Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A USEFUL and beautiful cookbook. A Definite Keeper!
I received this fantastic cookbook today and read it cover to cover. It is filled with recipes that are articulated in a way that makes it easy, yet would lead guests to proclaim your genuis. The Blue Ribbon Restaurant in SoHo, NYC is famous for it's late nights, delicious, interesting food and Chef sightings.

The recipes have stories, pictures and step by...
Published on April 30, 2010 by Sparkle

versus
1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bromberg Bros Blue Ribbon Cook Book
too restauranty. On the high end side for home cooking. Expected something else, nothing really caught my interest for my family.
Published on October 27, 2010 by Edith Skidmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A USEFUL and beautiful cookbook. A Definite Keeper!, April 30, 2010
By 
Sparkle (Northern Virginia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
I received this fantastic cookbook today and read it cover to cover. It is filled with recipes that are articulated in a way that makes it easy, yet would lead guests to proclaim your genuis. The Blue Ribbon Restaurant in SoHo, NYC is famous for it's late nights, delicious, interesting food and Chef sightings.

The recipes have stories, pictures and step by step instructions that are easily followed. At times when an ingredient or a technique is used in a surprising way, like brown and white sugar on frizzled leeks, or Matzoh flour for extra crispiness on fried chicken, there is always a story of why it makes a difference. The "make ahead" or "will hold on the counter" tips are super helpful.

For the everyday cook, there are plenty of recipes to keep your family happy and fed, with a little twist; like Cripsy Cornish Game Hens and Really Good Brisket For the adventurous cook, you can't go wrong; their famous Marrow Bones with Oxtail Marmalade recipe is included in the book. You can really knock your guests socks off with these simple but impressive dishes.

Besides the great recipes and the "blue ribbon wisdom" snippets (that give great tips) I think what I loved most of all was the humility and thankfulness the Bromberg brothers showed when incorporating the personal stories about the Chef's, cooks, family and friends that were there along the way.

If you love to cook, this one is for you. I can't wait to begin making some of these dishes. This will be one of my most used cookbooks.

I also can't wait for my next trip back to NYC, for another late night at The Blue Ribbon on Sullivan! It's a welcoming place where "dinner" at 2am feels like 10pm, the place is so respectfully lively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blue Ribbon Restaurant cooking, April 27, 2010
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
The Bromberg brothers have made a cookbook from recipes used at their late night restaurant. Most are not that difficult or complicated, they could even be used by a dedicated beginning cook. There are stories in each section of their cooking philosophy and pictures for almost every recipe. Blue Ribbon wisdom bits give very good advice; such as: cleaning clams/shellfish, using garlic, soufflés- is it done yet? and perfect scrambled eggs are just some of the subjects.
One example of the type of recipe found, is our family's favorite that also uses up our garden squash, is simple and yet impressive for company: arugula and butternut squash salad.
There are a few sources for ingredients and an index by ingredient, name and photograph.
The sections covered are: snacks, appetizers, soups and salads, main dishes, vegetables and sides, desserts, breakfast and brunch, sandwiches, sauces, stocks and condiments, including a great and easy recipe on how to make garlic dill pickles.
In total, it's a good cookbook, interesting and even better if you are a fan of the Bromberg's restaurants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular easy results, May 29, 2010
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
I highly recommend this cookbook. I made the Blue Ribbon Pulled Pork from the cookbook for a party last weekend and it was FANTASTIC! Everyone loved it so much we are doing it again for a graduation party for my daughter next weekend. We also made the cole slaw which was spectacular, and the egg salad with their homemade mayonaisse which was excellent. My 18 year old daughter has tried 6 or 7 of the other recipies (including french toast, fried chicken steak, scookies) all with excellent results. It is even fun to read this cookbook - the stories about the recipies and the restaurants are really fun. Great great cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drool!, January 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
What a home slice! This cookbook is a must-own because of it's depth of flavor, meaty goodness, and creamy base. Everything in here really is precious and yet still all-American. Yes, some of the recipes are time consuming, but they're surprisingly straight forward and a good bit of fun. For example the pulled pork sandwich recipe required hours of simmering but was it ever worth it! I had no idea I was capable of making a mean homemade bbq sauce, but now I can. If you aren't in for a long hearty American adventure you might at least want this for the buttermilk pancake recipe. It's the only pancake recipe that I have run across that mixes light and fluffy with broad and thick. They say in the book that its a combination recipe between a crepe and a pancake. I think it's magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recipes, January 8, 2012
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
This book is worth it's weight in gold. I am a collector of cookbooks and have a lot of books filled with fancy photographs that deliver average recipes. This book is packed with 5 star keepers! Seriously, the fried chicken and matzo ball soup make the book worth the price just for 2 incredible recipes. I can't wait to cook my way through this entire book. Completely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fried Chicken Ever, May 24, 2010
By 
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
I watched the Bromberg Bros. on Martha Stewart and made the fried chicken that they had shown. It was unbelievable. Light, crispy and full of flavor. I am now purchasing the cookbook to test there other recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying, fine pick for any cookbook collection, July 18, 2010
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook showcases the authors' cooking from the late-night New York City chef hangout. Color photos pepper coverage of such innovative dishes as Sweet Frizzled Leeks, Raisin Walnut Bread, Smoky Bacon and Garlic Soup, and more. The authors specialize in elevating American homestyle dishes to the next level, making this a satisfying, fine pick for any cookbook collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, February 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
Okay,so I do collect cookbooks! This one has the advantage that it's really good. The recipes really taste good so people actually eat the food when your done cooking. So many cookbooks offer what would seem like workable recipes but after you spend the time preparing it ,the finished result is not good...the ingredients just don't come together to make something that makes you smile when you are eating it. That is not the case with this book. Take a recipe, make it and you will enjoy it and so will your guests and they will smile too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cook book, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
I like the pictures and the easy recipes, tell detail of how to cook. Would recommend it highly. quick response time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an awesome cookbook!, April 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking (Hardcover)
This is one of the best cookbooks I've managed to get my hands on. It really inspires you to want to cook. Pretty much everything you see looks wonderful. Buy the book, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking
Bromberg Bros. Blue Ribbon Cookbook: Better Home Cooking by Melissa Clark (Hardcover - April 6, 2010)
Used & New from: $5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.