Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of the NWOBHM Vocal God!!!
Excellent read, about the living legend Bruce (Bruce) Dickinson. The voice that gave birth to thousands of imitators but no duplicators. Joe Shooman's book does a wonderful job of covering the life and times of Dickinson and even if you're a hardcore fan there's going to be something scattered through the many pages that will make you say "I didn't know that". Even if you...
Published on September 13, 2009 by D. SCHROEDER

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like reading a farmers almanac
I have read dozens of bio's on musicians. For the most part all are entertaining and personal.
This book I struggled to get through the first chapter. Read like a minute by minute timeline.
A book of facts and listings. Nothing creative or imaginative.

Yes the author did his research, but the book is like reading a Wikipedia entry.

Maybe I...
Published on October 19, 2010 by Lars


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of the NWOBHM Vocal God!!!, September 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo (Paperback)
Excellent read, about the living legend Bruce (Bruce) Dickinson. The voice that gave birth to thousands of imitators but no duplicators. Joe Shooman's book does a wonderful job of covering the life and times of Dickinson and even if you're a hardcore fan there's going to be something scattered through the many pages that will make you say "I didn't know that". Even if you do know it all (which I doubt) it's still a great bio which pulls from so many sources and voices to help tell the story of one of the most down to earth icons that has graced the music world.

From Bruce's singing days pre Samson, with Samson, Iron Maiden, his illustrious solo career, side projects, and his return back into Maiden, Shooman covers all the bases and then some. His busy personal life, hobbies, interests, ideas, you name, you'll read about.

As a fan from the first time I heard the "Air raid siren" voice, I've certainly amassed an impressive collection of all things Dickinson, and this bio is now among the treasure collection.

Buy It Read It Love It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Man!!, November 2, 2007
This review is from: Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo (Paperback)
This is a must for any Iron Maiden fan. Bruce is a very intelligent man & seems to have no plan to slow down any time soon which is great for the world. I enjoyed reading this book and will read it over to make sure I have not missed anything. Up the Irons!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden England!, September 18, 2010
This review is from: Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo (Paperback)
Good book, very well written and well researched. As an American I find the "English" nature of this book a little difficult to fully understand, but not really. By that I mean the English have a different sense of humor and wit than us Americans, a much drier humor, and a droll wit. It makes a few phrases hard to comprehend, but nothing too much that takes away from the overall read.

If you are an Iron Maiden fanatic, especially a Bruce fanatic, this book is for you. It goes into great detail of his time in Samson and his time as a solo artist after Bruce left Maiden, and the flaws that led to the failure of some of the albums recorded by both.

Overall I found it to be an interesting read, filling in many of the questions and gaps I had about the whole history of Iron Maiden. It also shows what a truly energetic and passionate man Bruce is, not only about music but about his other pursuits like fencing, writing and flying. I highly recommend it to any heavy metal fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like reading a farmers almanac, October 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo (Paperback)
I have read dozens of bio's on musicians. For the most part all are entertaining and personal.
This book I struggled to get through the first chapter. Read like a minute by minute timeline.
A book of facts and listings. Nothing creative or imaginative.

Yes the author did his research, but the book is like reading a Wikipedia entry.

Maybe I will try reading it again but as of now it's a very boring book with no personality in it.

Looking at the cover one would think it was written or a least authorised by Bruce. But this is neither.

Should have know by the first chapter on world wars and politics. What's that have to do with Bruce? Yes he may have been born around that time but 4 pages on it?

Last time I buy a Unofficial and Unauthorised bio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Book, June 20, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo (Paperback)
It's great, great information about bruce's lice and details about maiden that only real fans will appreciate! Great Book man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Author clearly an enthusiastic fan..., February 23, 2014
This review is from: Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo (Paperback)
This is an unofficial biography so, of course, there is absolutely no interview or quote made by Bruce or the guys from Maiden specifically for this book.

However, there are direct interviews by producers and musicians who were at sometims closely realted to Dickinson, like Chris Tsangarides, Kevin Olsen, drummer Thunderstick, and the musicians from the Skunkworks period.

The thing that annoyed me sometimes during the reading of the book, is the fact that the writer is clearly an unapologetic fan of all things Bruce and Maiden, no quarter given or taken. Other than pissing at some people's meal while a boy in school, it seems that the author is sure that Bruce was a role model for his whole life...

The book also does not mention at all why Dickinson started taking flying lessons, what was the desire and motivation behind it. And, of course, the book says that Janick Gers is a very talented and majestic guitarist...

Anyway, I thought it to be a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A loyal fan, January 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo (Paperback)
I was excited when this came in the mail, and I was not disappointed with it at all. Bruce is an intresting man who happens to be a living polymath. I re-read it and once again enjoyed it. I have always been a big fan of his and after reading this it gave me more insight on the man I looked up too. There is no doubt in my mind that he wont continue to impress and I look forward to the coming things he decides to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo
Bruce Dickinson: Flashing Metal with "Maiden" and Flying Solo by Joe Shooman (Paperback - June 7, 2007)
Used & New from: $119.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.