Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Cd is in excellent condition, but please read: Cd and front cover art (and booklet) only in slim line jewel case. Not the original case and no back cover art
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Britten: Piano Concerto / Debussy: Fantaisie
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Britten: Piano Concerto / Debussy: Fantaisie

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, April 15, 1997
"Please retry"
$3.93 $2.12

1. Fant: Andante Ma Non Troppo; Allegro Giusto
2. Fant: Lento E Molto Espressivo
3. Fant: Allegro Molto
4. Pour Le Pno: Prld: Assez Anime Et Tres Rythme
5. Pour Le Pno: Sarabande: Avec Une Elegance Grave Et Lente
6. Pour Le Pno: Toccata: Vif
7. Con Op.13: Toccata: Allegro Molto E Con Brio
8. Con Op.13: Waltz: Allegretto
9. Con Op.13: Impromtu: Andante Lento
10. Con Op.13: March: Allegro Moderato, Sempre Alla Marcia

Product Details

  • Performer: Barry Douglas
  • Orchestra: ORTF Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Conductor: Marek Janowski
  • Composer: Benjamin Britten, Claude Debussy
  • Audio CD (April 15, 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: RCA
  • ASIN: B000003FVQ
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #536,314 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By jt52 on August 3, 2012
Verified Purchase
This 1997 release is something of a grab-bag, but the bottom line is that the piano and orchestra performances are very successful. Northern Ireland's Barry Douglas has a strong interest in Debussy and joins forces with the talented Marek Janowski and his Radio France orchestra in Claude Debussy's early Fantasy (1890). This is a sensitive and expressive interpretation of the attractive three-movement composition. Janowski in particular paces the music with grace and flexibility. I have heard several performances of the Fantasy over the years (although not the apparently excellent Zoltan Kocsis version), and this collaboration may be the best of them.

More problematic is Douglas' recording of "Pour le piano", for solo piano. The individual phrases are expressive, but there is a baffling lack of continuity here. I have firsthand knowledge that in the 1990s BMG was assembling final recordings from different takes, a process that is both expensive and counterproductive, and to which I attribute the structural incoherence of this "Pour le piano." (This does not seem to afflict the Fantasy and the Britten Concerto - perhaps because the label had fewer takes to work with.)

As with the Fantasy, I found the performance of Benjamin Britten's 1939 Piano Concerto to be very strong. This is a virtuosic piece and Douglas plays his part with panache and an assured technique. My reservations concern the Concerto itself, which strikes me as a shallow effort by the British master. In four movements, Britten replaced the third movement in the mid-1940s with a passacaglia, which may reveal the composer's own misgivings about the work. But if you like the piece and are interested in a modern performance of the Concerto, Douglas and Janowski's effort can be recommended.

The engineering is decent in terms of pure sound, although I am suspicious of the editing, as my comments show. 4 stars.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category