Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now bgg

Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
on September 16, 2000
This is a marvelous collection if you're only sampling Buddy Holly's music. It contains his greatest hits, but still omits some of his best music, so beware. Most people listening to Buddy's music for the first time can never stop at just one CD, so this will serve as a fine introduction to some of the best music you'll ever hear. Though these songs are all more than 40 years old, they wear well and are timeless.
Most casual rock fans can name only a few Holly tunes: That'll Be the Day and Peggy Sue, but there is so much more than that. This collection includes two of his most haunting, beautiful ballads, True Love Ways and Raining in My Heart. Listen to the innovative string arrangements on these tunes and you'll plainly know why Paul McCartney (who owns the Holly musical catalogue)adopted these arrangements ten years later as a Beatle.
Perhaps the best song on the album is the amazing It Doesn't Matter Anymore, about a love gone wrong. Again, the string arrangement is years ahead of its time and makes you ponder what might have been had Holly's life not ended so tragically and prematurely. He was a genuine innovator and talent. This compilation proves that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
HALL OF FAMEon April 18, 2001
Buddy Holly's "Greatest Hits" is an excellent collection. Holly is a true cultural icon, and this collection has great historical importance. But it's fine to momentarily forget about the legend and just enjoy the music. Four decades after these songs were recorded, they remain fresh and full of irrepressible life.
Holly is considered a rock and roll pioneer, but the musical palette on this CD also contains, to my ear at least, elements of country and big band style. Holly's talent is simply too expansive to pigeonhole.
Holly wrote or co-wrote many of the songs on this CD. He was a versatile and engaging vocalist. Superb on rousing fast-tempo songs, Holly is tender and haunting on a slow love song like "True Love Ways." And his "hiccupping" vocal effect on "Peggy Sue" is delightful.
It never ceases to amaze me that Holly was not yet 23 years old when he died in 1959, leaving behind an immortal musical legacy. But every time I play this wonderful CD, Buddy is alive to me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
on February 8, 2000
I adore Buddy Holly and this has quickly become my favorite CD. I'm a 13 year old, so that should prove just how versatile this music is. The whole CD is just filled with timeless Buddy Holly classics that will never be left in the past. I's amazing to realize how much talent was in someone so young! The songs "Everday", "Heartbeat" "It's So Easy", "Not Fade Away", "Words Of Love", "True Love Ways", "Raining In My Heart" and of course "That'll Be the Day", "Oh Boy" and "Peggy Sue" are incredible! I highly recomend this CD to all Buddy Holly fans and even people who aren't cause I know you will become one! Remember, this is coming from a 13 year old! Even though Buddy is gone, his spirit and talent will live always and he will never be forgotten.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on March 26, 2000
Buddy Holly,the name conjures up images of good times and great music.On February 3,1959,the world lost the greatest rock and roller it had ever known.But he still lives on through his music. There was an unbelievable amount of talent that was lost in that plane crash,but the one with the most talent was Buddy,Buddy's loss was felt the deepest by people all over the world.I am only 15 years old,I have tons of music to choose from that I could listen to from rock to pop since it is so popular these days,but I choose Buddy Holly.I choose Buddy because he was the greatest and still is.The world lost Buddy Holly on February 3,1959,but to present day he lives on through his music.I recommend this cd to fans of good music. Buddy Holly----GONE BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on December 30, 2001
I've been a Buddy Holly fan since he was alive, and if you can't afford "The Complete Buddy Holly" (which wasn't available on CD last time I checked, only vinyl and cassette) this is a wise choice. The CD "From the Master Tapes" is also good, and duplicates many of the selections here. This particular compilation will serve the needs of any casual fans quite well...if Buddy has any "casual" fans. Usually, if you like him enough to buy one album, you have been hooked enough to want more. As another reviewer has noted at length, Buddy's original releases were on different labels, some marketed as solo records in spite of the presence (uncredited) of The Crickets. If you like Buddy, get a copy of the biography "Rave On" or the British book "Remembering Buddy." It will help you understand why Decca, Coral and Brunswick all had a piece of his song catalogue at the same time, and why there are different versions of releases issued after his death in early l959 due to different producers being hired to "finish" and "commercially polish" some of the tapes he left us that had just his own voice and guitar. Back then, a pop or rock record without backing vocals or fuller instrumentation than just solo guitar was a rarity. Now we know better. Another recommended book is "The Day the Music Died." Thank goodness, the music lives on, and so, in a sense, does Buddy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on October 30, 2005
While this compilation presents most of Buddy Holly's classics in pristine form, his most familiar song, "Peggy Sue" comes across as a washed-out mess, just as it has in ever reissue (both on vinyl and cd) in the last 25 years. Compare the song alongside the original 45, or any reissue album up to the mid-70s, and you will instantly realize how very wimpy it sounds now. The other obvious glitch is where they "fixed" Holly's other famous song, "That'll Be The Day"; the "repaired" version appears on EVERY reissue now, including "From The Original Master Tapes", which obviously the tracks are not unless they altered a priceless original recording. About two-thirds of the way through the song, in the line "so if we ever part", Holly pops the "P" in the word 'part' while singing into the microphone. It was always a charming glitch which MCA removed apparently thinking it was a flaw or editing problem, when in fact was a prime example of the human aspect that has always made this music so fascinating. And they have the nerve to claim that stuff like this comes from the original master tapes?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on April 1, 2000
I can't stop listening to this CD. we all know and love Buddy's hits such as Peggy Sue, Oh Boy and That;ll Be The Day. But to really appreciate Buddy's range, versatility and sheer vocal talent you have to hear Think It Over, Fool's Paradise and Heartbeat. Rave on Buddy and don't ever Fade Away
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 2, 2006
Buddy Holly was a genius. It's as simple as that. His creation of music was in a class by itself and his work remains nonpareil and will continue to delight many for time immemorial. These are timeless classics that you will never tire of hearing. I just love "Maybe Baby," "Think it Over" as well as his other recordings and to this day say that Buddy Holly could not do a bad song if he tried.

