Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Saints stands alone...
In our world of pre-packaged, ready-to-eat, instant-gratification entertainment, Broken Saints stands alone...a beacon to those who long for more than the 90 minute slack-jaw cinema experience. This series makes no apologies for its 12 HOURS OF ENGAGING STORYTELLING, the likes of which have never been seen before or since. Do not be fooled by overly simplistic paraphrases...
Published on August 13, 2006 by Angela

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broken Saints, Broken Dialog
The visuals in Broken Saints are beautifully drawn but the spoken dialog does this comic epic a disservice. First, it's confusing to have both spoken dialog and subtitles / word bubbles. But second, and more importantly, the spoken voices (especially the female voices) are lightweight compared to the dark and brooding nature of the illustrations. It's like Paris Hilton...
Published on January 5, 2007 by James Higgins


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Saints stands alone..., August 13, 2006
By 
Angela (Charleston, SC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
In our world of pre-packaged, ready-to-eat, instant-gratification entertainment, Broken Saints stands alone...a beacon to those who long for more than the 90 minute slack-jaw cinema experience. This series makes no apologies for its 12 HOURS OF ENGAGING STORYTELLING, the likes of which have never been seen before or since. Do not be fooled by overly simplistic paraphrases and summaries of its content - Broken Saints touches on nearly every relevant issue facing humankind today, and builds its foundation upon the most historic and universal archetypes, allowing it to transcend barriers of language, age or creed. Brooke Burgess weaves a tale that is so filled with undercurrent and subtext, that you will find the surface plot only barely scratches the surface of the series' intent.

I like to describe Broken Saints as a comic book in motion. Andrew West's inspired artwork is brought to life through Ian Kirby's masterful manipulation of the Flash medium. Lush canvases are created, figures are gorgeously illuminated, and the text of the story guides you through each frame, bringing you closer to the moment of understanding, when the message of Broken Saints ultimately resonates.

Bringing the emotion of the printed word to the forefront is difficult for even the greatest writer to achieve, but again, Broken Saints excels with the all-important musical contributions of Tobias Tinker. The soundtrack of this series is an emotive journey through various distinctive sonic soundscapes. It is the music of this series that brings you to the edge of your seat, and the tears to your eyes.

In its current evolution, Broken Saints is brought fully to life by the contribution of some truly phenomenal vocal talents. I challenge anyone to not be moved by Michael Dobson's portrayal of Oran, the faithful Iraqi muslim who is tormented by the choices he must make between serving God and serving his nation.

I highly recommend Broken Saints to anyone looking for material that challenges your beliefs, your politics, and your state of mind. I encourage anyone who is even remotely curious to buy this DVD, and give the series a chance. In fact, if you even had the attention span to read this far into my review, you will very likely enjoy and appreciate this set. Turn out the lights, turn up the sound, let Broken Saints wash over you. Engage it, and you will find what millions across the globe have found within...what would you give to know the truth?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars evolved comic some cool music and a good time., August 9, 2006
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
I was familiar with the series but didn't really get to fully enjoy this until recently. We did a full on "weekendfest" and watched it all. We were joking about how perhaps the music was subliminally charged with messages and that is why we couldn't stop watching it! Or was it the political and evil corporate zest? I am more prone to going for the fact that it was a unique artistic delight. An evolved comic book meets drama meets sci-fi meets art and music hmmmm? Characters in this have enough depth to them you want to get to know them more. Raimi and Kamimura were delivered deliciously. The tie in of the four superb. I could go with the anti Saints haters and say it was loaded with politics and opinion of corporate evildoers but everything we watch is plugging some opinion or belief. That is the Way. This too had its opinion but as in many brands of Art, it did so with beauty and seductively captivated your mind. It entertains you. It was great artistically. Surreal fantastic and a very entertaining piece. Watch it for the characters, the art, and the music, driven story line and be "entertained". Or put your freedom fighter gear on and become a Broken Saint and go fight for your right to get entertained Majestically!!!! For my comics lovers, its a tasty treat*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Great Epics Of Our Time, November 4, 2006
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
Bravo! I just can't say enough about the award-winning epic series, Broken Saints. The creatorz of this phenomenal show, Brooke Burgess, Ian Kirby, and Andrew West, describe it as a "cinematic novel". It was first introduced to the world solely via the internet back in 2001. The creators, despite pouring years of blood, sweat, and tears into their work, made no financial gain.... And since it'z humble beginnings, the series has evolved into a special-edition dvd format, with a next generation console game coming out soon. The animation itself is partially animated but primarily utilizes flash animation. The soundtrack, as composed by Tobias Tinker and Quentin Grey with other pieces by Mozart and others, can only be described as haunting. As opposed to the web version, the special-edtion dvd makes use of dramatic voice talents and sound effects. Again, the artwork on this show is mind-blowing and the dialogue is spell-binding. FYI, Broken Saints is not a light-hearted cartoon. There are a lot of complex, profound issues dealt with on this show. And upon watching it, I think you'll agree that it is highly relevant to the age that we are living in. All in all, Broken Saints is a must-see (at least once, although it will certainly take several more viewings for all of it to sink in) and I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the previous review..., August 8, 2006
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
The last guy to review this was obviously paying too close attention to one aspect of the story, and therefore didn't allow himself to actually experience the story, as one needs to when watching this.

That aside, I'll admit, I do not yet own the Fox release of this fine piece of work. I've been a fan of this series for about 4-5 years now, and I bought the initial release of DVD way back when, so I'm familiar with the story, and the scope of it.

