Customer Reviews


353 Reviews
5 star:
 (265)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Raspberry Pi and RetroPie (Read my "Tips for RetroPie")
Although you can use this in Mac, Windows, or Linux, I bough this for my Raspberry Pi loaded with RetroPie.

Cons:
* The instructions are all-Japanese. But you don't need them, so who cares?

Pros:
* Tough. This thing has been dropped this many times and not so much as a scratch. And it doesn't feel like it'll break apart if you torque it...
Published 5 months ago by M. Clark

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh.
TL;DR: D-Pad lacks precision.

Look, this controller is a cut above most. Everything feels good and it is quality for the price paid for it. The issue is that the D-Pad lacks precision needed for games like Street Fighter II on SNES. The funny thing is that I can throw a dragon punch with the left side of the pad, but not with the right. I can throw a...
Published 1 month ago by Merc_Ragnar


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Raspberry Pi and RetroPie (Read my "Tips for RetroPie"), August 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
Although you can use this in Mac, Windows, or Linux, I bough this for my Raspberry Pi loaded with RetroPie.

Cons:
* The instructions are all-Japanese. But you don't need them, so who cares?

Pros:
* Tough. This thing has been dropped this many times and not so much as a scratch. And it doesn't feel like it'll break apart if you torque it during aggressive game play.
* Good weight. Not too heavy, and not too light.
* Doesn't require any drivers.
* Good length cord.
* I like how the buttons feel when you press them.
* It's the same layout as the Super NES controller, so it's familiar.
* Decent price.

Tips for RetroPie:

There are 10 buttons, but this is an "8-button" gamepad because the Turbo and Clear buttons are modifier buttons and not action buttons. These buttons, in fact, do not appear to the operating system at all. When you do gamepad configuration in EmulationStation or any with any configuration tool, the Turbo and Clear don't appear. The turbo/clear functions are built into the controller itself.

To apply turbo, press-and-hold Turbo, and press the button to which you want to apply turbo. So enable turbo for button A, press Turbo+A. To turn off turbo for A, you Clear+A. You apply turbo to buttons independently, so you can, for instance, have turbo turned on for buttons A and X, but not B or Y.

This (and all) controllers require TWO configurations: one for EmualtionStation (the menu system), and one for playing games. The first one is easy because a graphical tool steps you through it. The configuration for games requires that you edit a text file. Second, even after you configure it for games, some emulators, such as the one for SNES, will get buttons mixed up. To fix this, you need to specify a different driver. So to fix BOTH these issues, do the following:

(1) Exit EmulationStation to the console, and optionally start LX (startx)
(2) Append the following to: /opt/retropie/configs/all/retroarch.cfg

# Start
input_joypad_driver = linuxraw
input_player1_joypad_index = "0"
input_player1_up_axis = "-1"
input_player1_down_axis = "+1"
input_player1_left_axis = "-0"
input_player1_right_axis = "+0"
input_player1_a_btn = "0"
input_player1_b_btn = "1"
input_player1_x_btn = "2"
input_player1_y_btn = "3"
input_player1_select_btn = "6"
input_player1_start_btn = "7"
input_exit_emulator_btn = "4"
input_menu_toggle_btn = "5"
# End

(3) Reboot the Pi and you're good to go. The left-front button will exit out of games and get you back to the EmulationStation menu. The right button brings up the in-game menu, although up/down on the gamepad doesn't change menu items. That may be a side-effect of using the linuxraw driver above. You can either comment out the linuxraw line, or use a keyboard to move through that in-game menu.

This took me many hours to sort through, so I hope this saves others lots of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the BEST retro-style USB SNES controller out there., December 23, 2013
By 
iKarith (The Internet) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
You've tried the rest, now try the best. This is the only USB SNES controller I have ever used that has delivered on the promise of the retro gaming experience. The controller has a good weight (maybe a little lighter than the original) and does not feel cheap in the hand at all. The DPad is solid. The buttons are solid. The autofire works and mostly pointless, but it's there. Hold that and the button you want rapid fire on to enable it. Repeat the process with the clear button to turn it off.

