Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Gear Up for Football Baby Sale
Kindle Price: $3.99

Save $10.96 (73%)

Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Broken Laces Kindle Edition

257 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$3.99

Length: 312 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Kindle Delivers
Kindle Delivers
Subscribe to the Kindle Delivers monthly e-mail to find out about each month's Kindle book deals, new releases, editors' picks and more. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Editorial Reviews

Review

Reached the Paid Top-100 of all Kindle ebooks during 2013!

From the Author

No offense to the thrill ride escapist fiction on the shelves, but I believe that a great story engages the reader's emotions. My goal as a writer is to take the reader inside the mind of interesting people in extraordinary circumstances. 

Readers who enjoy authors such as Nicholas Sparks, Jodi Picoult, and Pat Conroy may appreciate my realistic-yet-complicated characters, straightforward narrative style, and emotional pull of the story.

Product Details

  • File Size: 863 KB
  • Print Length: 312 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0982944608
  • Publisher: Redstone Ranch Press (November 10, 2010)
  • Publication Date: November 10, 2010
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004DNWIEG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #44,757 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Follow Rodney's Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/rodney.walther.author

Visit Rodney's website at http://www.RodneyWalther.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

71 of 74 people found the following review helpful By Nom De Plume on February 1, 2011
Format: Paperback
I am a voracious reader of literary fiction, and I am a fan of the works of Nicholas Sparks, Jodi Picoult, etc. I enjoy the realism of these fictional portrayals of romance, redemption, tragedy, and love.
I was browsing through Jodi Picoult's works on Amazon one day, looking for a new book to keep me occupied on an upcoming business trip, and I noticed this book and the great reviews it had received.
I was in the mood to try something new, and it was a good deal, so I ordered it.
I am glad I did.

I found the book enjoyable on many levels, and preferred Mr. Walther's writing style to Sparks' because of the readability and the ease of which he moves from scene to scene.
I found the characters to be interesting and believable, and I identified with Jack as he struggled to overcome the loss of a loved one, the challenges of fatherhood and coaching, and the every day struggles against his own flaws.

Rodney Walther is a skilled writer and I highly recommend this book.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful By Lynn Arthur on December 3, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Jack is a regular guy, okay a driven, self-involved, confident guy who takes for granted the dearest parts of his life--until the death of his wife punches home the reality of his vulnerability. I wanted to smack him, then comfort him, then smack him again. The shake-your-head irony of his struggle combined with his own self-effacing humor, never mind bravado, makes Jack character I won't forget. BROKEN LACES is a wonderful read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful By C. Thilmany TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on April 21, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Due to his job, Jack is away from the house about 12 hours a day. It doesn't leave him a lot of time to be with his family, something his wife complained about often enough. When his wife dies in a car accident, Jack discovers he really doesn't know his 7 year-old son, nor does he know how to be a parent. The book is about the struggle and mistakes Jack makes with his son while dealing with his own grief. Jack hopes baseball, something he'd been very good at in his youth until his hand was injured, will bring him and his son together.

This book should appeal greatly to anyone who has been through little league or has a child who is playing. It will also grab many who lost a parent at an early age, or a spouse while raising a child. An excellent job has been done by the author in regards to the mistakes and misunderstandings that can happen between parent and child, especially involving grief or a parent's expectations of their young athlete. Jack struggles through a good portion of the book until finally reaching some realizations. The mistakes made are obvious to the reader, but then again, it's difficult to see the picture when you're standing in the middle of it. A large chunk of the book is devoted to baseball as this is Jack's passion.

I didn't have children, lose a parent at a young age or ever been involved in little league, so while a good read, I imagine the story doesn't have the same impact for me as it would otherwise. A good portion of the book deals with the struggle, which can get uncomfortable at times. A number of times I wanted to set the book aside and read something that didn't involve such emotional struggle, at least until 75% into the story when Jack starts seeing things differently.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Jeff Dawson on December 28, 2010
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I just finished reading the book. I was torn between a four star and five star review. I really understand who Jack is. I went back to the days of coaching and realized in my last year of coaching that life was taking its' toll. Divorced, single parent, and a struggling company. I had become " Jack" in that last season. I was being way to hard on the boys and my son. It finally boiled over in a game to the point one of the assistants called me out during the game. I realized it was time to step down and regroup. The next year I was a supporting fan and did not interfere with the coaches. It was humbling but gave me a chance to reflect and just watch my two sons and daughter just play the game for fun. Baseball taught me how to be a dad again and to just sit back and relax.

Reading about Melanie was very difficult as I lost my fiance in 2009 to cancer. Those memories are always there and never completely leave us. Thank you Rodney, I needed that healing. I will be re-reading those parts again and again.

I don't want to steal any attention from Mr. Walther, but I couldn't help but notice how this book and two I just put out are really tied in with each other. A Baseball Coaching Manual that puts the fun back into baseball and Gods Plan A Glimpse Into Ones Life. All three make a perfect trilogy.

In closing the lessons Mr. Walther brings to light are true life lessons, baseball is a timeless sport and teaches us the value of friends, family and God. Thank you for an excellent book.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By John Oehler on December 10, 2010
Format: Paperback
Broken Laces starts with a bang. In the very first chapter, Jack Kennedy witnesses in his rearview mirror the horrific car accident that kills his wife. Before that terrible moment, Jack was the kind of guy we've all known, a successful businessman living the suburban American dream, a man whose work too often came before family. Now he's shattered, his young son is traumatized to the point of two-word sentences -- when he speaks at all -- and Jack is faced not only with single parenthood, but with the bewildering task of trying to gain the love of the boy he never really knew. The road ahead is something no parent should ever have to navigate. Jack stumbles along it in ways that make the reader sometimes hate him, sometimes love him, sometimes cringe, sometimes cheer, and sometimes literally cry. The author is a master at doing this to us, taking us on an emotional rollercoaster (pardon the mixed metaphors) and ultimately, thankfully, leaving us satisfied. People who like the stories of Nicholas Sparks will love Broken Laces. And people who like sports stories will be especially gratified because a key factor throughout the story, for both the highs and the lows, is baseball.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Topic From this Discussion
Vampire in the Outfield Be the first to reply
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?