Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 27, 2010
I read Buffett's Bites as a non-professional investor in mutual funds, as someone who wanted to learn something about how Warren Buffett became the second richest man in the US. This little book helped me to understand Mr. Buffett's methods for making money with Berkshire Hathaway, without having to read a long financial biography, and it educated me on the subject of making investments in general.

The author is president of Rittenhouse Rankings, Inc., a company which works with corporate leaders to improve their communication with their shareholders. She finds Warren Buffett's annual letters to his shareholders exemplary for their good explanations and their candor.

She has selected quotes from Mr. Buffett's shareholder letters since 2005 and added her comments, explanations and analogies. There are 25 of these "bites" from Mr. Buffett. Although some of them seem redundant, I learned a lot about Berkshire Hathaway from reading all 25 of the bites. However, a small-potatoes investor might not be able to use many of the tips directly for his/her own investing. How does a harried public school teacher, or a health worker or retail salesperson "find CEO's who treasure cash," or "find CEO's who pick outstanding managers," or "find disciplined CEO's who maintain float"? The small bites of Mr. Buffett's wisdom are really short insights into what he and his expert staff presumably do all day in their Omaha office.

Some of the bites chosen by the author are reassuringly straightforward, such as "buy quality merchandise [shares] when it's [they're] marked down," and "ignore sound bites that rattle markets." She and Mr. Buffett remind us that we're all in the same investors' boat and that the history of the 20th century includes plenty of downhill slides from which the US economy rebounded, but we may have to be patient and avoid "casino capitalism."

If you are curious about Berkshire Hathaway and realistic enough to avoid books with plans promising that one can "get rich now with these tips", this is a good book. I think it should be called, "How Warren Buffett Used Plain Old Honest American Principles to Become Amazingly Rich and Take a Lot of Shareholders Along with Him", and I recommend it to folks who would like to read non-technical material about the world of investments.

Irene Healy
retired high school teacher
Idaho
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2010
This book had me hooked from the first page - I couldn't put it down. With wit and insight, the author practices what she preaches - she tells the truth. I didn't expect a book like this to be exciting, but it is. The freshness and sharpness of the analysis are part of it (this is how I can be a more thoughtful investor). But perhaps even more stimulating to me is the clear recognition of the ideals and values underlying Buffett's practices. This book is inspiring. I'm giving it to friends and family.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2010
I was given this book and couldn't put it down
Insightful and well-written
Provides a helpful way to understand a "master investor" with practical tools to improve your personal investment decisions!
You will definitely enjoy and benefit from reading it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2010
I learned more about business from reading Rittenhouse's little book on the legendary "Oracle of Omaha" than in any economics course or investors' seminar. It is wonderfully written--short--with stories within stories. It's funny. And heart-warming. And you will learn A LOT about money--yours and everyone else's.

You will also learn a lot about what our mothers said was "the rarest thing in the whole world"--common sense. And even "obfuscation". (And not just how to spell it.)

With rapier swords (and wit!), one financial genius and one extraordinarily bright and engaging author will help you navigate the murky waters of high finance. It's a joyful sail. (And good reading for a short plane ride.)

Don't miss this little gem.

My only disappointment is that the publishers didn't put the photo of Buffett with the Sees Candy box tucked under his arm on the cover rather than on the title page. But they will surely remedy this in the second edition.

Nan Elliot
Author/Filmmaker
Anchorage, Alaska
April 27, 2010
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2010
Reading "Buffett's Bites" has been such a breath of fresh air! I I spend my days battling the "conventional wisdom" of Wall Street and trying to get investors to see that the quality of disclosure indicates the quality of leadership. It is so frustrating to see how common sense and decency are completely removed from most financial transactions and reporting. Reading this book has gotten me to realize there are others who see the light.

Mr. Buffett's strategy of working with trust-worthy management teams, paying a reasonable price, and staying committed to your partners will remain valuable, regardless of the next "technology boom" or IT revolution. However, his principles are more than just a sound investment strategy, they are life principles. This should be required reading for all business majors!

John W. Taylor
Tiarta LLC
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you've ever felt like a total outsider when it comes to the world of finance, this is the book Buffett's Bites: The Essential Investor's Guide to Warren Buffett's Shareholder Lettersthat will open the door to that exclusive club. Rittenhouse so ably highlights Buffett's wisdom, it's a master class on high finance.

Her other book Do Business with People You Can Trust: Balancing Profits and Principles - Fifth Anniversary Editionis a great read and a great tool as well. You can check out her company [...], her annual ranks released each spring are invaluable.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2010
This is the perfect book for all of us that are looking for advice that we can trust in these turbulent financial times. Great insights presented in an intelligent and common sense format.

Of all the books and articles I have read in the last couple years on what to do in this environment, I found this one to be the most helpful.

Buffett's Bites would also make a fabulous gift. I know I am buying copies for several of my business associates.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2010
Buffett's Bites is a Must Read for anyone who works in Corporate Communications. Laura Rittenhouse has brought us the best of Buffett in manageable portions, and the result is a recipe not only for how to communicate but for how to work and live.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2011
Of all the books about Warren Buffett, this is by far the poorest offering. It is overly brief in narrative, information, insight and literary style. It provides no useful information about the man or his investing techniques. I gained nothing from this anemic text. It was a complete waste of my time and my hard earned money.

It is pithy to the point of being vacuous.

If you wish to purchase a book that accurately describes Buffett's unique investing style at sufficient length and detail that would actually be useful to readers of any level of investing proficiency, I would recommend Cunningham's "The Essays of Warren Buffet: Lessons For Corporate America." This book is an anthology of the actual letters written by Buffett and directed to the shareholders of Berkshire Hathaway. Each one of these essays is actually a series of investment tutorials and nuggets of wisdom more than they are just a collection of annual reports.

No one can possibly understand Buffett's philosophy by attempting to exclude a discussion of the character of the man from his investment wisdom. They are intricately interwoven. The Cunningham book is Buffett's own personal favorite book about himself for a good reason.

If you are interested in learning more about the Buffett the person as well gaining some insight regarding his investment style I would recommend Lowenstein's "Buffett: The Making of an American Capitalist."
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2010
Kudos to Laura Rittenhouse. In her newly released book Buffets Bites Laura illuminates the great mans' investor genius. In page after page she paints the definitive word picture of Mr.Buffets sophisticated yet no nonense approach to investing for all. This is a must read for not only the savy investor but for the investor neophyte such as myself. After all 'money is a terrible thing to waste'.

Ann Keane
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse