Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product
Fits the camera PERFECTLY.
In fact, almost too perfect. It's a tight fit. If you're trying to change memory cards with the camera mounted on a stand, it can be difficult to open the door, remove the camera, R&R the chip, replace the camera, close the door and keep the camera in the exact same angle.
But, that is a VERY MINOR issue. The case itself is weather...
Published 16 months ago by Blake

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's supposed to; just not very well.
There's only one reason you'd buy this. You have the Brinno camera it fits. So other than whether it protects from weather, what do you need?

Well, probably the same things you'd want from the camera. As is without the case, focusing is a pain. Attaching it to a tripod and keeping it level can also be a challenge. But the biggest issue is pointing the lens...
Published 19 days ago by James Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, September 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
Fits the camera PERFECTLY.
In fact, almost too perfect. It's a tight fit. If you're trying to change memory cards with the camera mounted on a stand, it can be difficult to open the door, remove the camera, R&R the chip, replace the camera, close the door and keep the camera in the exact same angle.
But, that is a VERY MINOR issue. The case itself is weather tight and the lense cover does not distort or cloud the view in any way. Very happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to work well.., June 13, 2013
By 
Brian Reigle (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
Received my weather resistant housing today..

A few things that kept me from loving it:
- the lens is exactly at 90 degree angle to the body
- the tripod or fixed position mount screw on the bottom is attached to the door and not the body
- unable to turn unit on/off unless you open the door

Some good points:
- the seals around the unit seems to be very good and all the accessory holes (around the lens and tripod mount) are sealed
- the clear plastic is very easy to clean

I am going to take a shower with the case tonight (with no camera in it) and see how much water gets inside of the case and will update this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's supposed to; just not very well., January 8, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
There's only one reason you'd buy this. You have the Brinno camera it fits. So other than whether it protects from weather, what do you need?

Well, probably the same things you'd want from the camera. As is without the case, focusing is a pain. Attaching it to a tripod and keeping it level can also be a challenge. But the biggest issue is pointing the lens. Since the lens is hinged and the case isn't. Getting the lens pointed just right is a challenge. And since the angle of view is so wide, if not positioned perfectly, you'll get vignetting. So, you ask, why did they put that black ring around the lens window? In the same vein, the window can't be recessed to offer any protection, or that would also cause vignetting.

So what do they do to offer some protection? Even if it's when the case is not in use. You know.... That handy thing you have to protect your expensive lens surface.... A LENS CAP! These things ain't cheap, and the window isn't sapphire or gorilla glass. It the same plastic the case is made from. And it's not replaceable. Something they could have easily done, for the cost of a few screws and a rubber gasket.

Other things, like access to the SD card, although not critical, are lacking.

In fact after writing this review, I've decided to lower my rating to two stars from three. These shortcomings are almost as annoying as the inability to time stamp your videos without including a lot of space for TLC and whatever other extraneous text they program into that option.

And one of Brinno's biggest fiascos. Their rotating panorama platform that has nothing to secure the camera from dropping or mounting on a tripod, and is actually nothing more than a cheap kitchen timer. I was interested in a motion detection attachment, but considering their failures with the other accessories, it would likely be a waste of time and money.

Ahd unless you can keep a constant eye on it when it's outside recording, it lacks only a sticker that says "Steal Me" on the front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lens angle, April 22, 2014
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
It's a good case but really annoying that you can't change the angle on the lens. That's one of the best features of the camera and there is no mention of this in the product description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Required Accessory for Outdoor Time Lapse With The Brinno Pro., September 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
I can't imagine why anyone own a Brinno TLC200 Pro without owning one of these (unless you're doing all your photography indoors), Fits the camera like a glove. Of course its made out of plastic so you need to align the latches carefully - if anything feels "forced", you're doing it wrong, I keep mine in a zip top plastic bag in my camera bag to keep fingerprints and scratches off it.

You need one. A no-brainer. Buy one,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little bulky, not as sleek as the GoPro ..., July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
A little bulky, not as sleek as the GoPro weather resistant housing, but it for sure keeps water out. I've had a camera on a roof for 30 days with the majority of them having some rain throughout the day. When reviewing the time lapse footage with the settings I'm using you can very rarely see water drops in the view. I will continue to test and revisit my review at a later day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the easiest start ups for a high tech product., June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
I purchased the 200Pro w/environmental enclosure (nice design) and a 32 gig SDHD card after researching online. I needed this product in a hurry w/overnight delivery, (it arrived promptly the next day).

The programming and installation suggestions of the 200Pro are very easy. Mounting the camera into the enclosure was like a glove, perfect! The camera as well as the housing accepts a standard 1/4" inch threaded screw for installation on a light weight tripod or security camera mount. Because I was recording the inside of an unlit circular building with 360 degree windows, my application required some special settings for HDR, highest frame rate and best resolution quality all in a specified time span. I also selected to only record when there was usable light. The outcome of my video (an avi file) had some video flaring every morning (not the camera's fault), but this was easily edited out with i-Movie and produced a great mov file when completed. My boss loved the results!

I would have rated this product 5 Stars!
Before installation (on short notice with no testing time permitted), I had to come up with a spreadsheet to optimize my custom choices. My only suggestion for this product would be to offer a downloadable or online calculator that would provide the answers for a custom set up. Lets call it "An Opportunity for Improvement".

I would indeed recommend this to a friend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a home run..., February 12, 2014
By 
John D Crisp (SYLVANIA, OH, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
This product certainly works as advertised... my only two gripes are the inability to use different lenses or adjust the angle of the stock lens. I get around this by using a tripod or ball head depending on the application.

The other minor issue is that it takes a minor bit of effort to get the case open when it is mounted to a base. Very minor but a slight adjustment to the base would solve this problem. I use the case all of the time when I use the camera. Glad they make this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Secure and Dry, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
Works as adverised and kept camera nice and dry during blizzard and very cold temperatures as I did a time lapse of the snow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works well with Brinno Camera, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brinno ATH120 Weather Resistant Housing for Brinno TLC200 PRO HDR Time Lapse Video Camera (Electronics)
If you are shooting time-lapse using the Brinno Camera the weather resistant housing is spot on. I left my TLC200 outside for two weeks with rain predictions in the forecast and on several days it did rain and no moisture reached the unit. The housing allows access to all functions on the camera but one. You have access to the menu, time, settings and even the hard connections power and USB. I just wish I could power off/on the camera. The housing has it's own 1/4 20 screw mount so you can still open the housing leaving it in place to get to the camera if needed.

Over all for this equipment I consider it a must for multiple day usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.