Broadway Lights (Secrets of My Hollywood Life) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.97
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by harvestbooks
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Condition: Excellent condition., Excellent condition dust jacket. Binding: Hardcover. / Publisher: Poppy / Pub. Date: 2010-03-03 Attributes: Book, 384 pp / Stock#: 1053176 (FBA) * * *This item qualifies for FREE SHIPPING and Amazon Prime programs! * * *
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Broadway Lights (Secrets of My Hollywood Life) Hardcover – March 3, 2010


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, March 3, 2010
$0.23 $0.01

100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime


NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Top 20 Books for Kids
See the books our editors' chose as the Best Children's Books of 2014 So Far or see the lists by age: Baby-2 | Ages 3-5 | Ages 6-8 | Ages 9-12 | Nonfiction

Product Details

  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • Grade Level: 7 and up
  • Lexile Measure: 780L (What's this?)
  • Series: Secrets of My Hollywood Life
  • Hardcover: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Poppy; 1 edition (March 3, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316030651
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316030656
  • Product Dimensions: 1.5 x 6 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,262,953 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Jen Calonita is a former magazine editor who has interviewed everyone from Justin Timberlake to Reese Witherspoon. She lives in New York with her husband, Mike; sons, Dylan and Tyler; and their Chihuahua, Captain Jack Sparrow. She invites you to visit her online at www.jencalonitaonline.com.

More About the Author

Jen Calonita has always loved writing. Her first published piece was in the sixth grade newspaper where she wrote about an attack snake who bothered her canoe on a class field trip. These days she writes about teen drama, relationships and romance.

An entertainment journalist for ten years, Jen interviewed everyone from Reese Witherspoon to Zac Efron. It was her work in the entertainment world that inspired her first series, Secrets of My Hollywood Life. The six-book series is about a teen starlet named Kaitlin Burke who grows weary of the fame game, but loves being an actress. The series has been published in Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Japan and Russia.

Jen has also published two stand-alone novels. Booklist called Sleepaway Girls: "The picture-perfect setting, the sweet little kids, the seductive freedom from parents, and the lure of adult-like responsibility make this the perfect read-alike to suggest to fans of Ann Brashares' Traveling Pants series."
Reality Check is about best friends who get their own reality TV show. Booklist said: "Fans of Meg Cabot's Airhead series and Calonita's Secrets of My Hollywood Life will eat this fun, timely, cautionary tale right up."

Her latest series is Belles. The series is about two Southern girls and one life-changing secret. The third book in the series, The Grass is Always Greener, will be out in April 2013.

When the self-professed entertainment junkie is not working, she can be found doing one of three things: scrapbooking, watching Once Upon a Time and Nashville, or going to the movies. Jen resides in Merrick, New York with her husband Mike, sons Tyler and Dylan, and their Chihuahua, Captain Jack Sparrow.

For more about Jen, check out her website: www.jencalonitaonline.com, follow her on Twitter at: www.twitter.com as JenCalonita, Pinterest as Jen Calonita or on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/jen.calonita

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Alison on February 28, 2010
Format: Hardcover
I am a huge fan of the Secrets of My Hollywood Life series and eagerly awaited the arrival of the fifth book. Broadway Lights is just as cute, fun, and sweet as its predecessors.

Hollywood switches to New York for this installment (as you might guess from the title). Kaitlyn is starring in a Broadway play for the summer. Her entire world makes the move to NYC with her - Liz, her family, Nadine, Rodney, and even Sky. Lauren and Ava are continual crashers as well. The only missing character is Austin, who is at Lacrosse camp in Texas. The two struggle to keep their relationship going as obstacles come between them - bad phone skills; a cute Lacrosse girl; Kaitlyn's handsome co-star Dylan; etc. The Broadway scene matches the LA scene in cattiness, as Kaitlyn learns from her co-star Riley.

