Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heartbreaking Account of What Fame Can Do to an Individual
When 'Britney: For the Record' premiered in the winter of 2008, the world got answers to one of the most infamous breakdowns in entertainment history. Britney put herself out there and talked candidly about her tough years after her marriage broke-up, years that included shaving her head, stints in rehab, losing custody of her two sons, being drugged and taken advantage...
Published on March 14, 2009 by TV Critic

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars facing the music
I was really looking forward to this doco - unfortunately it didn't quite live up to my expectations. The interviews with Britney are interesting: she's incredibly frank and comes across as a young woman who's been thrown into the deep end without really being prepared for what's going to happen. Sadly though, the pacing and editing make for a fairly slow doco that...
Published on August 21, 2010 by Rabbit_With_Fangs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heartbreaking Account of What Fame Can Do to an Individual, March 14, 2009
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
When 'Britney: For the Record' premiered in the winter of 2008, the world got answers to one of the most infamous breakdowns in entertainment history. Britney put herself out there and talked candidly about her tough years after her marriage broke-up, years that included shaving her head, stints in rehab, losing custody of her two sons, being drugged and taken advantage of by a manager who she thought had her best interest at heart and with two emergency trips to the psychiatric ward in the hospital, she finally got saved by her family who took the reigns and removed the bad influences from her life and helped her as she worked hard to rebuild the life that was torn apart.
This is no ordinary documentary, it's not a fluff piece and it's not 'pity me, I'm rich and famous and don't like it' piece either. It's simply Britney, up close and personal as she talks about what happened in the past and how she's looking forward to a brighter future. As she geared up for what would become the greatest comeback in history, Britney assures fans that while she isn't 100% recovered from her hell years, she is definitely on her way and in a much better place than she was.
This is a must have DVD for Britney fans and for entertainment fans in general. It's important to see that while being rich and famous seems like it's euphoria, it comes with it, a lot of pain, stress and constant scrutiny. It lets fans go past the tabloids and paparazzi and see the true Britney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally she responds!, February 23, 2009
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
It seemed for years that you didn't even have to be a tabloid addict to keep up with Britney Spears. Her antics weren't just spread all over EVERY magazine cover, but even make it to the national nightly news! You also don't have to be a genius to figure out that half the stuff in those magazines didn't seem quite right, though. Finally Britney shows us a little look into what it's like to be the worlds most famous celebrity. Some critics say that it doesn't really explain everything (Why exactly did she shave her head?? How did this guy take control of her life?) she touches on most of the highlights, but the poor girl's life is public enough - can we at least allow her to keep SOME secrets to herself?

You're probably a Britney fan if you're looking at this so I doubt I have to convince you that her music is awesome. I highly recommend this DVD not just because it's important for fans, but it's definately a historical video that prompted one of the biggest comebacks of all time.

Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, May 14, 2009
By 
LP "Libia Pava" (Clearwater, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
This is a MUST have!! It is a true interview and you get to see what being one of the most famous superstars is like. It's very sad but it also opens everyone perspective and makes them understand her at least just a bit better, which is why she made it. It is a wonderful DVD that I do not get tired of watching even though it still makes me cry to know how sad she is living her life regardless of all the money she has. You really get to see a different side of her. A side that she has to hide in order to keep people happy, and that's nice to see because it shows that she is just like us. As a bonus, it also includes some bonus remixes of the songs Circus and Womanizer which I love. It's a must buy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A *must* if you're interested in Britney., March 8, 2009
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
I saw this live and am now pre-ording the DVD with added material. I found it compelling and somewhat sad. It shows the life of someone who seems to have it all, but every guy she's ever been with has sold her up the river. I was most moved knowing she may never find a decent guy. No decent guy would ever want to be involved in the Circus, Freak Show, or whatever one wants to call Britney's life. I do love her music and performances, and that's why I'll always be a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a MUST for Britney fans, February 26, 2009
By 
Sonia Chen (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
I watched this live and it's amazing. Sad to see how she has to live her life, especially the paparazzi moments. And let's be honest people, she looks AMAZING after having 2 kids. Bottom line, she's a great entertainer and a hard a** worker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing DVD, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
Shows the real side of Britney Spears during this time! Amazing, anyone who loves Britney should buy this DVD and if you aren't a fan you should still buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRTNEY FOR THE RECORD, August 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
I really liked this documentary on Britney.
Usually there are a lot of confusing flashbacks which screen for a millisecond then flash to another old pic.
The prime shot of Britney was taken in great lighting and very close up so that it was easier to read her impressions as well as listen to the down to earth narrative.

The doco not only describes how hard it is to gain success but also how you can be strangled by the same 'success' and the expression of her having only a space 4 feet by 4 feet to feel free in is apt.
This must apply to many of today's stars and they like Britney yearn for understanding and that life at the top can make you feel like you are being crushed.

Stan Chun
Wellington
New Zealand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Record, June 10, 2010
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
A DVD that I have not stopped watching for over a year. Britney's life is complete chaos and you can tell she is just screaming for some sense of normalcy. The documentary is not uplifting but rather sad. And the sad thing is, with her popularity no matter what she is doing at the time, always continues to rise. She has the "it" factor and we are all majorly intrigued by this young woman. She may be in show business but no one deserves to be followed and written about the way Britney is. She has it FAR worse than any other human being and I wish for her to get her life and peace back soon before it's too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth hurts..., May 3, 2009
By 
J. Dias (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
Being a Britney fan for almost 10 years, I was devasted to see some of the stuff that she had been through in these last 2 years. I loved this documentary because it helped us understand just a little bit of what she was going through as a person. Not as "Britney Spears", but as Britney. I really hope that one day she can find that peace within herself and gain the strength back that she once had. For those of you who love Britney, you will love this documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars facing the music, August 21, 2010
This review is from: Britney: For the Record (DVD)
I was really looking forward to this doco - unfortunately it didn't quite live up to my expectations. The interviews with Britney are interesting: she's incredibly frank and comes across as a young woman who's been thrown into the deep end without really being prepared for what's going to happen. Sadly though, the pacing and editing make for a fairly slow doco that wouldn't really hold up to more than one viewing unless you are a completely obsessed fan (or someone doing a thesis on modern fame and it's perils.) For the casual fan I would probably recommend The Singles Collection (Special Edition) (CD/DVD)for the great pop promos and performances she gives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Britney: For the Record
Britney: For the Record by Phil Griffin (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $12.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.