One cannot help but wonder had this humble genius from Lubbock had lived (he died in a plane crash in an Iowa corn field on February 3, 1959 along with Richie Valens and the Big Bopper), what songs we'd be enjoying in addition to these gems. It is possible that he might have joined Roy Orbison, et al. and George Harrison for the Traveling Wilburys. Buddy Holly raised the early Rock & Roll bar; his music influenced later musical juggernauts such as the Beatles. In 1965 the Beatles did "Words of Love" as a nod to this extremely gifted man. Buddy Holly, like a roller coaster set the wheels in motion for quite a musical ride!

It is interesting that former Beatle Paul McCartney owns Holly's music; you can hear some Holly influence in some of Paul's early Beatle compositions. The title "Raining in My Heart" echoes in John Lennon's 1963 blockbuster, "Please Please Me" with the lyric, "but you know there's always rain in my heart (in my heart)."

Don't just take our word for this. Get this collection and believe me, you will be so glad you did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on September 23, 2004
My two-year-old son loves Buddy Holly. And I have to say, after listening to this CD day after day for weeks upon end, that I love him too. Buddy Holly was an amazing talent. Great singer. Fantastic guitar player. Tremendous songwriter. Not only that, his music is truly the blueprint for the sounds that other rock n'roll legends would later appropriate and make their own. You can hear Dylan in Holly's voice, the Byrds & Tom Petty in Holly's ringing guitar (especially Words of Love), and the Beatles in Holly's songwriting. It's all there. I'm not even sure that Elvis was this imitated.

Elvis was singular, whereas Buddy Holly was Everyman. Anyone who tried to go on stage and just "do what Elvis did" was bound to fail. Charlie Rich, Roy Orbison and Eddie Cochran all tried (and to a degree Buddy Holly even tried). They all sounded like bad Elvis imitators. You could copy his attitude, but never his sound or his raw sexuality.

But Buddy Holly's music walked the razor-thin line between radio-friendly and the lonely pool halls, bars and dance floors of America. You could steal a guitar lick here and there (no shortage of options there), or sing in the same nasally, slightly unpolished voice he had. His music was all-inclusive, and very inviting to American youths. It seemed to say, "I can do this, and so can you."

Buddy Holly and Chuck Berry were also different from their contemporaries in that they wrote their own music, which inspired luminaries such as Brian Wilson and Lennon/McCartney to write and sing their own songs.

Put plain, this CD is an introduction to the next 25 years of rock n'roll after 1959. It truly is basic listening for anyone who wants to understand where some of music's biggest legends got their inspiration and their muse. When you think of musical giants from the 50s, Buddy Holly stands just as tall as Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash and Chuck Berry.

That he was able to accomplish so much and influence so many (in less than two years) makes Buddy Holly the greatest "What if" stories of rock n'roll. Would he have gone on to rewrite the American pop landscape for the next two decades, or would he have faded into relative obscurity along with the rest of his peers?

Don MacLean sang of Buddy Holly's passing as "the day the music died." Far from it. If my son's musical tastes are any indication, he'll be around for another 50 years. And by the way, I recommend this for children -- beats the pants off most kids' CDs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 1, 2001
Unless you are a die hard fan, all the Buddy Holly you will ever need is on this one stellar CD, which features all the great hits and some of the lesser known songs as well, all in superb remastered sound. The only song I can think of that isn't here is Alright, but it is a minor omission. Peggy Sue is of course one of the great innovative songs in rock history, with what may be the original "guitar break" and phenomenal and intricate drumming driving the song forward. There are ballads here as well as good old rock and roll, all stunningly original (the influence on the early Beatles is obvious), and sounding terrific.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

The Definitive Collection
The Definitive Collection by Buddy Holly (Audio CD - 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.