The book follows the same plot formula as the entire series - Kaitlyn is a sweet, normal girl who goes through life trying to be the best she can be and please everyone while still having some backbone. She loves fashion and embraces the celebrity culture without becoming status-obsessed like her mom or conceited like her brother Matty. In some ways Kaitlyn never grows in these books, other than to rediscover that she's already a great person and just needs to stay true to herself. But she's such a likable character that I don't mind at all. She needs to stay the same more than she needs to change. On the other hand, Liz and Sky both grew as characters in this book. Broadway Lights also continues with the insider information about Hollywood and Broadway culture. I love learning "how things really work," whether it's true or not. The book also has lots of information about NYC, especially the cupcake shops.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By N. Taylor on March 7, 2011
Format: Paperback
Jen Calonita is a Hollywood journalist. I haven't checked her work, she might be a gossip columnist. Regardless, she knows Hollywood, she knows the stars, she knows who is IN, who is OUT, and she knows the Hollywood drama. She gives the reader a backstage pass to how stuff really works.

Kaitlin is a star. A really big star. The kind that gossip magazines LOVE to torture. The kind that attract the D-Listers (Reality TV with surgery) to engage. So Kaitlin's series ends. Kapoot. Not canceled but completed. She's now a child star without a job. So she takes on Broadway. This means that her family moves to New York City so she can pursue this dream. Meanwhile, her boyfriend, Austin is at lacrosse camp which is coed. Just a heads up here - this is the sweetest romance without any salaciousness. Very, very sweet - without being cheesy.

During this summer on the opposite coast, her former co-star, Sky the Total Diva, drops in to visit. Turns out that Sky and Kaitlin were the recipients of a paparazzi feeding frenzy because former friends, thinly veiled caricatures of Paris and Nicole (Ritchie) fight for validation through association or mud slinging. This is a hilarious aspect to the story. It's not essential for the overall story but it certainly is entertaining. Jen also takes just a few other shots at well-known untalented Hollywood clingers. Without naming names.

So Kaitlin's summer gig will be ending soon. Sooner than later if she can't handle another darling Diva while her former enemy, Sky, becomes her frenemy then friend. Co-star in the play is a total hottie who is definitely interested in K. But she has Austin. But he's in Austin (Texas).

Kaitlin's character is completely likeable. The romances are sweet, fun, and honest.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Sarah Gardner on September 6, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
This book is amazing and that's all I have to say about it. It's
truly a great book! I loved it! :)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Olivia Simmerman on April 3, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
in the last chapter it says the next book is coming march 2011 it is april and i cant find the book a yearish a ao i preorded that book and it like disappeared.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Teen Reads on June 10, 2010
Format: Hardcover
Seventeen-year-old teen star and pop icon Kaitlin Burke's career takes an abrupt turn when she heads East from her Los Angeles home to spend the summer on the stage in New York City. On her big trip to the Big Apple, Kaitlin is accompanied by her parents, brother, friends and staff. Reluctantly, she leaves behind Austin, her gorgeous and thoughtful boyfriend whose summer plans include attending a lacrosse camp in Texas.

The drama begins even before Kaitlin hops on a plane for her Broadway debut in the live theater production of Meeting of the Minds. Attention-craving reality show wannabes Lauren and Ava (dubbed LAVA by the media) try to hog the limelight during a movie premiere party. After LAVA show up at the party uninvited and are unceremoniously asked to leave, they set out for revenge. The scheming pair are determined to publicly humiliate Kaitlin and her former "Family Affair" co-star (and one-time nemesis) Sky Mackenzie. But SKAT (Sky and Kaitlin) have a few plays of their own. While in New York, they turn the tables on LAVA after they are invited to co-host "Saturday Night Live"!

For Kaitlin, co-hosting the popular television show is a chance of a lifetime and a shining moment of her summer, but not all goes well during her stay in New York. Disrupting Kaitlin's plans are clashes and cat fights between her best friend Liz and Sky. And Dylan, Kaitlin's dreamy British co-star, evokes feelings that make Kaitlin question her long-distance relationship with Austin. Also contributing to the stress are Kaitlin's overbearing and controlling mother, who wants to plan every aspect of Kaitlin's life, and Riley, a "real" theatric actress and Broadway diva who criticizes and belittles Kaitlin's every move on stage.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?