Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful!
Stunning book showcasing Brooklyn craftsmen. I love seeing the slower pace of New York--the dedication to a craft and the creation of a beautiful product.
Published 20 months ago by Elise

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty but slight
This book is like a series of magazine articles--brief, insubstantial ones, with maybe half a dozen Q&A questions, 5-8 photos, and an intro paragraph for each. The photos are attractive, but with many of the artists, I couldn't get a sense of what their work actually looked like. One of the jewelry designers: no clue at all what she made. The full-page photo accompanying...
Published 18 months ago by Laksmi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty but slight, January 24, 2013
By 
Laksmi (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brooklyn Makers: Food, Design, Craft, and Other Scenes from a Tactile Life (Paperback)
This book is like a series of magazine articles--brief, insubstantial ones, with maybe half a dozen Q&A questions, 5-8 photos, and an intro paragraph for each. The photos are attractive, but with many of the artists, I couldn't get a sense of what their work actually looked like. One of the jewelry designers: no clue at all what she made. The full-page photo accompanying some candy maker looked partly like a half-sheet pan of tomato sauce, which I suspect it's not, and it's mostly out of focus because of the close up. One section on a florist was very pretty, but I felt like I was getting eyestrain trying to figure out what one of her arrangements might look like. Etc. I know it's not a catalog but I'd prefer to have a stronger sense of what the makers actually make, rather than just an artfully arranged still life of materials, or a close-up of a cup of tea or of someone's hands. Apparently artists spend a lot of time styling things and don't actually get materials dirty. The photos seemed to convey more about the aesthetic of the photographer than the creative vision or characters of the artists themselves, unless they are all similar. Maybe it is supposed to be more of a celebration of creativity in general. The book gives a sense of the fertile creative scene in Brooklyn--which can be, yes, precious--and it's fun to see what people are up to, but I guess I was hoping for more insight and more visual inspiration from a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful!, November 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brooklyn Makers: Food, Design, Craft, and Other Scenes from a Tactile Life (Paperback)
Stunning book showcasing Brooklyn craftsmen. I love seeing the slower pace of New York--the dedication to a craft and the creation of a beautiful product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book!, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brooklyn Makers: Food, Design, Craft, and Other Scenes from a Tactile Life (Paperback)
For my Daughter in law . she loved it. being a Brooklyn native she appreciated the local artists. recommended.
A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Make make make ..., January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brooklyn Makers: Food, Design, Craft, and Other Scenes from a Tactile Life (Paperback)
An inspiration and oh so close by ... makes it almost like a trip to Brooklyn to visit them ... sort of ... a lovely book indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Stories, October 18, 2013
This review is from: Brooklyn Makers: Food, Design, Craft, and Other Scenes from a Tactile Life (Paperback)
I love this book and the Brooklynites featured. The short interviews and beautiful photography will make you want to start your own creative business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This!!!, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brooklyn Makers: Food, Design, Craft, and Other Scenes from a Tactile Life (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book. Excellent photography, incredible makers and overall just a great quality book!! I definitely recommend this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Brooklyn Makers: Food, Design, Craft, and Other Scenes from a Tactile Life
Brooklyn Makers: Food, Design, Craft, and Other Scenes from a Tactile Life by Jennifer Causey (Paperback - November 7, 2012)
$24.95 $18.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.