Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Learning so much"
This book is fantastic! I truly enjoyed the stories leading into each recipe. It made me feel as if it let me into a warm and personal side of Joyce White's life. This made reading these recipes interesting and fun.
I've always had a problem with picking out fresh fruit. However, Brown Sugar takes the guesswork out of it. I was so enlighten with the details on...
Published on July 19, 2003 by Johnell Derrick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars different
this book is great if you are looking for different deserts. It didn't have the more traditional old fashioned receipes that i was looking for, that was the only disappointment.
Published 4 months ago by m. davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Learning so much", July 19, 2003
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic! I truly enjoyed the stories leading into each recipe. It made me feel as if it let me into a warm and personal side of Joyce White's life. This made reading these recipes interesting and fun.
I've always had a problem with picking out fresh fruit. However, Brown Sugar takes the guesswork out of it. I was so enlighten with the details on how to select the freshest fruits. With the knowledge I've gained, I ventured into preparing a scrumptious dessert for friends. My choice was the "Fresh Berry Compote". It was a hit and the instructions were so easy to follow.
Brown Sugar is a wonderful soul food dessert book that I really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY DELICIOUS!, May 11, 2003
By 
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers (RAWSISTAZ.com and BlackBookReviews.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
BROWN SUGAR: SOUL FOOD DESSERTS FROM FAMILY AND FRIENDS is a cookbook filled with mouth-watering, delicious treats. There are seven chapters in the book devoted to various sweet reasures including, cakes, cookies, pies, puddings, candies, ice cream, and fruit desserts. Inserted before each recipe is a homey vignette describing a personal experience of the author or contributor.
The recipes are easy to follow, and Ms. White provides common sense advice throughout the book on obtaining maximum results from the recipes. Even the novice baker will be able to follow the instructions and end up with winning results. BROWN SUGAR is a "must-have" cookbook for discerning and freshman bakers alike.
Reviewed by Diane Marbury (HonestD)
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Bliss, January 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
"Food for the soul" is an excellent way to describe the wonderfully soothing experience a person feels after eating any one of the treats from Joyce White's cookbook "Brown Sugar." Right now, just thinking about the "sweet potatoe pie" brings a smile to my face and that "chocolate cheesecake" makes my mouth water. ummmmmm, "Brown Sugar."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully delicious, November 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
As warm and homey as the smell of freshly baked bread, Brown Sugar welcomes you to enjoy a rich and diverse collection of sweets. Candy, cookies, pies, cakes, ice cream and more are all featured in a collection of recipes featuring a wide variety of classics and favorites.

This is also one of those delectable cookbooks you like to snuggle up with and read cover to cover. Mixing practical advice with a wide range of personal family history, White writes the book in such a way that when you close it, you feel like a member of her family.

But even better than that, the recipes themselves are crafted with simple, everyday utensils, using ingredients that are common and can be found at the local store.

There are no pictures of the food, but that is a small price to pay for such a rich bounty of delicious, easy to make desserts.

Highest possible recommendations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends, July 31, 2008
By 
A. Raczkowski (Brooklyn, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
Wonderful Book. The recipes are unique but not difficult. The book has great tips on the types of pans to use, where to place your pan in the oven and an education on "brown sugar". Who knew there were so many different types of brown sugar! I would recommend this book to anyone that loves to bake and would love to show off something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Recipes, August 8, 2010
By 
Karen J. Dodson (Hendersonville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
This book has some of the most amazing soul food dessert recipes I've ever tried! Being a life-long Southerner, I have many recipes for soul food desserts in my collection, but this book includes them all (and more) in one volume. I highly recommend this. You won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet soul food to warm the heart, September 14, 2008
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
In Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends, Joyce White, author of Soul Food: Recipes and Reflections from African-American Churches, turns her attention to sweet endings. Brown Sugar gathers traditional Southern comfort desserts such as lacy wafer cookies, pecan sand tarts, gingersnaps, chocolate spice cake, a fluffy coconut peach cake, pineapple iced cake, cobblers and pies (including sweet potato and spicy molasses pecan), puddings and custards, candies and homemade ice creams. In terms of repertoire, it's similar to Patty Pinner's Sweets: Soul Food Desserts & Memories, but White includes numerous helpful hints for presentation and how-to's.

There are no photographs, but the recipes include introductions that explain the origin of the recipes and handy sidebars. There are also numerous substitutions and variations suggested if you're looking to branch out, or perhaps to experiment with a more adventurous flavor combination (like substituting cardamom for cinnamon in a coffee cake). There's a chapter devoted to fruits, so if you're looking for a lighter finale, you'll find numerous baked fruits and compotes. These foolproof gems are a wonderful way to slow down and reconnect with a simpler time, and the delicious smells that will be coming out of your kitchen are sure to attract friends and neighbors, who might then sit down for a well-deserved chat over a slice of freshly baked cake or pie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars different, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
this book is great if you are looking for different deserts. It didn't have the more traditional old fashioned receipes that i was looking for, that was the only disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slurp, May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
The author provides wonderful , correct ( and I hardly need say how important that is with so many slapped together , untested , and just plain WRONG recipes/cookbooks out there ) recipes , charming family tales , gentle humor and is clearly an expert cook. YUMMY ! This retired cook found it a lovely window into our culinary (specifically Dessert ) history and thoroughly reccomends this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 7, 2014
This review is from: Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends (Hardcover)
Item just as described fast shipping. Will shop again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends
Brown Sugar: Soul Food Desserts from Family and Friends by Joyce White (Hardcover - January 21, 2003)
$24.95 $22.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.