Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Overdue, March 24, 2010
By 
Blues Fan "kofi69" (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
Herman's Hermits are the most under rated band of the British Invasion. This DVD finally does the band justice. Guitarist Derek "Lek" Leckenby was one of the best guitarists in rock during the 60's and until his death in 1994. So much incorrest information has been published about Herman's Hermits it is nice to hear the true story from the surviving members. It is particularly nice to hear that the Hermits played on most of their records and on all their biggest hits. The DVD contains great video from the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear how wonderful they sounded live!, May 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
In 1965, I was a young teen screaming for Herman's Hermits. I followed the band up through 1969, going to see them as often as I could.
Back in those days, I never really thought about how they sounded live, mainly because I couldn't hear them, above all the screaming! However, last night when I watched this DVD, I finally heard how incredible they really sounded live, and can now appreciate their music even more today.
It was wonderful to see all the surviving Hermits interviewed, and I loved hearing their stories, especially the ones about their adventures touring with the Who.
Many thanks to the folks who put this DVD together-it was a labor of love, that took me right back to that time in the sixties when life was sweet, and every day felt like I was "into something good"!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen people, Peter Noone/Herman is the BEST!!, June 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
High Quality DVD, both in visual & sound. I loved their music in the 60 and love it now. I also liked the interviews with Peter/Herman and his other bandmates. Lots of information about the group. Although it is sad that Lek is no longer with us. He was an great musician! Miss you Lek! It's about time a DVD about HH was made. They deserved more glory and recognition then they got. Denise, Lowell, MA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful DVD organized well and full of extras...BUT..., May 6, 2010
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
If you are a true fan you will be better off buying the box which not only contains Herman's Hermits but also the Small Faces, Dusty Springfield and Gerry and The Pacemakers.

WHY? because you get an extra DVD with that set which has even MORE HH videos (including their performance of Bus Stop and a couple of positively wonderful interviews from the 60's) The bonus Disc also has many more Dusty tracks and another 20 minutes with Peter Noone and more time with Gerry Marsden and other contributing performers... SO....I'll say the reviews on this DVD are spot on. Its well done from all angles and in fact so fun, you have a great documentary with clips and interviews, you may also just watch the clips(even more of them) without interviews or WITH commentary...and more bonus interview footage. This is a solid value for money for fans of the groups in question. If you have interest in the other performers get the box set. If not try and buy the individual DVD on ebay as it has crucial bonus footage of HH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun music for fun times, December 11, 2011
By 
Love Good Music (Asheville, North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
Bought this in the 3 pack along with Hollies and Gerry & The Pacemakers. It was definitive music, creative and fun as were the times back then; and all these years later, people are wanting to hear this music still today. These dvd documentary disks are the most amazingly professionally produced product I have seen for any 1960's groups and were put together in the best format I have ever experienced. Quality in every way from the interviews to the many live performances on each dvd.

So good to see and hear these performers again as there is nothing today in music that will ever match the "love of simply performing the music, not for the money" mentality of so many groups we had in the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herman's Hermits, September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
As a long time Herman's Hermits fan I only heard the Hermits on an album (LP). It is great to see the group performing. I also like that the orignal members, in present day) talk about what it was like to be in the group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicest Rock Band Ever Gets Deluxe DVD...Nice Guys Do Finish First!, April 19, 2011
By 
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
First, Herman's Hermits were a true very talented band in every sense of the word and not some creation called a band in order to sell records. This wonderful DVD sets that straight with extreme high-quality video and sound for the period in which it draws.

At the time of my writing this review there are six reviews which cover most everything pertinent, but I did feel compelled to add my own thoughts as well as ditto the comments others have generously contributed. I can't say enought about the production of this DVD. Reeling In The Years have made a true textbook example of how to profile a rock band here. I've never seen a better put together set and the fact that Herman's Hermits were actually great musicians performing their certain kind of lighter rock in such a fantastic way really rises to the top. There is even a true, albeit compact, concert here in very good sound and sight that I would have never guessed even existed!

Perhaps the first rock record album I ever purchased myself was one of the MGM Herman's Hermits Greatest Hits collections. I was about in the third grade! This music spoke to my young mind. It helped start me on a lifelong love of music as defined by my own tastes which only grew outward. This DVD helps me to realize that I wasn't just a juvenille with no music sense because this stuff is still fun to listen to over 45+ years later. If you like me grew up, but forgot how good Herman's Hermits really were, run, don't walk, to buy this DVD because it is truly the best, plus you'll learn more than you ever could have guessed about one of the most fertile periods of rock music extant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Invasion Herman Hermits, April 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
Like I have mentioned before there are several british Invasion Music DVD's all of which giveyou a very good look at that time as well as listen to the number one songs at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review of herman hermits dvd, November 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
This is a must for any serious hermits fan. I highly recommend this. It's filled with lots of concert clips. Two thumbs up for a great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun profile of a charming 'Sixties pop band, May 21, 2010
This review is from: British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969 (DVD)
"Herman's Hermits - Listen, People: 1964-1969" (British Invasion series)
(Reelin' In The Years, 2010)
-------------------------------------------------------
This DVD, available either as part of the fab, gear "British Invasion" box set, or on its own, is an fun, nostalgic look back at one of the key bands of Great Britain's 1960s pop scene. It mixes new interviews with fab archival footage and can be watched either with the interviews or just viewing the complete performances drawn from TV and concert appearances and other film sources.

For many years, Herman's Hermits were the second biggest British pop band, after the Beatles, and their bright, perky formula has proved very durable over the decades. Innocent, cheerful, hook-laden hits such as "I'm Into Something Good," "Can't You Hear My Heartbeat," and "Mrs. Brown You've Got A Lovely Daughter" remain as charming today as they were back then, and even novelty numbers such as "I'm Henry VIII, I Am" weather the years better than one might imagine. For American audiences, this video collection offers something that most fans probably didn't have at the time, a chance to see the Hermits in person, performing with all the sparkle and charm they could muster. Lead singer Peter Noone is simultaneously goofy-looking and intensely charismatic and very, very English. Long, lanky and quite attractive despite his prominently snaggletoothed smile, Noone embodied the British ability to transform gangliness into suavity, with the self-confidence of a culture unswayed by homeliness but buoyed by the success of its youth, after years of wartime and postwar austerity. Although Herman's Hermits were not as artistically deep or as ruggedly bluesy as many of their contemporaries, they still embodied the optimism and exuberance of the era, and this video is an excellent way to explore their music. It's a very fun film; if only every band of the era could be so well served... (Like, um, the ZOMBIES, for example. Hint, hint!!) (DJ Joe Sixpack, Slipcue Music Guide)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

British Invasion: Herman's Hermits - Listen People, 1964-1969
$19.99 $15.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.