other models as I ended up with a bunch of extras that don't fit in any of the pre-drilled holes. Good thing I had enough of the right sizes to put the all-in-one together. To make it worse, the 800 numbers for customer service rang to busy signals all day long. My emails to Brinkmann's also went unanswered. Maybe they have a lot of similar problems??? Luckily Amazon has the owner's manual available online now -- Brinkmann's own website does not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crude but effective, January 27, 2008
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
I've been through two prior Brinkmann smokers, a Gourmet Electric (converted to charcoal) and an El Cheapo Brinkmann ("ECB"). The bottom of the Gourmet rotted out quickly, and each would wander the neighborhood when things got windy. Not entirely a waste of money, because I learned about Brinkmann designs, and how tedious and distracting it is to smoke things with charcoal. With the ECB, I experienced the shock of seeing large flames consume most of the paint, like one other reviewer said. The smokers have thin metal, so they do not retain heat anything like a Weber.

There must be something about these crude smokers that brings me back. Maybe it's the low price, maybe its because making them work can be challenging.

The All In One is a grin inducing collection of assorted Brinkmann parts; an uncharacteristically well built propane burner, a Gourmet style charcoal pan on top, and an ECB on top of that. The propane burner's high output negates the poor heat retention of the ECB while wasting energy. The burner is heavy, and is not about to blow around the neighborhood. Unlike the Gourmets, there is no flimsy sheet metal pan on the ground rusting away; the burner's legs are made out of thick steel, the charcoal pan is high off the ground. The ECB part is characteristically cheesy and lightweight, and wind will blow it away. Just like other Brinkmanns, the ECB and Gourmet charcoal pan designs are not designed to keep rain out, so it needs to be covered or in the garage. My wife actually insisted that I move it into the garage, because the wind was blowing it over constantly. Fortunately, it doesn't take up much floor space. The lava rocks were much more trouble than they were worth, I eventually threw them away and haven't missed them.

Brinkmann warns that the paint will catch fire unless you follow directions and are (very) careful. It's surprising they would knowingly create and sell something with that problem, obviously there are baked enamels that don't do that (look at Weber). The metal is thin, I'm not surprised to hear somebody had a burn through. You are supposed to season it with oil, and be careful with heat. It is easy to set the paint on fire with charcoal (oiled or not), but it should be easy to avoid that with propane; you have a lot of control with propane, and there's a charcoal pan between the flame and the ECB. Considering the cost and the risk, stick to the propane when smoking.

The "bubble test" mentioned by another user adds more excitement; it suggests that Brinkmann does not trust their burner hose. Then, there's no automatic shut off if the flame goes out. Do not set it and forget it! Check it constantly.

If you need something idiot proof, this is the opposite. If you are reasonably mechanical and careful, you get a lot of outdoor cooking capabilities for a low price.

I got this at Bass Pros for $99 with a two gallon frying pot and strainer. Outstanding deal. At that price, I didn't feel nearly as bad when the paint ignited.

Turns out, I hardly use it, because of family food preferences. Roasting turkeys on Thanksgiving and Christmas is about it. The rest of the year, I'm grilling cuts of meat, poultry or fish on a Weber Kettle.

Recommended hack: substitute a 22 1/2" Weber kettle for the ECB part. If you take the legs and the one-touch off the Weber, you can park it right on top of the Brinkmann's ash pan (the leg holders fit inside with room to spare). The Weber's heat retention and interior room, combined with the Brinkmann burner's high output, does a great job cooking Birdzilla.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cooks meat well done, December 20, 2010
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
Many, many years ago a caveman discovered that cooked meat was preferable to raw meat when he saw a dinosaur get hit by lightning and burst into flames. When the fire subsided, the caveman slowly ventured out to the smoking hulk of Jurassic meat and hesitatingly took a bite and discovered, quite to his delight, that it was good, but needed just a bit of A-1.

Fortunately the technological achievements of the last several million years have advanced to the point where man no longer needs to wait for a thunderstorm to enjoy a nice cooked animal.

That's where the Brinkman All-In-One Outdoor Cooker comes in. This is not your father's gas grill. I don't weigh my meat when I grill it but it claims to be able to hold 50 pounds of meat.

Several years ago a few hurricanes ripped through Florida in close proximity to each other. I believe it was three in a week, if not, it sure felt like it. This was back in 2005. We were without power for a few days. My freezer was stocked with various pieces of chickens, cows, and pigs. Lest I end up with a deep freezer full of rotten, smelling animal flesh, I busted out the grill and cooked up a veritable feast. That was a smashing hurricane party indeed.

It's definitely "All-in-one" - This thing can fry, grill, smoke, cook with charcoal or gas, whichever one you happen to have, it'll rock. Its burner can put out heat at 170,000 BTUs (British Thermal Unit). One BTU is approximately the amount of energy required to heat 1 pound of water 1 degree Fahrenheit.

However, according to Wikipedia, BTU can also be used to define the conversion-efficiency of heat to electrical energy as used in power plant and that a typical coal-fired plant operates at 10,500 BTU/kWh.

In other words, this thing can get very hot. Always use caution when using this grill.

The only bad side is that the thing doesn't really have that large of an area for cooking. Sure it can hold 50 pounds of meat, but I always seem to have to arrange my meat in a particular fashion around the edges so the lid can go on.

You're also supposed to not keep the propane connected when you're not using it, which is a great safety device, but the manual also says to do the soapy water test each time you connect it. This test is similar to the soapy water test used on car tires. If you can see air bubbles in the soapy water, it means you have a gas leak. I'm sure I don't have to explain why having a gas leak near a heat source is a bad thing. Just reading that makes me a small bit paranoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for., May 16, 2011
By 
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
Bought this for my birthday last summer. After less than a year being used no more than 10 times it is in really bad shape:

1. The painted steel base lost the paint close to the propane burner and it started to rust.
2. There are two rods on the grill that were not properly welded.
3. The galvanized pan where that holds the stones / charcoals is rusting.

As a charcoal smoker it was very good, cooked some good ribs. As a gas smoker or a gas grill it was very inefficient,heat losses everywhere and it took forever to cook something.

I will only recommend this product If you want something that will last a year or two while you save some money to buy a better set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great unit for the money!, December 15, 2009
By 
James Maclachlan "Mac" (St Peters, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
I really like this little unit for the fact that I can use either charcoal or gas for grilling or smoking. For grilling chores I too like to use charcoal and use the gas for frying and smoking! I use it for smoking more than anything else and it is a great little smoker. As with so many units out there, the thermometer is only good for plugging the whole in the lid. Buy a good digital and then keeping this thing on track is simple! For the money you can't go wrong with this unit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore all the bad press, this is great, July 5, 2006
This review is from: Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black (Lawn & Patio)
I use this BBQ with Mesquite lump charcoal and have grilled excellent steaks, and smoked some pork ribs, a chicken, a London Broil and a giant hamburger so far. No marinade, just a dry rub and on the grill. The book included has accurate cook times as long as you keep the temperature needle on the "i" in Ideal for as much of the cook time as possible, which is not hard to do. Make sure to "cure" it before you use it. This burns off all the smells and chemicals that are in it from the manufacturing. Cure it using the propane burner. Easy to assemble too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Brinkmann 810-5000-0 All-In-One Outdoor Cooker, Black
$149.99 $131.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.