Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mecha Series
"Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040" is a remake of the 80's OAV anime "Bubblegum Crisis 2032" and it's TV sequal "Bubblegum Crash". I've not seen the originals, but I know "2032" is considered a classic.
Storywise, we follow the antics of a group known as Knight Sabers. These are four girls who have day jobs but at night, they come...
Published on April 12, 2003 by AstroNerdBoy

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Hold a Prayer to the Excellent Original OVA series.
If you've already seen the excellent OVAs and follow-up "Bubblegum Crash Series" & are expecting much of the same with Bubblegum Crisis 2040, then you are in for a big disappointment. With many changes from its 2 predecessors, BGC 2040 is an inferior re-make in every way. The wise and elder Sylia Stingray is now 24-years old with long hair. She is less prudent than her...
Published on July 13, 2007 by A Travel Book Lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mecha Series, April 12, 2003
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
"Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040" is a remake of the 80's OAV anime "Bubblegum Crisis 2032" and it's TV sequal "Bubblegum Crash". I've not seen the originals, but I know "2032" is considered a classic.
Storywise, we follow the antics of a group known as Knight Sabers. These are four girls who have day jobs but at night, they come together to destroy rogue boomers. Boomers are androids that can look like machines all the way to nearly human. While an organization known as AD Police was created to deal with the boomer problem, only the vigilante Knight Sabers have any luck dealing with them.
The story at first feels very much like a female version of Batman. You have the rich Sylia Stingray who's the Bruce Wayne/Batman. Priss, Nene, and Linna are the Robin, Nightwing, and Batgirl. However, after several episodes, the series lost the Batman feel as the series begins to shift into an almost non-stop action fest. There is some humor and some romance to make this series better rounded than it otherwise would have been.
DVD-wise, I wasn't that impressed with the Engish dub. The Engish subtitles for the Japanese audio is pretty good though I wish that at times the font color/shading had been clearer. Some fansubbers do a better job at subtitles than the official ones.
There are 6 DVD's in this set. Discs 1-4 contain 4 episodes and discs 5-6 contain 5 episodes. Be warned that each DVD starts with ADV previews so you'll have to hit "Menu" to bypass all that. There are no real extras to speak of. Surpising to me is the fact that there is a Spanish dub in addition to the English dub. So those who want to watch this in Spanish may do so.
Bottom line: This is a really good mecha anime title with a story that will keep you glued to your seat most of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Collection at the Perfect Price, August 2, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
I first caught BGC Tokyo 2040 at a local anime convention, and proceeded to start hunting around for the DVDs as soon as I could. As a remake of the original Bubblegum Crisis, it does a good job of updating it with better animation and good mecha and character designs and the Perfect Collection's price is perfect, being far lower than the individual discs as there's only one large box and only one insert. While I miss the cover art on each disc, this is a good investment for someone who wants to get the whole series but doesn't want to spend twice the money getting it individually.
My main complaints with this collection would probably stem from two things: the ADV trailers which take up about fifteen or so minutes at the front of each disc, and some of the English voice acting. There are times when I switch to the Japanese just to avoid some of the voices, but some purists would argue this is the only way to enjoy the series.
Is it worth the money? Yes, I'd say the collection is worth it for the relatively low price and good entertainment value it represents. It's not the best anime, but it's fun and is slickly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sequel to the Bubblegum Crisis, December 12, 2004
By 
Roman Numeral (Colorado Springs, CO (USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
Synopsis:
The much talked about remake of the classic Bubblegum Crisis OAV series. The year is 2040, the place Mega-Tokyo. Armed with highly advanced suits of powered armor, a group of young female vigilantes fights a shadow war against the largest mega-corporation in Japan, GENOM, and their army of mad "Boomers": androids built to replace humans in menial labor jobs, but which have an annoying tendency to run rampant.

[Note: Check out my review on the Bubblegum Crisis Boxset]

Review: Compared to the original OAV (Bubblegum Crisis), I find the characters much more endearing and believable. Though some may not like the new character designs. For those that favor the original better...shame! The way the plot has been reworked makes a lot more sense, while the character designs may have changed, the mecha designs are just like the original, only more smoothly animated and spiced up with CG effects. I'm not complaining.

Leaving the original, the story takes a step back and describes how the Knight Sabers were originally formed, rather than dumping the viewer right into the middle of an ongoing story. Lots of detail went into humanizing the various cast members. From Nene's snack habits, to Priss's icy mercenary attitude, to Linna trying on her suit for the first time...the characters improve on characterization.

The music is mostly hard rock and pop. The opening and ending themes are both well done. At first, I thought the ending theme was stupid from not really hearing any music. The beginning of the end theme is a bit weird, but turns out rather well.

The end of the series has come, though there may be more to come. I doubt. The ending was a bit unatural to its condition. The love craves and future clean-up were not present when needed.

In all, this is a fitting tribute to the original Bubblegum Crisis. In fact, in terms of character development and action it may have even improved upon the original in some respects. The typically Japanese open ending to the series may disappoint fans who like more closure to their anime, but aside from that, BGC 2040 is a solid, action-packed, sci-fi anime. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remake of the classic 1980s series!, November 12, 2002
By 
Eric A Joseph (Hummelstown, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
If you didn't know, Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 is the remake of the classic series Bubblegum Crisis and Bubblegum Crash. Although this was originally called a "techno punk" series, that feeling is only left to spice up the series, not give it a new flavor altogether. The characters are made far more realistic in this series, the Knight Sabers organization isn't made to be as fragile or omnipotent as it was in the other two series, and the plot is taken to its fullest extent.
In the year 2040, seven years has gone by since the great earthquake of 2033. The city has been rebuilt from its base on up by the Genom corporation, and its primary product is a type of worker robot called boomers. However, boomers sometimes go "rogue," meaning that they lose their original core structuring and change into a monster that has the tendency to ravage the city. The police can't stop them, so the task is left up to the Knight Sabers, a group of female mercenaries (who eventually turn into heroes) with advanced weaponry.
Most of the series is taken from the viewpoint of Linna Yamazaki, although other viewers may disagree about the true viewpoint. Although she may be a "country bumpkin," she is far more complex than that. She comes off as being naive and a bit silly at times, but beneath that lies the glue that often times keeps the Knight Sabers together. She refuses to take trouble from anybody, and will often stick up for other people without first thinking out the situation. At the beginning of the series, she is trying to join the Knight Sabers, but she never sees it as another job, but rather a chance to help stop rogue boomers from hurting people and the city that she has just become apart of.
Priscilla Asagiri (commonly just refered to as Priss) is the typical hard rock and biker woman. She is often times antisocial, very quiet, and aggressive. This is amplified by the fact that she joined the Knight Sabers for the money and for the thrill of combat with rogue boomers. She has a deep love for motorcycles and for her music. Although her hard rock band isn't very big yet, they tour the local clubs in Tokyo, but can often be found at Hot Legs nightclub. Later in the series, the tough attitude begins to wear off of Priss, as she begins to show more affection towards others, and she stops critizing others altogether.
Sylvia Stingray is the original creator of the Knight Sabers, which is backed by a large amount of capital generated by both her businesses and by the large inheritance that her father left her upon his death. She is usually found providing the Knight Sabers with support in the rear of the action, giving informational reports and letting them know their situation, even though she is an excellent combatant with her hard suit. Despite her sexy appearence and her sometimes very feminine comments, Sylvia is prone to extreme outbursts of fury and disgust, which are usually triggered by mentioning either Genom or boomers. Despite her fragile emotional bubble, she is usually quite calm, competent, and demonstrates numerous leadership qualities. However, Sylvia knows a lot more about the boomers and Genom than she is willing to mention to the rest of the Knight Sabers, and we only begin to learn their relationship later in the series.
Nene Romanova is the "baby" of the Knight Sabers. While she is 18 and works for the A.D. Police, she sometimes acts half her age. She is usually teased because of her young age, and her demeanor only enhances the reasons why. She is childlike, bashful, and is far more playful than even Linna is. In the Knight Sabers, she is the worst in combat, however, she more than makes up for that with her intellect and excellent hacking skills. She can usually dig up information on Genom and boomers by hacking through the net, and more often than not, she is forced to hack directly into Genom.
The plot is quite good. Although it may seem like the "boomer of the week" phenomenon at the start of the series, the main storyline is still followed, but takes full hold of the series roughly around episode 10. From that point on, its a nonstop ride with mostly action, and a little bit of comedy and romance thrown in to spice things up when it seems like it may be boring. Take note that at this point, they will begin to get more technical, with a more philosophical edge rounding out the end of the series.
The english dubbing was decent. The only points that can be marked as "Very Bad" would be when Priss is singing. When she does, the words and lip movements do not match at all, but you won't really notice that. The one part that this series didn't pass up on was a good musical soundtrack. Priss's songs, even in the english dubbing, are quite good (if hard rock is your thing), and the background music add that little extra to scenes.
If you are a fan of the older series Bubblegum Crisis and Bubblegum Crash, you should definitely see Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040. It adds a lot more to each of the main characters, and even the more minor characters in the older series are made more important and taken to a much further extent. I'd have to say that this series surpasses the other's in the music department as well, which was something that made them an underground classic. The DVD's have some nice extras, however, you may want to skip through the ADV previews at the beginning of each DVD if you don't feel like being enticed into buying some other good anime series. Still, once you begin to watch this series, you'll soon forget the previews and your eyes won't leave the screen except to put in the next DVD. =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An EXCELLENT Series!!, June 26, 2002
By 
Jai Normosone (Petrie, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
I watched this series both when it was on TV, and again when they were released on DVD here (a few months ago now).
Being a continuation of the original Bubblegum Crisis series answers a few questions I had when I first saw this series. There were references to indicate that Sylia had worn a suit before, but there had been no sign of her wearing one in this series.
I would rate the storyline as being fairly shallow at first, staying with the series due to the excellent animation, but I found after about the first few episodes that the storyline was keeping me enthralled, and I got so that I couldn't wait for the next episode (shown next week (TV series)).
As with many series', there was a few episodes midway through that seemed to be a bit silly, almost as though the makers were trying to pad it out, but this was rare (and I could be wrong).
If you like suspenseful finishes, this series has it - every episode leaves you hanging with someone in mortal danger, or some new creature (Boomer) that seems almost unbeatable.
The only problem I have with the DVDs is the extended advertisements for ADV when you first put the disk in, but this isn't really a problem. I might add that the starting and ending title sequences tend to go for far too long, but they are made as chapters in themselves, and are easy to skip (referring to Australian release). The extras on the discs are excellent with good bio's on the characters and the equipment they use.
If you have a surround sound setup with a subwoofer attached, you will not be disappointed as the action sequences usually start with a lot of bass that will have your chair bouncing on the floor (not overdone though....).
I found myself to be constantly amazed at the english voices done for the characters - it added to the characters being strong and independent women, but also allowed them *some* weaknesses as well. To be frank, the characters showed more depth than most 'live' people on sitcoms and chat shows.
If you are tired of Manga Women being thin as sticks with big chests, you will be pleased here as the main characters have more 'realistic' dimensions. They are still very tall and thin and elegant looking, but they don't have these humungous [breasts] distracting you from the story by making you wonder how they manage to stand up!
If you like serials and Manga material, you will not be disappointed. The comparable series here in Australia still sells for about Aus$[money] (about US$[money]).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, July 30, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
I've never been a huge fan of anime (probably due more to a lack of having access to it than anything else) but Bubblegum Crisis 2040 is the first series I watched and simply couldn't stop watching after the first few episodes. I have all of the individual discs and love the cover art on all of them so I doubt I'd part with those to upgrade to this version.
Still, this is a much more affordable way of owning the series than buying the discs individually from a retailer. Although I've watched only a few complete anime series since I got hooked with BGC 2040, this is by FAR my favorite series. I feel it's really accessible and enjoyable for new fans as well as old and I'm surprised it hasn't achieved more mainstream success in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This show Rocks, October 14, 2002
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
