Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What happened? Somebody close the back door?"
In 1972, thick in an era of blaxploitation films, with BUCK AND THE PREACHER, Sidney Poitier went another route and did another western (some six years after Duel at Diablo). This film marks Poitier's debut as director and also features cool Harry Belafonte in probably his best role. It's certainly his juiciest.

Is BUCK AND THE PREACHER a more relevant picture...
Published on November 19, 2009 by H. Bala

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible movie
I can't believe these two great actors agreed to play these roles! It was so bad we didn't last the first 20 mins. before pulling the DVD out and throwing it away! It was like a want-a-be director/producer dreaming he was making a movie with his two favorite idols and then trying to make a musical out of it at that! What were they thinking? Obviously, they weren't.
Published 11 months ago by Debby Smith


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What happened? Somebody close the back door?", November 19, 2009
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buck and the Preacher (DVD)
In 1972, thick in an era of blaxploitation films, with BUCK AND THE PREACHER, Sidney Poitier went another route and did another western (some six years after Duel at Diablo). This film marks Poitier's debut as director and also features cool Harry Belafonte in probably his best role. It's certainly his juiciest.

Is BUCK AND THE PREACHER a more relevant picture than, say, Glory? I don't know about that, but BUCK AND THE PREACHER does have things to say. It explores a point in time, right after the Civil War, in which freed slaves were making their way west to homestead. Buck (Poitier) is a no-nonsense wagon master (and an ex-Union Army sergeant) who escorts black settlers to new frontiers and attempts to protect them from night riders, vicious raiders seeking to reclaim the ex-slaves for the South. Along the way, Buck reluctantly teams up with a con-man preacher (Belafonte), and, really, the movie is at its most intriguing when the dynamics between these two characters are playing out. Belafonte and Poitier suspiciously sizing each other up makes for several terrific and taut scenes.

The leads are African-Americans, with the white guys relegated mostly to villainous roles. Sidney Poitier is his usual elegant self and he looks very much at home playing a cowboy in the Old West. Poitier's stern, stately demeanor is balanced by Belafonte's audacious performance, and I seriously need to check out the few films on his resume. By the way, Rudy Dee is also very good. There's that slice of social commentary, but I didn't feel like I was being bludgeoned over the head with it. There's some action and gun play, but also a share of contemplative moments and, okay, a slow, leisurely pace. There's a pretty cool and unconventional score and a peppering of humor, thanks mostly to Belafonte. For me, the three things which stand out the most about BUCK AND THE PREACHER: Preacher's hilarious "fornication" sermon to the night riders; that nice twist in which the Indians, not the cavalry, ride to the rescue; and Preacher's frightening disregard of dental hygiene.

