Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and delicious - a perfect gift
This is the second time I've sent this assortment as a gift and both recipients (one age 20 and one age 50) raved about the beautiful arrangement and the delicious taste of each and every piece of fruit. Both times the present was shipped promptly and arrived exactly on time as promised and in excellent condition.
Published on November 1, 2010 by V. Wiedemann

versus
48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fruit basket not exactly as pictured or described and not so great
While this fruit basket looks nice enough, it is not exactly as it is described here.

According to my inventory and the actual product label, the basket contains:

dates, apricots (preserved with sulphur dioxide), prunes (preserved with potassium sorbate), pineapple (processed with cane sugar and citric acid, preserved with sulphur dioxide), coconut...
Published on November 28, 2011 by Robert C.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fruit basket not exactly as pictured or described and not so great, November 28, 2011
By 
Robert C. (NY, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
While this fruit basket looks nice enough, it is not exactly as it is described here.

According to my inventory and the actual product label, the basket contains:

dates, apricots (preserved with sulphur dioxide), prunes (preserved with potassium sorbate), pineapple (processed with cane sugar and citric acid, preserved with sulphur dioxide), coconut date roll (dates, almonds and coconut), cherries (processed with corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, water citric acid, natural and artificial flavor, preserved with potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate and sulphur dioxide, artificial color - FD&C red no. 40).

The basket does not contain:

Apples, Figs, Pears or Peaches

- All of which are listed as included in the Amazon product description.

Also the Amazon description says "Made of assorted dried fruit from the fertile California Valley" and "This generous, large basket provides two pounds, 12 ounces of sweet, healthy, and delicious dried fruit from the fertile California Valley," but according to the actual product label, the product contains fruit from The Philippines, Thailand, Turkey and the USA (in that order). I wouldn't have even purchased it if I knew that. At least China isn't listed.

Additionally, some of the fruit just isn't that great. For instance, some of the dried apricots were moist and some of them were tough and dry - some of the dates were moist but some were bone dry. The cherries are basically maraschino cherries without the jar - IMO, they don't really belong in there. The prunes were all pretty good and the dried pineapple was okay. The coconut covered dates were also good, but there are only six of those.

Also, it's not really "healthy" to consume all of those preservatives (that aren't mentioned in the description) such as sulphur dioxide, potassium sorbate or sodium benzoate. I'm not even going to get into the problems with those colored fructose soaked cherry hulls.

If you spent $40 on assorted dried fruits and made up your own baskets, you could probably make four of five baskets of fruit of better quality than this. It's not that this basket is bad, but it just wasn't worth $40. I's say $15, tops.

Please see my photos of the actual item and the label to see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as healthy as I would have liked, December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
I bought this during the lightning deals specials and thought it would make a nice snack tray for everyone to pick at instead of eating junk. I was rather disappointed when I read the ingredients and found that the fruit not only has fake color (I'm allergic to Red 40) but is also injected with High Fructose Corn Syrup. Why do manufacturers constantly seem to seek out new ways to ruin something that should be good? Overall, the pineapples (and cherries, according to my kids) are too sweet and taste a little wrong, but I'm pretty happy with the figs and apricots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading item picture by Amazon or the vendor, November 29, 2011
By 
D. Elliott (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
The actual package received is not at all as shown in the product picture. This seriously reduces the value.

Beware the other Black Friday or Cyber Monday savings from this company.

Shame on Amazon for kicking off the holiday season with this bait and switch.

I'm happy with Amazon 95% of the time. They missed on this one.

Postscript: Amazon refunded a large enough portion of the purchase price to satisfy me. Kudos for their honorable response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and delicious - a perfect gift, November 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
This is the second time I've sent this assortment as a gift and both recipients (one age 20 and one age 50) raved about the beautiful arrangement and the delicious taste of each and every piece of fruit. Both times the present was shipped promptly and arrived exactly on time as promised and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just bad!, January 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
Hate to give a gift that turns bad...and this was horrible. The absolute worst fruit. I tried this and the only thing that was decent were the apricots and pineapple rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, December 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered this dried fruit selection as a Chanukah gift for my mother. She loved it. Her gift was well packed and arrived (after a serveral day delay due to mishandling by USPS) in perfect condition. The fruit quality was excellent. She and her friends have really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blah Fruit, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
More cons than pros here. The only pro I have about this basket is that the coconut date rolls were tasty, but the con is that I wish there were more of them because the rest of the basket was disappointing. I ordered this basket 2 weeks before Father's day to assure I would get it in time, but it never came and Father's day passed. I let Amazon know and they quickly resubmitted my order with next day shipping. As soon as it arrived my family tore into it.

The basket did not look like the one pictured. The fruit was arranged differently and the regular dried dates dominated. The date to other fruit ratio was way off. The picture shows only a few dates, but I promise you that they are the main fruit on the platter. The peaches were delicious, but only a few of them. The apricots were OK but kind of tough to chew. The cherries are more like bits of candy since they are 99% sugar and dye.

I definitely won't be buying any of these dried fruit baskets again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift, October 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
This item arrived a day ahead of my friend's birthday. She had it in time to save herself a lot of trouble preparing for some guests. They all loved the fruit and the beautiful presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sugar, January 7, 2012
By 
G. Fahan "Beaner" (Lake City, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
I thought these were going to be dried fruit. Turns out it is dried but full of sugar. Not what I needed. Taste is ok though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful presentation!, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket (Grocery)
I bought this as a gift. The gift was beautiful to look at and the fruit was juicy not dry and chewy. Th recipient of the gift is still enjoying it. I would buy this again and serve it during the holidays to my guests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Broadway Basketeers Dried Fruit Round Basket (Large) Gift Basket
$45.53 $23.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.