Hehe where do I begin. Hot chix's, kick @#% robots, 80's rock music, and lots of fighting. To me this is the biggest "sleeper" anime I have seen so far. When I heard Bubblegum Crisis, Im thinking "great a city with a Bubblegum Crisis on its hand, some Anime" but it is far from that. These past 2 months I have purchased an insane amount of anime off of Amazon.com (All of Rurouni Kenshin, Gundam Wing, Trigun, Escaflowne, BlueSeed, Fushigi Yugi, X, Arc the Lad...the list keeps going) and this one took me by complete surprise, and I couldn't have started watching it at a better time. I was about halfway through the first set of Fushigi Yugi, and dont get me wrong, its a great anime, but I was gettin a little tired of the "Oh Tamahome"...."Oh Miaka" over and over each episode that I needed a break. I picked up Bubblegum Crisis 2040, and lookout man I was hit with a wild left jab out of no where. The rock music instantly grabs you, and unlike most other Anime (i say most) the first episode grabs you right off the bat with a dispute between 2 of the main characters. From there it is non-stop action as you watch these chix battle it out in their hardsuits one [bottom]whoopin after another. The only reason I couldn't watch this straight through in one day was work. I got the series on Monday though and was finished by Thursday. The only thing I thought was weird throughout the anime was Sylia's temper. The reason I say this is beacuse everytime she gets upset she ends up throwing or dropping a glass. The first time she did it, i thought ok shes [upset], I understand. But it happenes again throughtout the anime like 4 more times, and I just thought it was kind of weird. The last thing I will say about this series is that it has a definte AW YEAH factor to it. I found myself many times during the boomer fights goin AW YEAH! As with my other reviews, this only got 4 stars because it is not my favorite anime (close second to Rurouni Kenshin's 25 DVD's of goodness - but nuthin beats the Battousai!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still dont know, WHERES THE BUBBLEGUM!!!!, February 15, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
This was overall a great series... Animation was very crisp, looked good. The music was great, I loved the beginning and ending songs. They get stuck in my head sometimes. Setting was kind of dark and mysterious. It really went into depth with the characters, before it hooked you with the mysteries beneath the plot. You start off wondering why the boomers are going rogue. Then you wonder why theres this big cover-up. Then everything becomes clear and they gotsta take the badies out. Themes range from friendship and comradery, to prejudice and hate. Also makes you wonder just what it is that constitutes life. Nudity and profanity didn't really pop up until around the end. I think the "new hard suits" were really just an excuse to get the girls naked. Anywayz there were a few close ups of Priss and then several far away shots of Linna, and Nene that weren't very detailed. It was really kind of unnecissary, did they not think the show was exciting enough?? The ending was adequate(felt a little cut short), I guess, but I kinda wish it went into greater detail. It reminded me of Trigun's ending. I think anime series' should end with a whole wrap-up show instead of trying to squeeze it in right after the main boss fight. But still, it was an amazing story. Glad I got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The remake is pretty good, June 17, 2006
By 
Ronnie Clay "R.C." (Winnsboro, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
The original Bubblegum Crisis came out in 1985 and spawned a very popular following on both sides of the pacific. It was also one of the earliest anime titles to get a video release in the states. The animation has a much cleaner look and incredibly vivid color but, it's not as fluid as the original OAVs, it really shouldn't be no problem. The Boomers appear more like zombies or monsters when they go nuts in this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great series., November 28, 2012
By 
KevinB "The Honey Badger" (High Point, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection (DVD)
In the year 2040, Tokyo is booming again after the great earthquake. Humanoid machines called boomers have rebuilt the city and it's better than ever. Except for 1 little detail. Some of the boomers go out of control and attack people. Along with the A.D. Police, the Knight Sabers are a vigilante group that destroy the rogue boomers. What these 5 women are doing is noble, but the police don't like having their toes stepped on. Despite that, the Knight Sabers are the best equipped to deal with the problem. They don't have any idea that a sinister plot is in the works. A plot so devious, that maybe even they won't be able to save the planet.

Bubblegum Crisis is really cool. The futuristic neo-punk setting is unique and the characters are awesome. This was one of the first anime I ever bought and now almost 200 series purchases later I have to say it's still a favorite. This anime is timeless. I've probably watched it through 50 times or so and it never gets old. There's nothing stopping you from buying and loving this show so go for it. You'll really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bubblegum Crisis Tokyo 2040 - Perfect Collection
Used & New from: $13.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.