This is simply a tale of 4 ethnically diverse people, brought together by the same vision of the apocalypse. They come from different backgrounds, different faiths...and yet, they are able to coexist, to put a stop to what could have been the end of the world.

From the perspective of one who read comics as a kid, and didn't really get into the more "heady" issues addressed by this story, I loved it. I watched it purely from fascinations with the storytelling, and the story itself.

What it comes down to, to be fair is this: If you agree with the author's views on the more "heady" subjects presented in this story, you'll love it. If not, don't pay attention to that, and instead engross yourself into the addictive story and artwork instead.

You'll find, either way you look at it, this is a story worth anyone, and everyone's attention. 'Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Thought-provoking, Moving, November 10, 2006
By 
B. Thompson (Louisville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
Having watched the entire series now, I can say that this is probably one of the most engaging pieces of entertainment which I've experienced in a long time. Watching this series is like piecing together a puzzle. Thankfully for us jaded couch critics, it's not always predictable where the pieces will fall. The characters begin to develop more and more as the story progresses and by the end of the series, you actually care about all of them. The one character I thought was slightly underdeveloped was Kamimura, whom I still loved.

However, don't go into this expecting some kind of mindless entertainment, because you'll be disappointed. The prose and concepts are complex, but for those who persevere in the series, the rewards are there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word: Amazing, August 12, 2006
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
I was beyond stoked when I found that Broken Saints had come to DVD. One can go on and on about the amount of work that has obviously gone into it, but more importantly is the overall message, which I wouldn't dare ruin or try to sully with my limited vocabulary.

Something like this can have a major effect on you, and I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and Enlightening! The way comic books are supposed to be!!, August 12, 2006
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
This series has been a part of me since it first started. I've followed the series from Chapter I in flash format and now on remastered DVD. The story is a complelling and gripping one with a plot that slowly unravels with each chapter becoming more and more exhilerating up to the climactic ending. Each chapter pulling you closer and closer to the story and each character as they learn more about themselves as well as the forces against them. Visually, the series is amazing. Text and qoutes both familiar and new from various books and historical figures flash across the screen and draw you in while the scenes and animation keep you for the ride. The musical score is beautifully fitting for each scene. Be it sweet and gentle or rough and gritty, the audio effects and musical backgrounds deliver the scene straight into full and compelling view. And with this DVD comes the all new voice narration... something the Flash version lacked but it didn't take away from the effect of the story. With these new voices it completely brings the story from it's comic book state to a level matching that of a full motion picture. BROKEN SAINTS is worth more than 5 stars... This series will keep you asking for more long after you've finished watching the last chapter. And with all the extra features and bonus material included on this exceptional 4-disc set you'll be entertained for days on end. The DVD box artwork is enough to make you want to open it and pop Disc 1 into the DVD player as soon as you look at it. For those of you who like cliffhanger endings on your television series... for those of you who love climactic and vindicative endings... for those of you who enjoy an in-depth and gripping tale... and for those of you who are open-minded to a brand new experience that will touch and affect you... buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Saints is the best!, December 6, 2006
By 
Josh Bledsoe (Pleasant Hill, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
I originally watched this when it was available online and waited with baited breath for each new chapter, wanting to know where the story would take me next. It is a complex, emotional, fully rewarding experience that got even better on DVD. Broken Saints is truly unique and worthy of a spot on the shelf of any anime buff (or for that matter, anyone who likes engrossing storytelling).

Highly recommended. This will change your life. It's THAT good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Saints...Diamond In the Ruff, May 31, 2006
By 
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
So far all of these reviews are spot on, so there's not much more that I can say. I was introduced to Broken Saints by a friend who has followed it from the very beginning, back when it was online, and let me just tell you...it's an adventure. Other forms of media i.e videogames, movies, or books have their own unique way of engrossing their audiences, but Broken Saints feels a lot like all three. It's an artistic style all it's own, and one that really needs to be appreciated. A lot of hard work and thought has gone into this story, and the creators understand that their audience is very intelligent and able to handle it, although it make take a few times watching it. But hey you get from it what you put in. Haha, i'm starting to get emotional! just go and buy it! Now!!!!

~Dan Pierce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end may be nigh, but the series is great..., May 13, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic (DVD)
"Broken Saints" is not a movie. It is an experience. It is a 12-hour portion of your life that will leave you breathless. I had the joy of watching the series multiple times: the original version on Newgrounds.com, and for each subsequent time, the DVD version, with new art, voice acting by some talented stars, and a wealth of treasures and Easter Eggs.

If you don't enjoy high-end, intelligent dialogue, don't purchase this DVD set; you won't be able to appreciate it. "Broken Saints" is the kind of film in which you must actively participate, trying to understand the nuances as the narrative unfolds. If you feel overwhelmed at times, don't worry. After all, the series deals with overwhelming things: faith, hope, will, and love. It has purposefully lofty goals, and it could have either soared or crashed in a burning heap. Without doubt, "Broken Saints" soars. You will not be able to finish without feeling something, whether it be fear, anger, or (if you truly understand it) hope.

Perhaps the best part about the series is the community. Creator Brooke Burgess is a highly-approachable, charismatic man who keeps the "Broken Saints" website updated regularly for all fans. You always feel welcome. Although I have never met Brooke personally, I consider him a friend. And this is just icing on an already delicious, densely-packed cake.

"Broken Saints" gets a 5 out of 5 and a full recommendation. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic
Broken Saints - The Animated Comic Epic by Brooke Burgess (DVD - 2006)
$19.98 $6.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.