Customer Reviews


780 Reviews
5 star:
 (530)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A second Newbery for C. P. Curtis
When I read this book last fall, I knew it was a winner. Bud, not Buddy, is an unforgettable character. The tale of a young boy who doesn't let the circumstances of being black during the Depression keep him down is as pertinent today as it was then. It's message is if you have a dream & are willing to work to make it happen, you can rise above even the most humble...
Published on January 22, 2000

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bud, Not Buddy
This book is about a ten-year-old orphan named Bud who is searching for his father, who he has never seen. Living on his own during the Great Depression, he meets his old friend Bugs. They decide to ride the rails west on a Hooverville train. Bugs makes it, but unfortunately Bud doesn't. This one event will change Bud's life, because Bud decides to walk to the next...
Published on March 2, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A second Newbery for C. P. Curtis, January 22, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
When I read this book last fall, I knew it was a winner. Bud, not Buddy, is an unforgettable character. The tale of a young boy who doesn't let the circumstances of being black during the Depression keep him down is as pertinent today as it was then. It's message is if you have a dream & are willing to work to make it happen, you can rise above even the most humble beginnings and it's told with humor and hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Newberry/Coretta Scott King Award Winner!, January 31, 2000
By 
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
You will want to adopt Bud (Not Buddy) after the first page! This book speaks to all ages, even if you're 44, like me. Pay close attention to Bud's "Rules and Things"; sound advice from such a young man! And if you ever get the opportunity to hear Christopher Paul Curtis speak in person, don't pass up the chance! I didn't and I am so fortunate to have done so. After you've read "Bud", be sure to get "The Watsons Go To Birmingham-1963". You won't be disappointed -you'll be enchanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bud Not Buddy, January 26, 2000
By 
D. B. Bunting (Birmingham, Alabama) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
After finishing my 2nd Christopher Paul Curtis novel, I am hooked. It is ok that I am a 50-something mom of an 11 year old girl, we both loved The Watsons Go to Birmingham and were very happy to find this Newbery winner even more entertaining, profound, historically educational and a downright pleasure to read. This writer understands not just children but clever, one-step-ahead of the grownups-children, and he makes them lovable, polite in spite of circumstances that could lead to not so appealing behavior, brave, sensitive and SMART. This is a MUST read for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teachers Alert!, February 5, 2000
By 
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
Christopher Paul Curtis' new book "But, not Buddy" magically accomplishes so much in a book that as a teacher, your head will spin. First and foremost, Curtis picks up the ball of yarn so magically spun in his first classic, "Watson Go to Birmingham" and manages, impossibly so, to create an even more endearing, serious novel. I have LONGED for a book with African-American characters where the color of their skin wasn't the reason for the plot, but a part of the plot. Curtis tackles obvious racism, and a range of other issues like homelessness, poverty, familial issues, and the Great Depression that you're head will be spinning with the connections you can draw in this book. Bud-not-Buddy is such a true child that you are convinced he is real, as well as the wonderful cast of characters Curtis created. To learn about Curtis' own life and how he became an author is to appreciate his gifts of literature even more. DO NOT pass up this book, teachers, and use it for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bud, Not Buddy, May 14, 2000
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
"Bud, Not Buddy" is a great story for all ages, while reading this great fictional book I imagined the great depression through the eyes of a ten year old boy. Unlike all the other books I have read, this one let me imagine being inside the book with Bud and his rules. Bud being an orphan at the age of ten is tuff on him. His momma died when he was nine, and he was sent to an orphanage. As a reader I could imagine Bud being the awkward position of having a new family, especially when they weren't very nice to him. Bud struggles but always has "Bud Caldwell's Rules and Things for Having a Funner Life and Making a Better Liar Out of Yourself" He states his rules whenever he has to think through something, it keeps the book going. It helps the reader get a better sense of how smart Bud really is. One struggle Bud has to live through is not knowing who is father is. While reading through the inside flap of the book, I came across this "His momma never told him who his father was, but she left a clue: flyers of Herman E. Calloway and his famous band, the Dusky Devastators of the Depression! " This is the only thing that Bud could hold close to his heart. When he left his home he took his "I slowly pulled the twine together to close my suitcase." It sounds like an old suitcase, and he hangs on to it all the time, because it's his life. The only reason I can paint a picture in my head about what all goes through Buds life is the cover. They teach you not to judge the cover by the book, but I really couldn't help it. It came across as a really interesting book. I like learning about other cultures during such a hard time such as the Great Depression. One of the things that Bud never forgot was this "And Bud, I want you always to remember, no matter how bad things look to you, no matter how dark the night, when one door closes, don't worry, Because another door opens." This quote is true for anybody, it is how life is expressed. We can always fall on something if it be open doors or closed doors. Christopher Paul Curtis, has beautiful writing and I really enjoyed reading his fiction book on the adventures of "Bud, Not Buddy"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, heart-warming story, March 14, 2000
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
This is the feel-good, hurray for the underdog, farfetched kind of story we all need now and then. Bud, not Buddy is a tough little guy with a heart of gold, enthusiasm and stamina for any adventure life throws his way. There is uncertainty as he gets into one dilemma after another but always a kind person to help him through. Nearly every page will bring a smile to your face and the last few may bring some joyful tears.