I tested a bunch of these on my Mac with SDL (a back-end library that just about all games ported to Mac and Linux use) and one of them reported the DPad as axis 3 and 4—I think it might have been the Buffalo. If your game requires the joystick to be axis 0 and 1, you might need a remapper. But if the game can't map buttons as you want them you're probably going to need that anyway. You won't need a driver for this on any OS that handles USB natively though since it's a basic USB HID joystick.

The usual target of a controller like this is for emulators and those tend to be pretty to be relatively flexible on input devices—modified keyboards, who knows what as a joystick interface, you name it.

A bit of a nerdy detail: As you'd expect, this pad like just about everyone else like it out there is a "fake analog" gamepad. Digital buttons reporting analog values. That's pretty much the standard for PC gaming with one of these things since a joystick device is always analog on a PC, even if it isn't. Well, the XBox 360 controller has its analogs as X/Y and Z/ZR, with the DPad set up as a POV hat. Flight sim nerds will tell you that's all wrong Wrong WRONG, but that's how Microsoft did it and there's not a whole lot we can do about it.

While I suppose it's possible Buffalo could write an XInput driver for this thing that presents it as an XBox 360 digital arcade/fighting controller (Swap A with B and X with Y, and map Select to Back), it's a safe bet they won't. If you need XInput support for this thing, mapping software exists…

Of course, if not for the fact that it's required for force feedback and to make the XBox 360 triggers function in any form that isn't completely brain dead under DirectInput—oh and that Microsoft is mandating XInput for Windows Store titles—nobody would give XInput a second glance. DirectInput works and works well. :)

If you NEED an XInput-compatible device, you probably want a Street Figher pad or something. Otherwise this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game controller that works!, September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
Bought a few cheap once prior this one, none of them worked well. This one actually does what you intend it to do, you press right and you get right, not right+down or something other stupid.

Strongly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional quality and feel. As good as the original as it gets!, January 4, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
I've got an original SNES usb controller that I bought from Infinite Nes Lives for 50 bucks. The quality of that controller is flawless but the price tag was tough to swallow.

I wanted a 2nd SNES pad for 2 player action but just couldn't bring myself to pay another 50 dollars so I did some research and discovered the buffalo brand has quite a following from new and old gamers alike.

For the price, I couldn't say no and decided to get one.

I'm happy to report that it performs flawlessly and feels great. Side by side comparisons vs the original Japan controller (as most likely noted by numerous reviewers here) are that the buffalo controller is slightly lighter, slightly thinner and vs the original famicom pad, the dpad is slightly elevated on the buffalo controller.

The differences are marginal and the only REAL noticable difference to my seasoned retro gaming hands is the lighter weight of the buffalo controller. I have ordered a roll of lead tape and will weigh out a strip of that and apply it onto the inside wall of the back half of the controller shell to match the weight of the original controller. Other than that minor nit-picking there is very little to complain about.

If I had to change anything, it'd be to have the turbo buttons moved further up towards the top of the game pad. It's easy to accidentally press them instead of start/select. I don't actually use them so I may end up just removing the buttons all together.

I've attached numerous photos comparing the weight of the 2 game pads and thickness at various parts of the controller.

Bottom line is that if you want a near 100% authentic replica of the original super famicom game pad, look no further. Yes there are minor differences but the price gap between a real one and this one is FAR beyond the point of diminishing returns in my opinion unless you're a collector, which in that case, you most likely already have one or more of the original game pads anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
My main concern with buying a USB SNES controller was the D-pad, and many other controllers I read up on were lacking in that area. This one feels great. I'm almost definitely buying a second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! 4+ Stars, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
First off, this seller rules! The item arrived way quicker than I thought, and they even included some free candies (Japanese candy rules!)
So, the controller is pretty sweet. Despite it only showing PC support on the box, it does indeed work on Mac OSX, and is easily configured with the right software (SNES9x is good)
Yes, the controller is a little light, and yes it plays like a 3rd party controller, but a decent one at that, and it looks very, very nice. In short, it's a huge, huge improvement over the keyboard and actually feels like you're playing a console, very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best There Is For SNES Emulation, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
This is as good as it gets. The quality of the build is outstanding, nothing feels cheaply made. The buttons are springy and responsive and the D-pad works perfectly (a rarity among these SNES-style USB controllers). You also get the added benefit of a TURBO and CLEAR button. This and the non-concave X and Y buttons are the only deviations from the original SNES controllers. So if you're looking to play some SNES games on your emulator, and the keyboard or the 360 pad just isn't cutting it, this is definitely the way to go, especially at the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, June 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
It came in the mail in only two weeks from Japan, standard shipping speed, prestine condition. All buttons work great, D-pad feels pretty genuine. My only complaint is that it doesn't work with some screen resolutions. Also, the Y button may not hold down if you've been doing exactly that for an excessive amount of time. Worked just fine after reboot, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Controller for RetroPie! Config settings in review, December 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
Controller is much better than the slightly cheaper SNES controller also for sale on Amazon. I am using this with my Raspberry Pi and Emulation Station and it works great! The config settings in a different review are not correct and do not allow the use of the L and R buttons while in game.

