Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent early Tommy Lee Jones effort.
I liked this film. However, I can see why it might offend some devout Catholics. So - if you are a devout Catholic, you have been warned.
It has a quiet way about it, as it leisurely goes through the story of this gentle priest, coming to a crossroads of his life. It is more character oriented - it's not an "action" film, or really even a "mystery" film (even though...
Published on December 9, 2001 by skunktrain

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distraught, Unfaithful, Priest
This was sort of your typical story of a priest who falls in love and doubts his beliefs and needs time to understand how he really feels. It is set apart by the marvelous acting of Tommy Lee Jones who so very well conveys his feelings of confusion and guilt after being intimate with a woman he loves. Although, David Strathairn, appears very briefly he is excellent, as...
Published on February 28, 2009 by Alyson Montemagno


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distraught, Unfaithful, Priest, February 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows (DVD)
This was sort of your typical story of a priest who falls in love and doubts his beliefs and needs time to understand how he really feels. It is set apart by the marvelous acting of Tommy Lee Jones who so very well conveys his feelings of confusion and guilt after being intimate with a woman he loves. Although, David Strathairn, appears very briefly he is excellent, as usual, and draws you in to wanting to know more about this character, his life, his inner most feelings, and his strength, which is apparent by the dignity he portrays in dying. I thought the screenplay was very good, and wish it were a book, so I could really feel everyone's emotions. This was really a magnificent piece of acting by Jones, who was so readable, by putting his feelings right out there. It was too bad, there were no flashbacks with David Strathairn, as his too brief appearance was saddening. He, I think, is too overlooked in his craft. His ability to make himself believable, in any part he takes on is truly amazing. In 'Broken Vows', he draws you in as he is the first actor to really appear, and the camera, doesn't leave his face and his mesmerizing eyes. it draws you in, and he dies, almost immediately. Annette O'Toole is adequate as the love interest, but I would have expected a deeper love interest for Jones. I don't want to give away the ending, which is the only plausable finale. I highly recommend it, not for the storyline but the truly good and convincing acting. It sets the movie apart from others with the same theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent early Tommy Lee Jones effort., December 9, 2001
By 
skunktrain (So. California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I liked this film. However, I can see why it might offend some devout Catholics. So - if you are a devout Catholic, you have been warned.
It has a quiet way about it, as it leisurely goes through the story of this gentle priest, coming to a crossroads of his life. It is more character oriented - it's not an "action" film, or really even a "mystery" film (even though the murder mystery is what moves the plot along).
Supporting actors are great - and there is a wonderful jazz score by Charles Gross. Check out actor David Straithairn (sp?) in a small part (as the murder victim) in the beginning of the film. Other familiar faces will crop up as well, like Frances Fisher, (the mom in "Titanic").
This is a definite departure from the Tommy Lee Jones we have all become used to (in the '90s and beyond). If you are a big Jones fan (like I am) you might want to see this film.
I also wanted to point out: a previous reviewer was confused about many facets to this story. The murder mystery *is* solved, there is nothing ambiguous about it. (...)
Just enjoy the movie - all will be revealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Lee Jones as a priest falling in love while solving a murder..., November 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows (DVD)
This made-for-TV movie had an intriguing premise: Tommy Lee Jones as Father Joseph, a Catholic priest who by chance gives last rites to a dying man, the victim of a stabbing. Taken aback by the man's complete peace with himself and no anger toward his murderer, Jones embarks on a journey to find out more about the man and his religion-less "faith" to answer his own doubts about his efficacy as a priest; along the way he meets the dead man's ex-love, played by Annette O'Toole. Yes, this movie is somewhat formulaic - a murder mystery and a love story with enough forbidden fruit to go around, but it's a fun watch because Jones brings life to his roles no matter the terrain; the problem is his love interest - O'Toole seems forced as a perky artist and an independent modern woman; the chemistry could have been better with an actress more natural and less contrived in her motivations. All in all, if you're a Tommy Lee Jones fan, this is a great summer beach novel as TV fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Temptation, January 24, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Broken Vows [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Although not Catholic, my faith is very strong and I was very hesitant to view a video dealing with such a sensitive subject. However, being a great TLJ fan, I took a chance and my only regret is that I rented the video and did not purchase it to add to my collection.
The ages-old story of faith versus lust is depicted here with such tenderness and such an unusual understanding of human feeling that it draws the viewer into the mind and heart of each character, supurbly portrayed, allowing one to actually feel the anguish of acceptance and the joy of denial in this circumstance.
The ending was surprisingly unexpected leaving the viewer with feelings of joy and sorrow and a lingering sense of "what if. . ."
An entertaining video worth anyone's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this movie very much, September 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows (DVD)
I enjoyed this movie very much. Not only because I like Tommy Lee Jones as an actor, but the movie was really interesting and somewhat a reflection of the human nature. But there is another reason as to why I enjoyed the movie; and that is because I personally knew the little boy, Anthony LaGuerre, that came running looking for the priest at the beginning of the movie. I recommend this movie to anyone. Its a collectible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, January 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows (DVD)
This was OK but you can tell that it's a somewhat cheesy remake of a TV movie. Bought it for Mom, who is a hard core Tommy Lee Jones fan, and she loved it because she had never seen him in a movie where he was so young. For the great Amazon price, it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Product in very good condition., July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows (DVD)
Material came very quickly and was in good condition. The price was excellent.
For a used DVD, the disk played perfectly. I would recommend this supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BROKEN VOWS, May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows (DVD)
I KEPT WAITING TO SEE THIS MOVIE AGAIN ON TV BUT NEVER ON WHEN I WAS LOOKING FOR IT, ETC. I DECIDED TO PURCHASE IT. GREAT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD's, July 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows (DVD)
The Broken Vows DVD arrived on time and in excellent condition. I thoroughly enjoyed viewing the DVD. I highly recommend this DVD to anyone who enjoys mysteries with some romance included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Vows, April 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Vows (DVD)
If you're a Tommy Lee Jones van, you'll like this movie. It's not an action packed movie but very entertaining - especially for women. I suppose guys would classify this as a "chick flick".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Broken Vows
Broken Vows by Tommy Lee Jones (DVD - 2005)
$29.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.