The perfect, happy ending is such a delight and reminds me of the more innocent children's chapter books I was reading 30 years ago. I do love the tough, real-life books available now and tend to read those as a rule, but a book like this, as well written as it is, is a welcome change once in awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for kids or adults., October 7, 1999
By 
James E. Wenzloff (Fort Gratiot, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
Christopher Curtis's first book "The Watsons go to Birmingham-1963" won a Newberry Award. This book is even better.
The story is about a young man growing up in Flint, MI. during the Depression. Bud is an orphan during some very tough times. Kids will be entertained by his rules for a happy life. And everyone will smile as he describes Bud drinking a bottle of soda.
It is both touching and humorous. I would highly recommend this book to students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a tough one to rate, May 25, 2000
By 
K. Denny (southern california) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
My first thought on reading this book was that it is NOT as wonderful as Holes, Maniac Magee, The Giver, or many of the previous Newbery winners. It doesn't have the complexity of plot or the delightful quality of the magic that can exist in the written word like the above titles do. I also thought that the truth about the identity of Bud's background was much too transparent. But, after re-reading it, and talking to young people about this book, I changed my mind. Bud is a storybook character that lives and breathes for the children who read about him. He has the same fears, foibles, and hopes that most young people possess. His 'Rules For A Better Life..' bring smiles to the children who read them. Kids root for Bud with as much vigor and enthusiasm as they did for Stanley in Holes, Jeffrey in Maniac Magee, and Jonas in The Giver. Children are comforted by the fact that there is a happy ending and that they can see exactly where it is heading. So I readjusted my 48 year old way of viewing literature, and tried to look at this book through the eyes of a child. From that fresh viewpoint, this book delivers Newbery-quality entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bud, Not Buddy, March 2, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
This book is about a ten-year-old orphan named Bud who is searching for his father, who he has never seen. Living on his own during the Great Depression, he meets his old friend Bugs. They decide to ride the rails west on a Hooverville train. Bugs makes it, but unfortunately Bud doesn't. This one event will change Bud's life, because Bud decides to walk to the next town and search for his father. After meeting new faces, Bud finds his believed-to-be-father, Herman E. Calloway, a musician. Although Mr.Calloway is not very friendly, Bud is invited to stay with him. In this book you learn how important communication is between people. Bud, Not Buddy won the Newbery Honor and the Coretta Scott King Award. I would recommend this book for forth to sixth graders because some events are hard to understand. I think this book has terrific facts on how people lived during the Great Depression. Something I particularily enjoyed about this book is how much the author described things. She used the five senses, especially the sense of smell. It was like the item was right in front of you. Is Mr. Calloway Bud's real father? Read this book to find out. Just remember to expect the unexpected. A great read for 5th and 6th graders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Book to Win Boys Over To Reading!, February 14, 2000
This review is from: Bud, Not Buddy (Hardcover)
Bud, Not Buddy continues in the tradition of Harry Potter in providing reading material that will encourage boys to read. As a school librarian, I appreciate having books available that I can recommend to boys that I know will hold their interest. Girls will like it too! Bud speaks to all of us. Sometimes you just have to take responsibility for righting the wrong direction of your life. This book is worthy of the Newberry Medal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bud, Not Buddy
Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis (Mass Market Paperback - September 14, 2004)
$7.99 $6.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.