The correct config settings for this controller are:

input_player1_joypad_index = "0"
input_player1_b_btn = "1"
input_player1_y_btn = "3"
input_player1_select_btn = "6"
input_player1_start_btn = "7"
input_player1_up_axis = "-1"
input_player1_down_axis = "+1"
input_player1_left_axis = "-0"
input_player1_right_axis = "+0"
input_player1_a_btn = "0"
input_player1_x_btn = "2"
input_player1_l_btn = "4"
input_player1_r_btn = "5"
input_player2_joypad_index = "1"
input_player2_b_btn = "1"
input_player2_y_btn = "3"
input_player2_select_btn = "6"
input_player2_start_btn = "7"
input_player2_up_axis = "-1"
input_player2_down_axis = "+1"
input_player2_left_axis = "-0"
input_player2_right_axis = "+0"
input_player2_a_btn = "0"
input_player2_x_btn = "2"
input_player2_l_btn = "4"
input_player2_r_btn = "5"
input_enable_hotkey_btn = "6"
input_exit_emulator_btn = "7"

To set up two of these ibuffalo controllers with Emulation Station do the following:

1) Press F4 while in Emulation Station
2) Type startx
3) Using file manager navigate to opt/retropie/configs/all
4) Double click retroarch.cfg
5) Scroll down to the bottom of the document until you see code without #'s in front of it.
6) Replace the code with the settings above.
7) Save file
8) Log out of the GUI
9) Type emulationstation press enter
10) Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Controller, February 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC (Personal Computers)
I made a video demonstrating this controller, but amazon wont let me upload it for some reason. You can search on youtube if you are interested.

Its a really high quality gamepad. My only real complaint is the d-pad, which is a little too high off the plastic and a bit too clicky, but its not a big deal. Other than that its indistinguishable from the real SNES controller. The face buttons and shoulder buttons feel identical.

Some people said its really lightweight, the buffalo gamepad is 2.5 ounces as compared to a real SNES controller at 2.9 ounces. I weighed them both. The cord on the real SNES controller is noticeably thicker, but i'm sure this one is fine too. Both controllers are exactly the same size dimensionally.

The cord is 5 feet 6 inches long, but you can use a USB extension. I'm using a 15 foot extension and its working just fine.

The instructions are entirely in Japanese, but you don't really need them. Just plug it in and windows 7 automatically recognizes it as "USB Input Device". Then just configure it in your emulator and you are good to go.

To use the turbo button, just hold turbo and the button you want turbo on at the same time to activate it. To turn it off again, hold that button and the clear button. The switch happens instantly. You can also hold down the clear button by itself for about a second to completely remove turbo from all buttons, IE reset to default controls. Its usable in fast paced games, and you can always pause the game and then mess with the turbo to your hearts content. Just to be clear for those who don't know, turbo basically spams the button hundreds of times per second when the button is pushed.

The price on this controller seems to fluctuate between $13 and $18. Be patient and amazon will bring the price down for you.

You are probably using this for an emulator, and its worth getting a good controller like this one. I mean you already have a crappy controller; its called your keyboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buffalo Classic USB Gamepad for PC
$12.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.