Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 11, 2008
While the movie itself is a very entertaining John Astin vehicle, the DVD is terribly disappointing. It's completely unrestored with severe film scratches, sparkles and audio pops throughout.
And to add insult to injury, there is a rather large, dark and distracting watermark in the lower right corner of the screen.
If you're looking for a high quality release of this film, look elsewhere.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
I first saw this movie back in the 70's. It is one of my favorites, though there is no accounting for taste. John Astin is one of my all time favorite actors, and spread his fame in the Adams Family TV show. If you like this, you will most likely enjoy the Attack of the Killer Tomatoes and the sequel, the Return of the Killer Tomatoes if you can find a copy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 21, 2010
A generous 3 stars.

I've seen so many films after four decades of viewing that I'm trolling around trying to find unknown classics.
Caught a minnow this time.

Astin can be very funny and is the only real highlight here, but the script is so ham-handed it doesn't give him much to work with. The occasional funny line shines here and there, but the trope of satirizing westerns has been done so well elsewhere that it needs to be great to really carry one's interest, and Brothers O'Toole is almost never great. Good-hearted, yes, but that's about it.

It's the kind of film you were delighted to find at 3 am on your local tv channel in 1977, but it's now 2010 and we have literally tens of thousands of movies to choose from on tv, online, and at the vid store. In that light, it's hard to recommend watching this until one has seen maybe 500 other westerns. It's too slapstick and not quite as smart as it wants to be; one gets the feeling that half the cast and crew were in some way inebriated during the production, and it all feels like a sort of hippie-made western that never really comes off.

By the way, my tv analogy is no fluke: this print is from a tv airing! The print is fair, the transfer likewise...but get this: at various moments throughout, there's a TCM logo on the bottom right (Turner Classic Movies, probably). Yes, they made this dvd from a tv copy. I don't think I've ever seen that before. Yet somehow it's perfect, as that's what this feels like: a barely decent tv movie. Still, how did this get pressed for public consumption?! And also btw, the dvd is the barest bones ever, with one option: PLAY.

We got quite bored before it was halfway through, and laudable brevity is one of the best things about this movie. But unless you love Astin, and even then have seen most of his other films, I'd put this one near the bottom of your list.

Many and maybe most forgotten films were forgotten for a reason. Brothers O'Toole is certainly one of them. Not terrible, but neither is it very good. It's kinda like the Scooby-Doo of westerns: vaguely funny for the irony but after 30 minutes it's time to go mow the lawn.

Or at least change the channel.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2005
Quirky western comedy starring John Astin (Gomez from the Addams Family TV series) in a dual role, as Michael O'Toole, sophisticated eastern con man; and as "Desperate" Ambrose, a seedy western bandito. O'Toole finds himself in a dilapidated mining town in western Colorado, named "Molybdenum"; but the residents can't pronounce it, so they call the town "Molly-Be-Damn". O'Toole is mistaken for Ambrose and arrested, but is acquitted at trial before a weary and confused circuit judge. When O'Toole tries to open a casino with stored gambling equipment, the mayor tries to sabotage opening day by hosting a "Belchin, Cussin, and Spittin Contest". Michael's brother Timothy enters the contest and draws the wrath of Michael, who lets loose a memorable speech that wins the cussin contest although it contains no cussing. If you like John Astin, and off-beat comedies, you will enjoy this movie. It's one of my favorite western comedies, and one that seems to have slipped under the radar for most people.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
A western-farce based around a case of mistaken identity. It has not aged as well as "Blazing Saddles" - but for its tiime it must've held some interest. I won't be watching it again, and wouldn't recommend it, unless someone had a particular interest in Northen New Mexico.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
First off let me state that I like John Astin very much. Since I have admitted this I found this movie to be pretty entertaining.
When his character went to the east it got interesting, and when he chucked it all and went back west it was good also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
This is a pretty entertaining little movie. It isn't as brash or as entertaining as Blazing Saddles but it's fine for what it is. Decent cast of recognizable talent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
Probably not a highly rated film but they told their story in a humorous way. Once it got going it had a good pace and kept the interest.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
This sat in my queue forever. I finally got to watch it all the way through. Funny in parts, but not something I would watch again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
A silly spoof on westerns. Easier to take than Blazing saddles. It seemed like something put together by a bunch of kids.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$1.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.