Here's a neat trivia to end on: The actress who plays the Indian chief's wife? That's Harry Belafonte's wife, Julie Robinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yahoo! Great shoot-em up fun!, October 17, 2002
By A Customer
Looking for fast, shoot-em up fun with a little morality tale attached..this is it! Sidney Poitier is terrific as Buck, the former slave now gun slinger who helps newly freed slaves to homestead out west and guards them night riders trying to bring them back to a dying, post civil war south. Belefonte is charming as the Preacher who gives the good word as well as sling a colt .45. Don't miss Belefonte's terrific "fornication" speech scene. It's topped off with a stellar supporting cast including Ruby Dee as Buck's wife. This movie would be great fun to watch back to back with Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid just to compare the relationships between the four characters. So sorry this movie is hard to find. It's great fun, especially for western fans. Happy watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought The Black West to Life Before Posse, October 24, 2002
By 
rodog63jr (bronx, N.Y.C. N.Y. USA) - See all my reviews
While I liked Posse, This was the film that brought the Black West to a wider audience. Sidney Poitier as Buck is exciting and Harry Belafonte and Cicely Tyson give him a big helping hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The struggle for a fair life............., June 11, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Buck and the Preacher (DVD)
I thought that this movie should have been a little longer. Actually I wished that it had been a little longer. This movie marks more of the heroic deeds done by African Americans that went unmarked and ignored by this "Glorious Country". This movie takes place after slavery had officially "ended". Many, African Americans desired to head out west to find better lives in the open country. But, they were often harrassed, beaten, and, sometimes, killed along the trail by racist whites. Many had no ideal or sense of direction how to get where they wanted to go. There were African American "wagon masters" that knew the countryside well and often lead fellow African Americans to their destination regardless of the possible death that lie ahead. Native Americans proved to be very important allies in the struggle. Excellent job by Sidney Poitier, Harry Belafonte, and Ruby Dee. Great job on the video and audio transfer for a movie that hit the big screen in 1971. I also liked the menu audio which was done in dolby digital 5.1. However, the soundtrack for the movie is 2 channel dolby didgital. But, it is ample and satisfying. If you are a fan of African American westerns and or cinema, then this is a good movie to sit down and enjoy on a sunday evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck and the Preacher (DVD)
This movie was not really what I thought it would be but I was pleasantly surprised anyway. The pacing is good, the characters are interesting, and Sidney Poitier and Harry Belafonte are a great pairing for this story based on actual history. Parts of the movie are difficult to watch because of the brutality to humans, but at other times it is downright funny and suspenseful much of the time. If you can get this movie for a good price - which won't be easy - it's worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Western setting but very sobering material, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck and the Preacher (DVD)
Sidney Poitier makes a very good cowboy and enjoyed Harry Belafonte although he is unrecognizable as Harry. Does a tremendous job playing his role of the preacher and keeps you guessing as to whom he'll give his support to: the Good guys or the Bad Hombres! A very serious portrayal of the oppression the freed blacks faced in trying to make a life for themselves after slavery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must see olde but goodie movie., November 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Buck and the Preacher is one of my favorite SIDNEY POITIER movies. A movie you can watch over and over .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reconstruction.... Western style!, March 20, 2001
By 
John K. Reed (Harrisburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although I originally viewed this film as a child and viewed it then just as a comedic western I have in more later years come to know and understand this story as just one of the many injustices done to black americans after slavery had ended. The events portrayed dramatically and I must assume all too accurately reflect the open hostility and lawlessness that was too often visited upon a people simply in search of a better life.
Historic, dramatic, and comedic... Buck and the Preacher illuminates, educates, and entertains all at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Adore Harry Belafonte and Sidney Poitier!, May 11, 2012
This review is from: Buck and the Preacher (DVD)
Buck (Sidney Poitier) is a wagon train master taking a group of freed slaves west because they got disgusted with the south. Unfortunately, there are hired guns who are paid to force them to return to their previous homes, as the plantations still need their labor. They make life miserable for the black pioneers.

Then there's the Preacher (Harry Belafonte), who is not really a preacher, but uses it as a cover so he can gain people's trust and then rip them off. The big Bible he carries is hollowed out in the center to hold a pistol.

Ruth (Ruby Dee) is Buck's woman, although it's not clear whether they are married or not. She has been staying home while Buck takes wagon trains, but eventually the Confederate officer who is working for the planters finds out about her, and she is forced to escape with Buck and Preacher, back to where the wagon train is a row of sitting ducks for . . .

Well, they have plenty of enemies, but it turns out they also have some friends. It's a rousing adventure story, and I liked it. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that . . . no, I'll let you find out about that, too. Let's just say that not everything Buck and Preacher do can be considered admirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is by far the greatest Black Western ever made, September 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buck and the Preacher (DVD)
This is by far the greatest Black Western ever made. It is hear twarming, inspirational and exciting. It has many twist, turns and unexpectencies. It has an all star cast and Harry Belefonte gives another steller performance. Sidney is his normal cool. colective self and brings a lot of class to the script. It is a fil we will never see produced again in our lifetime because it tells the ugly truth about the great (Negro) Black migration to the West following the Civil War. This is a must have for all serious film collectors. Hope you will be able to obtain it and enjoy it for many generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buck And The Preacher
Buck And The Preacher by Sidney Poitier
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.